We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anniston Museum of Natural History
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
A Great Collection of Taxidermy

We were late as usual and got there at the end of the visiting hours, but we were able to tour the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
TioJuanito
,
Vinemont, Alabama
A day of culture

This was very well laid out and had much more in the museum than first appeared, staff very helpful... read more

Reviewed October 12, 2018
nick e
,
Willingdon, United Kingdom
Read all 161 reviews
  
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
110
42
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
42
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews egyptian mummies african animals excellent displays stuffed animals large display combo ticket all ages great for kids small city two hours family outing whole family interactive displays gift shop early man collection bird
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were late as usual and got there at the end of the visiting hours, but we were able to tour the entire exhibit. Every thing is well laic out and identified, you move at your own pace and we did not feel rushed. The displays were well done and fairly comprehensive for a small museum. We had a delightful time and felt like we had not wasted our admission fees. You could easily spend several hours here. Good Job!

Thank TioJuanito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018

This was very well laid out and had much more in the museum than first appeared, staff very helpful and friendly, well worth the visit

Thank nick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

I didn’t know what to expect from this museum, but I was pleasantly surprised. The admissions staff were very friendly and helpful. The exhibits were well done, managing to appeal to a wide range of interest levels. The displays of paleontology had kid-inspiring dinosaurs with fact-filled signage. A very nice explanation of cave formation was accompanied by a convincing faux cave. The dioramas on Alabama environments had plenty of familiar as well as unfamiliar creatures and plants. The real stars of the collection, in my opinion, were the exhibits of birds and dioramas of African wildlife. The quantity and variety of birds were impressive, as well as the natural settings. And anyone who thinks the only things to see from Africa are lions and elephants will be awed by the multitude of species displayed. In addition, the groupings subtly emphasize the many habitats.
I had come to the museum just as “something to keep me busy” while my husband had other business in town, but I would rate it as a real destination attraction for the area.

Thank Zero2juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

What an unexpected find this lovely museum was. Was greeted by a lovely lady at the entrance desk who we chatted too. Then went in to the museum itself, the exhibits are well laid out with good information cards. You start at the beginning of time and walk around each hall that is themed with many animals and birds in each. Well worth a visit.

Thank Lance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful museum! Excellent displays and such a variety of exhibits. We were fascinated in particularly with the Egyptian mummies and their story. Only $6!

Thank MLSJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

I visited for a few hours and was very impressed with the quantity of specimens in the collection and the thoroughness of the accompanying educational displays. I would highly recommend a visit for those who like museums.

Thank notacopperhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We enjoy this museum by our self or with our Grand Children. The eleven year old loves dinosaurs and can name every one. The four year old likes the animals. Low price for membership and we renew every year. Membership lets you get into other museums cheaper or free.

Thank marlaine2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Anniston museum is wonderful! Interesting and educational and exciting- for young children and adults. Lots of hands on for children. Reasonably priced- familyseason pass is a hundred bucks or so.

Thank LaNita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

The museum has done a great job over the years keeping the museum and its collection in good condition. The educational content and signage is well done and is good for both young and older kids and adults as well. My own kids have grown up visiting the Natural History Museum in DC and they really enjoyed visiting this museum and were very impressed with the collection on items on display. The geology loan from the Smithsonian was fun to see. Great for families and a good way to spend an hour or so if you are in Anniston.

1  Thank jmktravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2018

We have been members at Fernbank in Atlanta for years, so I didn't know what to expect, but once we got in I was blown away. There were displays that seemed to all appear relatively new, several areas for kids to look behind flaps or feel some different things, a simulated cave in one part and a HUGE display of stuffed animals from all over the world. From dinosaurs, to caves, to mummies, to African animals, birds, an ocean area discussing recycling it was truly a great experience especially for the price. It took us 2 hours to get there, but I can see us going agin in the future because it was a fun and enjoyable experience!!! If you are ever traveling near Anniston, take a detour or plan a trip to this museum.

Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews