We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Stovall's Inn(Anaheim)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$286
US$245
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
US$129
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$145
US$134
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area(Anaheim)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairfield Inn by Marriott Anaheim Resort(Anaheim)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$149
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$430
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$433/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,118)
Filter reviews
2,118 results
Traveller rating
915
703
284
111
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
915
703
284
111
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesfree parkingminute walkfree breakfastkids suitecottage cheesebunk bedswithin walking distanceright next doorfront desk staffhot breakfastbreakfast roomacross the streetgreat place to stayseparate roomafter a long daycold cereal
Filter
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 2,118 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2015

Our family met in Disneyland and stayed at the Desert Palms. It was superb! The staff was courteous and inviting, the rooms were very clean! It was great to walk to the Disney parks in a few minutes! The accommodations do not have to be a normal hotel room! We had three different room types: one with a sunken living room; one with a living room & kitchen - which had a bedroom door that let the little ones sleep in private; and another with a separate bunk bed suite for the teens. The free breakfast was hot and included: more than the usual cold options! It was a dream vacation and the Desert Palms was an additional pleasure!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank OHIOMEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen B, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2015

Hello OHIOMEB,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the quick walk over to the Disney Parks. Thank you for your compliments to our staff. They are a great team and we are lucky to have them. We hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Kristen Brown
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2015

Desert Palms is a perfectly adequate place to stay during a Disneyland trip. It's about a 10-minute walk from the park, so you get tons of families here. Rooms were clean and had decent amenities. The Desert Palms looks nice and tries to be upscale, but doesn't quite hit the mark, which is fine; we weren't here to hang out in our room. The pool looked small but nice, although we didn't use it. Ice cold strawberry, cucumber, and citrus water in the lobby was wonderful. Ask for a room away from busy West Katella Avenue to avoid traffic noise.

Our room looked like it had been recently remodeled. The bathroom was really nice, as well as the little kitchen sort of area with a small microwave, coffee maker, and refrigerator. The chair at the desk, however, looked like it had been salvaged from a garbage dump and was pretty gross.

We wish the staff could have been a bit more welcoming during check-in. They seemed to be just going though the motions, which was unfortunate.

The hotel advertises a free full breakfast with your stay, with eggs, sausage, ham, etc. in addition to cereal, waffles, toast, and pastries. Overall it was pretty low quality, with rubbery hospital food-style eggs, so stick with stuff like English muffins, cereal, and donuts.

The hotel is adjacent to a bus stop and a 7-11, and homeless people tend to hang out on the corner, so keep that in mind when you plan your walk to Disneyland. The nearby ABC mini market was awesome, though, and had good deals on souvenirs, snacks, etc.

Free in-room wifi was good. In-room coffee was undrinkable, even when brewing two bags instead of one, and we're really not that picky when it comes to hotel room coffee. The Desert Palms also offers free parking. It can get pretty crowded, as some of the other reviewers commented on, but we never had a problem finding a space.

We'd stay there again if there was nothing else available as it's good enough, clean, and comfortable. It just doesn't quite live up to the impression they give on their website and promotional materials.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms along W Katella Ave, which is noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen B, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2015

Hello Andrew F,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your feedback for other travelers. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room during your stay and that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. We are currently remodeling rooms (beginning with bathrooms which i believe you noticed in your room) and hope that you will stay with us again next year after our renovations are completed.

Sincerely,
Kristen Brown
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2015

We are a family of four and we stayed for four nights. The staff were friendly and the location was perfect for going to Disney, only a ten minute walk. The room was spacious and clean. Beds were comfortable and the room was quiet at night. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready, so we spent a couple of hours at the pool while we waited. The hot breakfast had plenty to choose from and we enjoyed it very much. The only grievance being that on the Tuesday when we had Early Magic Morning Hours available to us at Disneyland the breakfast area was not open early enough for us to have something before we left for the park.

The only other thing about the hotel that I found strange (and I experienced this at every hotel we stayed at throughout our California vacation) is that we were a family of four and were checked in as a family of four, but everyday housekeeping would only leave two towels and two washcloths. Each day I would call and ask for more to be sent up and ask them to advise housekeeping to start leaving four sets but inevitably the following day I would have to do it again (and again and again). But then if that is your biggest problem then you are having an excellent holiday... and we certainly did!

We would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BRBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen B, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2015

Hello BRBC,

Thank you so much for your excellent review! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that housekeeping did not leave enough supplies in your room daily. We will definiltey have a housekeeping meeting to correct the issue. We do appreciate your feedback and can't wait for your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Kristen Brown
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Within walking distance to the convention center. Probably could walk to Disney Parks, but may be to far for young children and elderly to walk. We stayed a Friday and Saturday night. We were considering staying on Thursday also, but when we called to ask the price for Thursday, the price was about $100 dollars more. They would not give us the same price as the Friday and Saturday price. We arrived at 9:30 am and asked if we could check in early. We were all tired from traveling. We stayed by the pool and in the lobby until they finally let us check in at 3:00. Would not have been to hard to ask housekeeping to ready the room instead of making us wait all day. We stayed in the Kalahari Suite and paid a total of $730.00 for 2 nights. The hotel was booked and noisy and we had to call the front desk to quite down the room next door at 1:30 am. The room was clean but had a funky smell when we first went in. Carpets are old but look clean. The breakfast is free IF you book thru Desert Palms. Good parking and free wifi. Breakfast was ok. Fruit looked like fruit coctail from a can. Was not worth the price. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mwchrisco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen B, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2015

Hello Mwchrisco2,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our check in time is at 3:00pm and we are only able to allow early check in based on availability, our large suites do take longer to clean. We also offer free breakfast to all of our guests, no matter how they book.

I do hope you will give us another try to extend our usual quality standard and service.

Sincerely,
Kristen Brown
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is well located near to Disney park, just 5 minutes walk. You will get all types of food outside hotel, Indian, Chinese, Italian, American etc. Staff is very courteous and friendly. Checked out the room in morning, planned the luggage in locker room, roamed around and picked the bags in evening to catch flight. Nice arrangements.
We took family room, so that two family can stay, we were for adult and two kids, rooms were clean and breakfast is also good.
Recommended for a family vacation....

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Manivannan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen B, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2015

Hello Mani_onThe_Road,

Thank you so much for your excellent review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and our free hot breakfast during your stay with us. We appreciate your stay and hope that you are able to visit again soon!

Sincerely,
Kristen Brown
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews