We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pantry”
Review of Speisekammer

Speisekammer
Reserve with OpenTable
Speisekammer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 282 Restaurants in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Park St.
Transit: A.C. Transit, Park & Lincoln
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Spiesekammer means pantry in German. This one is particularly well stocked. The menu features authentic wurst, schnitzels and roasts. We love the potato pancakes and the beer selection. There is a beer garden and friendly owners to boot

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank mikek794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 217 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2018

Had family dinner last weekend and sat out on the patio. Liters of beer make it as if you are sitting in a Munich beer garden. Be sure to check out the daily specials...we all had the chicken schnitzel with potatoes fried with bacon and onions. Wonderful even at $22.
Only disappointment was the potato soup--probably used smaller potatoes so that the ratio of skin to interior was too high. Tasted dirty a bit like the the potatoes hadn't been washed. Only ordered a cup and the waiter took it off the bill with no issue whatsoever.
In spite of the soup issue I recommend it highly.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

We lived in Germany for 5 years. We crave good German food. This place hits the spot. The potato pancakes and apple sauce brings back memories of the Christmas markets. The jagerschnitzel is dead on. The currywurst is awesome. Just a wonderful meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Izoom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Was looking for some good food in alameda and close to the airport. A coworker recommend this place.
First the beer! Lots of German beer on tap so started w the mothers milk of Germany, Bitburger. Tasty and cold. Had a Paulner Hefeweizen for dessert. Very good as well but please do not put a lemon wedge on the glass the Germans don’t do this and it’s not a blue moon.
Second the food! Outstanding schweinshank. Pork knuckle that is. My bud had the Jagerschnitzel veal. Both excellent and authentic.
Third Catalina our server was accommodating yet not trying to turn the table. She gets it because she’s from Spain and dinner should be enjoyed.
Lastly the only disappointment was parents not being parents and allowing their kids run wild. Unacceptable in Cali or anywhere.
I’d give this a 4.5 out of 5 and will go back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 246grege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

We had great dinner there and enjoyed the beauitful outdoor patio. My husband had the pot roast and I ordered schnitzel with fries. Both dishes were fabulos and they also had a great choice of German beers and Apfelschorle. Parking is a bit of a hassle down there and they themselves only have a tiny parking lot, but I would totally go back again for the great food and atmosphere.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jesena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Speisekammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing