We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albion River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albion River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

This Inn just south of Mendocino, CA, was a good choice for 2 nights and sightseeing in this area. Like most of the Inns/B&Bs in this coastal area, it has been there for many years. The spectacular view is certainly a main reason for choosing it, can't be beat. The accommodations are spread out along the cliff line with the views in glorious sight from the patios and sliding glass doors. They are very clean. The majority of accommodations have either a gas or wood fireplace, the rooms are cozy and cottage-like. Perhaps there could be some updating with the heating system (which is noisy), but the beds are new and comfortable as was the rest of the furniture in our Room #7. Their website gives a true description of the rooms. A restaurant is located on the property and breakfast is included for ARI guests and it is open to the public for dinner. For a Saturday night in late November, it was plenty busy. Staff is very pleasant and want everything to be perfect. My cell service was spotty in the area and there is Wi-fi available (a bit slow) in your room. No televisions are available in the accommodations, a fact they make perfectly clear on their website. It was lovely not to have them, in my personal opinion.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    70
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
207
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Great views from our own porch. The restaurant is accommodating for special diets including dinner and breakfast. We will be back time and time again.

Room Tip: The gas stoves are better than the wood stoves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simmonsgottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

This was our third trip to Albion River Inn & we had friends that had not been there before. The views fro our room were spectacular. The food at the restaurant was excellent, as was the service. I would recommend Albion River Inn to anyone wanting to see the beautiful scenery and enjoy some gourmet dinners with exceptional wine choices.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hownice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Albion River Inn just south of Mendocino, CA has spectacular views of the coast, charming and very clean accommodations and a gourmet restaurant featuring local wines, fresh fish and organic vegetables. After a smooth check-in, we enjoyed the ocean's roar and gorgeous view along with a complimentary bottle of wine on our private patio. Dinner was divine, the bed comfy and delicious breakfast the next morning was included. The staff made excellent recommendations on nearby sites of interest, including several state parks, light houses and the Botanical Gardens with coastal walking trails. We hope to return with friends and family!

Room Tip: Our room was one of the least expensive but was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaPoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarburg, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. The rooms were cozy, the view outstanding and the restaurant exceptional. They provided a nice gift basket for us in celebration of our 25 years of marriage. I cannot recommend this place enough. Oh and by the way, the view is pretty darn nice too!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blindref1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for one night in summer of 2000, per a recommendation of a guest at the B&B where we were staying in Napa. They lived in San Francisco and often brought family for weekends. The photos on the internet looked lovely, so I called from Napa and got the last room - one of the least expensive.

Remembering how much we loved our stay, I booked again for 2 nights this time. The room was much the same as we remembered it, and yes, as the disappointed reviewer commented, the furniture is dated and could use some updating. I'm hoping the owners will invest some money in the soon future; it wouldn't keep me from returning, but eventually it could become an issue. However, the view is worth every penny. The bungalows are situated directly on the bluff overlooking the Pacific with nothing hindering the spectacular vista. The deck with its Adirondack chairs is a comfortable place to relax in the late evening, watching a priceless sunset and basking in the warmth of the sun. In the evening, we wrapped ourselves in the extra blankets provided and sat there enjoying a glass of wine and the moonlight. When we were checking in, two men came in to get a couple of board games and cards; the 2 couples were from San Francisco and were spending a long weekend together; it made me think it would be a nice place to come with my son's family.

There is no television (didn't have it in 2000 either and it DID contribute to the romance of the setting) but there is free WiFi; cell service is terrible in the entire area. Although the furniture is dated, the mattress on the bed felt new - plush and comfortable. Breakfast is included (at the highly-rated restaurant); you choose your time when you initially check in and they try to seat most guests at the window - the restaurant has even better views than the inn. Service the first morning was a little off, but the second morning everything was perfect. My husband had the pear/raisin bread pudding (like French toast) and I had the two egg breakfast. I'm picky about my English muffin and ask at every restaurant that they toast it twice because I like it crispy; I'm usually disappointed. It was cooked perfectly the first time. They were quite accommodating to every request we made.

We ate the first night at the restaurant and loved it. I had the lime and ginger prawns, which were fabulous - plump, firm, and large; my husband had the pork tenderloin and loved it. The restaurant has a completely different ambiance for dinner than it does for breakfast - much more elegant and cozy, candlelight and piano music. We opted to eat in town the second night at another highly recommended inn and were disappointed; we both wished we had returned to the Albion River Inn Restaurant.

We have beautiful memories of both trips, photos I posted on Facebook that evoked countless comments from friends, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We checked out the room with the garden tub and I don't know that it was worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvnormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

The view alone would make a stay at the Albion River Inn well worth the rate. Add charming, quaint rooms and a delicious breakfast daily and in our opinion it's a must in Mendecino, CA.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchess2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
8.7 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.4 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
5.0 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
7.2 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
3.9 km away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Property: Albion River Inn
Address: 3790 N Hwy 1, Albion, CA 95410
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed guest rooms and cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for weddings and receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Albion River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing