We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My Favorite Hotel To Stay Near Disneyland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anabella
Ranked #48 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Favorite Hotel To Stay Near Disneyland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is about the 4th time I've stayed at this hotel and I absolutely love it! I Love how it's within walking distance from Disneyland. I always enjoy the friendly staff that always greet me and are very helpful! I especially love the rooms! They're not like all standard hotels! The rooms actually feel like little bungalows with one huge king bed, a full and a pull out sofa and fridge! It's definitely roomy enough for a family or just the two of you!

Room Tip: I suggest getting the room I think it's the Santa Fe building! It's I think their suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheba d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGentry, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a nice and wonderful review online. We try very hard to provide a wonderful experience for all of our guests and that is our number one concern always. I loved the title you had in your review this was really nice of you and we from the Anabella Hotel and management team hope to see you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    977
    530
    325
    296
See reviews for
1,567
520
64
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This place was so clean and the pools were nice . The location was so close to Disneyland with a 15 minute walk. The staff was so wonderful and took the luggage for us before check in and when we returned they helped it with us so fast. Also if you check out they will hold all day for you with no worries at all. We had a room with a nice Queen bed with a pull out sofa which was wonderful. The Concierge room we had was only 99.00 with breakfast in the morning and it was great. Not much more to say except it was real nice.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vera111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGentry, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Thank you so very much for posting such a kind and positive review on the Anabella Hotel and resort. We try very hard with all of our guests which is why we are considered one of Anaheim’s best and most popular spots. I really like all of the comments on our service and how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for all of your comments and we hope to see you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangalle, Sri Lanka
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We easily walked into the park(s). Took about 15 mins. Parking is extra, but I'm sure it was cheaper than any of the Disney parking facilities. Room wasn't the largest. Kind of tight layout, but bed was comfortable, TV worked, 4 cup in room coffee, and an in-room safe. I would have liked a free internet access and complimentary coffee in the lobby, but everything worked out good.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGentry, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post online regarding your stay. I am so happy to hear that you had wonderful time at our beautiful hotel, we take a lot of pride in our guest service and our product so hearing that you enjoyed our hotel means a lot to the Anabella Hotel management team as well. I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed at The Anabella Hotel for two days to go to Disneyland. The rooms were just okay. I was never told that the hotel charges a parking fee of $14.09(plus tax) per day and a resort fee of 2.00(pls tax per day as well. When I questioned Yesenia(your rude employee) about this hidden charges, she was very condescending and rude about it. She said: it is written on your reservation's paperwork. I replied: no it is not. Then she said? Do you have your paperwork with you? I guess she wanted to prove me wrong....please explain to your employee that the customer should be always treated with respect. I just checked my paperwork, and I was not able to find a section that informs customers about these fees. Resort fees? Are you kidding me???this is NOT a resort!!!! I also mentioned to Yesenia that we had a leak in the shower and she just said: "Thanks for letting us know". No apologies were ever given.... If you want to end up paying hidden fees, stay at the Anabella hotel. The are good at it. If you are going to charge your customers for parking fees and resort fees, please let them know before we book our reservations, not until we are checking out.
Also, we tried to eat at the Tangerine grill for breakfast and the hostess was really rude. She got mad because we asked for a bigger table....even though we went on a Monday morning and she had about eight tables open...the hostess made us wait for no good reason, and when she called us back she was very rude so we decided to leave. The good news is that there are hundreds of hotels around Disneyland to choose from that offer better deals, no hidden fees and treat their customers fairly.
Never again, Anabella Hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shanny35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We've always stayed at the Candy Cane Inn but Alaska Air Vacations didn't offer it as an option, so based on reviews, location and free breakfast for two, I took my three teens to Disneyland, staying at the Anabella Hotel.

Pros first:
1. Quick 15 minute walk, cutting through Disney Grand California Hotel (GCH), to the parks.
* Walk through main entrance of GCH hotel and take a left after the second sets of sliding doors, go down three sets of stairs and out the door on the right at the bottom of the hallway. Turn left immediately and you come out at Downtown Disney next to Jamba Juice, nearby bag check. Yes, you can cut through GCH even if you don't stay there. You just can't use the GCH special entrance into California Adventure.
2. Although not associated with the hotel, the Tangerine Grill, served a wonderful, hot breakfast of skillet potatoes, eggs, bacon and toast. We had two free breakfasts with our Alaska Air pkg, so I ordered the oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins, while my youngest had the belgian waffle. Great food with wonderful service, if you got there early.
3. One night we were at the hotel during the California Adventure fireworks show and since you can see the back of the ferris wheel from many of the decks (we were in 1236), we saw some beautiful fireworks without the crowds (see photos).

Now the cons:
1. The room - Pkg said Double/Double or Queen/Queen. When we confirmed we were told that even though they had the ages of my teens they put us up in the double/double. That wouldn't work. To upgrade I had to pay ~$35/night and chose the Mission Suite style as it had a day bed, king and fold-out couch. This was a *mistake*! Do not get the Mission Suite if you need to use the pull-out couch. Instead I'm sure ordering a roll-away would be better. The pull-out is styled like a 1970's hide-a-bed with two bars in your back, a mattress you fall through if you sit on the end of the bed and the bedding was a sheet and thermal blanket. It is a single bed size. The couch was stained. The bathrooms do not have a fan so you must have the window open to clear out the moisture and there were tiny water ants in the room. We told the front desk. Also the floor is hardwoods, but when walking around our feet turned black and that just felt nasty sliding into clean white sheets with dirty feet.
2. Toilet - Had to wait between flushing due to bad pressure (?) so in the morning each kid had to use the restroom but toilet wouldn't flush one person behind the other.
3. A/C was too loud and rattly and it was hot out.
4. No fridge but little convenient store, very little, at the entrance so purchased a soda there.

Bottom Line: Next visit we will go back to Candy Cane Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttshutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

This was our second stay at the Anabella, the last was 8 yrs ago. The room was very clean and tidy, every day of our 5 days there. Bed was comfortable, and always clean sheets and towels. The one thing that really stands out this time, is the helpfulness, and friendly attitude of the hotel staff. In particular we need to mention August, one of the porter staff. Nothing was too much trouble for him, and he was very knowledgeable and helpful. Its a great base, close to Disney and its attractions, also there are many places/coffee shops in the area for breakfast etc. Should we return to the Aneheim area in California, we would always stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is not one of those large chain hotels, with the mini-bar and over priced water bottles in the room. We had a deluxe room (which was L shaped) with a queen sized bed and and full sized couch with a pull out bed. This room was just recently revamped with wood flooring and granite bathroom tile and walls. The bathroom was a nice size and clean. The queen sized bed was very comfortable. We had a family situation so a quick sudden change in plans. We needed to keep our grandson with us for the night. The staff sent up and made the fold out couch ready for sleeping. It was the perfect size for a 3.5 year old. The room was clean and reasonable spacey compared to the larger hotels where you get a bed, a desk, a t.v.. This had the bed with the sitting area turning into a bed and two additional chairs for more comfort. We were just there at the end of september which was the end of the summer season. So basically we had the whole end of the building to ourselves. We also requested an upper floor, (there are only two floors and no elevators) but to carry what little luggage we had up the stairs was no big deal. I had read previous rooms and the recommended to ask for a remodeled room. We got both requests, there was no one on either side of us or below us. Which is good, because using the slippers they provided were sure to cause our would be neighbors to come up and threaten to put those slippers where the sun doesn't shine. I stopped using them after ten minutes because they were one size fits non. They drove me crazy. The hotel staff were friendly, but the staff at Tangerine was a bit different. They did not go out of there way to smile or make us feel welcome. Did they stay up he night before partying, do they no like working with the public or are they just no happy with there jobs. Don't get me wrong, I'm in DISNEYLAND for crying out loud. MY WHOLE TRIP WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MAGICAL. All in all the food itself was good, but the service staff needs a lot of work. Just knowing these few bits of info may help prepare you so that it doesn't ruin your trip. I timed the walk and I'm a pretty fast walker and it is actually about a 15-20 min walk to Disneyland. The weather was great, the sidewalks not crowded and it gets the circulation working. I would recommend this place to all my friends and family. It is a quaint hotel another gem in the oasis!

Room Tip: Ask for the remolded section upper floor. I understand the lower floors can get a lot of overhead n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilipepr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGentry, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Well first off, thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review online regarding your stay here at the Anabella Hotel and Resort. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and for posting some really nice comments online. I really like the detailed summary of your stay for other online reader. I want to thank you again for such a wonderful posting and I do hope that I get the change to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 km away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.6 km away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
0.9 km away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn
0.8 km away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anabella

Property: The Anabella
Address: 1030 W Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802-3419 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anabella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and the warm decor the perfect retreat upscale interiors,Divine TM pillow top beds, a sleep experience by the Anabella Hotel, crisp white bedding and elegant granite bathrooms. Its well appointed location is just minutes away from our Awarding Winning Tangerine Grill and Patio well known for its eclectic California Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Anabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anabella Hotel Anaheim
Annabella Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing