We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like you're staying right in the park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Location! Location! Location! This is the main reason we keep going back and paying at least twice as much as comp. hotels around. The minute you drive through the gates, you're in a new world, a Disney world where you can let go and fully enjoy the experience. The decor is rustic, feels like a National Park Lodge and it's great, they carry he theme in the rooms and public spaces. Various activities available , my kids loved story time help twice a day in the lobby, while we enjoyed a drink and the resident pianist a few feet away. Love the private entrance, the convenience of having a room right next to the river rapids, as it is colder in CA than FL, and you will get wet! The rooms are adequate, service is up to par. I tried the buffet once and really did not like it, but we usually eat in the park or by the pool. ( I recommended the nachos, plenty to go around for more than one pp) Also, the pool and the hotel lobby are perfect for people watching and... you never know who you're going to see!

Room Tip: book a standard room, get there early and hope for an upgrade! (we got one every time)
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aiordana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,431)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,039 - 3,045 of 4,431 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Disney's Grand Californian Hotel has always been one of my dream places to stay. I finally got the opportunity to stay here for a few nights in December 2011. The cost is outrageous, let's get that out of the way right now. It's VERY pricey to stay in even the most basic room at this hotel (particularly during the last week of December when we were there). However, there is really no substitute for the amazing level of theming and the incredibly convenient location.

I am a Walt Disney World veteran so to have the ability to walk back to your hotel room from a theme park in a matter of minutes is a dream come true. Especially when compared to what can be a major hassle in WDW if you're relying on Disney transportation.

We arrived hours before check in time but the cast members were very accommodating and gave us room keys (without telling us the room number) and took our luggage so we were able to go out and enjoy the parks. At around 1:00, I got a text message telling me my room number and that we could go up to the room at any time.

I can't say too much about the restaurants since we mostly ate in the parks. The theming (especially in the lobby) was off the charts. The only way to describe the towering 6 story lobby is epic. It's even better during the Holidays when it's all decked out with Christmas decorations. The rooms were a decent size (we had a standard view room that looked out over the front entrance) and the arts and crafts theming was carried over from the lobby. We had one of the king bed rooms and the bed was fantastic.

We chose the self park option and used the parking lot across the street near Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. It's a steep $10 a day or something but it's a lot cheaper than valet. The proximity to Downtown Disney is another great feature of the Grand Californian. You literally walk down a hallway and you're right in the middle of it.

It's hard to recommend this hotel to everyone due to the price and also the fact that there is an endless amount of more affordable options out on Harbor and Katella. If you want to splurge, however, this is definitely the place to do it and as close as those "off property" hotels are to the parks, they are nowhere near as close as the Grand Californian.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andruckow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely hotel! No complaints except I wished it included breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlsgirlsgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

First, the positive, I cannot say enough great things about the service here. We stayed in the concierge rooms, and the service from the concierge staff, housekeeping and hotel staff in general was consistently excellent. Also, you cannot beat the location of the hotel - right next to California Adventure Park - easy access to Downtown Disney - right in the center of the action. The ambiance of the hotel was also really great, lovely atrium, nice public spaces. And the pools are really nice - and the pool furniture is very comfy. The negative - the room - in need of new furniture and upgrades all around. Deck furniture is not comfortable and carpeting and tables could stand a refresh. The bathroom is small and plain. Given the price for this hotel (especially the concierge), I'd expect more amenities too. We'll be back because we love Disney and this hotel, but I hope that they do some work to improve the room quality!

Room Tip: Get a room near the main elevators, or you will be walking a lot Go to the Storytellers Character B...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently stayed two nights in a two-bedroom DVC property at Disney's Grand Californian. First of all, not long enough to enjoy all of the amenities! It is one of the most beautiful of all of the Disney resorts. The rooms are very large, and two key room features are the extra bathroom in the living room (for a total of 3!) and the pull-down murphy bed, also in the living room. 5 of us stayed here and there was plenty of space. We had a beautiful view of the pool, but be forewarned that the "Disney music" starts playing poolside at least a half-hour before park opening (that was 6:30am for us).

Room Tip: "Disney music" starts playing poolside at least a half-hour before park opening, so you WI...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohmiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I am sitting back at home with my memories of this fabulous hotel.

Sitting in the awe inspiring lobby, listening to the piano being played and soaking up the atmosphere, thinking about the wonderful day we had just had at Disneyland, is one of my favourite memories.

One tip: there is a great little cafe for take away food which is sort of around the corner... have meals from here rather than sit in the (pricy) restaurants if you have small children. If you are Australian and used to the sort of food we have here you will be disappointed with the restaurants.

But otherwise, FANTASTIC. Great to find a hotel that caters for families of 5!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Arrival was a breeze. Opted for the self parking instead of valet as I knew the car wouldn't move while we were there. The self parking is close and you can walk in/out from downtown disney too (behind movie theater). They prefer to deliver your bags and pick them up when you leave (tip$). This is not like staying at an 'on property' resort in Orlando...this is really walk out of the hotel and you are in Downtown Disney or California Adventure and couple minutes from disneyland gate. so close we went to the room to put swimsuits on for Grizzly run, then walked back to change after getting wet. Like all things Disney, expensive and you are hardly there to enjoy the expense of the hotel. Storytellers Cafe was great for breakfast, but expensive of course. Ate at 3 restaurants for dinner, Naples Pizza in Downtown Disney was by far the best!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BicFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.4 km away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
2,893 reviews
0.3 km away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.9 km away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.9 km away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 118 in Anaheim
4,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802-2317
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $638 - $1,475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing