We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day of culture”

Anniston Museum of Natural History
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Anniston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed October 12, 2018

This was very well laid out and had much more in the museum than first appeared, staff very helpful and friendly, well worth the visit

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Deepredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"egyptian mummies"
in 6 reviews
"african animals"
in 3 reviews
"large display"
in 3 reviews
"excellent displays"
in 3 reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 3 reviews
"bird trail"
in 2 reviews
"combo ticket"
in 2 reviews
"koi pond"
in 2 reviews
"own pace"
in 4 reviews
"great for kids"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 8 reviews
"small city"
in 2 reviews
"great collection"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 4 reviews
"family outing"
in 2 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 5 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

I didn’t know what to expect from this museum, but I was pleasantly surprised. The admissions staff were very friendly and helpful. The exhibits were well done, managing to appeal to a wide range of interest levels. The displays of paleontology had kid-inspiring dinosaurs with fact-filled signage. A very nice explanation of cave formation was accompanied by a convincing faux cave. The dioramas on Alabama environments had plenty of familiar as well as unfamiliar creatures and plants. The real stars of the collection, in my opinion, were the exhibits of birds and dioramas of African wildlife. The quantity and variety of birds were impressive, as well as the natural settings. And anyone who thinks the only things to see from Africa are lions and elephants will be awed by the multitude of species displayed. In addition, the groupings subtly emphasize the many habitats.
I had come to the museum just as “something to keep me busy” while my husband had other business in town, but I would rate it as a real destination attraction for the area.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Zero2juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

What an unexpected find this lovely museum was. Was greeted by a lovely lady at the entrance desk who we chatted too. Then went in to the museum itself, the exhibits are well laid out with good information cards. You start at the beginning of time and walk around each hall that is themed with many animals and birds in each. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 269lanceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful museum! Excellent displays and such a variety of exhibits. We were fascinated in particularly with the Egyptian mummies and their story. Only $6!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank MLSJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

I visited for a few hours and was very impressed with the quantity of specimens in the collection and the thoroughness of the accompanying educational displays. I would highly recommend a visit for those who like museums.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank notacopperhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anniston Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Anniston Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing