We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Between I-85 and Auburn University” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Auburn
Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Between I-85 and Auburn University”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Holiday Inn Express is located after you exit I-85 between the exit ramp and Auburn University. There are a few hotels on this stretch but most of them are of the lower tier properties like Sleep Inn, Quality Inn, Econo Lodge and Microtel. I chose the Holiday Inn Express sight unseen and was glad I did after seeing the area. The hotel exterior was inviting and clean. I enjoyed seeing a flowering magnolia as I pulled up.

I had made reservations for two night. I planned to make the 11 hour trip in two days but after making better than expected time I called the hotel to see if I can extend the stay one night. I very pleasant attendant, Lauren, was happy to extend my stay at my request.

It was a very busy weekend with a graduation for Tuskegee University. The only room with two beds I could find was a king suite for $179 per night. It was a nice room but not worth the price. But, the room was clean and served its purpose for my three nice stay.

Breakfast was included and was more than adequate. There was a mixture of hot and cold food. But, breakfast ends at an early 9:30. A few minutes before the ending the maids begin congregating in the hallway like buzzards who circle a new born calf waiting for left overs. They each grab a plate, fill it up and take it god knows where. Customers should not have to see that.

Most front desk attendants were informative and nice. But, during the later night hours they tended to migrate to the breakfast area where they watch the big screen TV. They seem put out to stop watching Harry Potter to have to go back to the desk to answer the phone. They could improve on customer service by simply being where the customer needs them the most, the front desk.

There were some bumps as outlined but it really is a nice property in a wonderful location close to both I-85 and Auburn University. I would not hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ2Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    36
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
12
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This Holiday Inn express is a really good value, close enough to campus, clean, safe and the two times I have stayed there I have found the staff super helpful. You can't go wrong with this hotel in Auburn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Here4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My family of 5 stayed here and had a great stay. We had a suite with 2 queens and a pull out sofa bed. The room was clean and there was plenty of hot water for our showers. The breakfast was very good and the staff was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetgestures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while visited the University for the weekend. As expected, the staff were very friendly and the hotel was clean. We were very pleased with our stay and will be selecting this location when we return to Auburn for our kids' events while they attend college. Great breakfast and overall value.

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
Thank LeeAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Newer, clean, and well kept rooms. The staff there is always accommodating in true "southern hospitality" style. Nothing fancy but a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side away from the street are quieter but I've stay in both with no proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I am currently staying at the Holiday Inn Express. I am enjoying the staff, the breakfast and the happy hour. This is a great place to stay if you want to feel like your at home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We've come to expect a higher standard from Holiday Inn Express than this location offered. It was very noisy with highway noise. To be fair, most hotels were in the same area so maybe the problem was not unique to this motel but it seemed very little insulation was used to mask traffic sound.

We were surprised at the condition of the furniture-seemed it was scuffed more than was acceptable. Most surprisingly was that the 2 towels had holes in them.

The breakfast was great and all employees we encountered were very nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue in reho K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn hotels
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#4 of 17 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.2 km away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.4 km away
The Hotel at Auburn University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
7.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
8.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
Address: 2013 S College St, Auburn, AL 36832-5896
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn! We are conveniently located near everything Auburn-Opelika and Lee County has to offer! Auburn University is just down the street, while seven world-class golf courses are within 15 miles of our hotel. Our 82 guest rooms with 15 suites are located off interior corridors and offer such amenities as free continental breakfast, free hi speed wireless Internet, 27' TVs, coffee pots in rooms, hair dryers, iron & ironing boards, one king or two queen beds, and our suites even feature wet bars, refrigerators and microwaves. Jacuzzi suites are available for private retreats, or enjoy our outdoor heated pool (seasonal) and jacuzzi with your family. A 24-hour fitness room keeps you in your normal exercise routine, while our complimentary 24-hour business center will help you complete your work while on the road. Three meeting rooms and a 10 person boardroom with high back leather executive chairs are available for your conference needs. We're suited for all your business or leisure needs. Guest laundry on site. Visit Auburn, AL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing