We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptible option for Disneyland visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Ranked #83 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Gig Harbor, WA.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Acceptible option for Disneyland visit”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Three stars on tripadvisor mean "average," and in its category I give this Clarion hotel three stars. I'll explain, using pros and cons.
Pros: Room was clean. Bed was comfy enough, albeit a double instead of a queen. The room had a mini-fridge. Maid service was fine. Free on-site parking. Front desk staff were friendly and accomodating, especially a young Latino named Sal. The pool is fairly large and comes with towels and an ample number of lounge chairs. The affordable ART shuttle buses to Disneyland stop outside the front door and run regularly.
Cons: The bathroom was cramped. No complimentary breakfast; so unless you eat muffins (or whatever) in your room, you'll breakfast elsewhere (there are several options nearby), or in the hotel restaurant off an expensive menu. The hotel is four or five long blocks from the park entrance, so it's about a mile to walk if you miss the shuttle. The off-lobby computer didn't work the entire five days we were there. There's no kid-friendly theming here, unlike many of the area hotels that feature special decor and the like.
Bottom line: If one doesn't insist on staying close enough to Disneyland for an easy walk to the park, and if the hotel stay doesn't have to include a complimentary breakfast, or theming that appeals to kids, IMO the average budget traveler will find the Clarion to be an acceptable option. We were satisfied there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mhada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Mhada,

Thank you for providing us with a very thoughtful, organized, and helpful comment. We most definitely take your feedback into account as we work to provide you with the best accomodations for your money. We hope you come back to stay with us to see our improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    245
    272
    142
    107
See reviews for
417
115
35
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeview, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We have been to Disneyland as a family 5 times and have stayed at the Clarion 3 of those trips. It is a great hotel for the price. The beds are clean and comfortable, as are the rooms. I found that when you are at Disneyland you have very limited time spent in the hotel. We have always had excellent service from the staff when we are at the Clarion and their food in the bar is great!! We are returning to Disneyland in April of this year (2012) and have booked the Clarion again. We have stayed at a couple of other good neighbor hotels and have not had nearly as good of an experience. One of the Marriott properties that we stayed at had no security (which we found out the hard way when our truck window was broken to steal the GPS). If you are looking for a 5 star hotel you probably should look outside of good neighbor hotels that house hundreds of thousand of visitors each year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Nelly J,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us, as we know that you have many choices to choose from. We look forward to having you come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We checked in the 12-26-11. We were supposed to check out 12-30-11. We check out a day early for a couple reasons. The 2 downstairs men's bathrooms were disgusting. I walked in one and turned around to go to the other and it was just as bad. Felt like I was at a gas station. And my wife said the women's was not much better. For the price we paid for the trip, the best part was the going to the parks.

The pool was extremely cold when the said it was heated. No continental Breakfast. And shuttle #6 that services this hotel, terrible service. Use #5 over at the marriott down the street.

I never give reviews, but felt that others need to check this out prior to staying here. And driving from Portland, then checking in . I was at a loss for words. Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Would pass
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mooregolf92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_CA002, Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Please accept our sincerest apologies. Your satisfaction is important to us and we certainly appreciate your feedback. We are working diligently to improve our service and our product. All your concerns will be addressed to the appropriate departments. We certainly hope you reconsider your position and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed there one night on Dec 5. The public areas are nice and the staff was efficient. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Now for the bad, which outweighs the good: electrical burning smell from the heater; carpet, although vacuumed, was old and ratty; the bedspread smelled like someone threw up on it; had to unplug the refrigerator at night because it made noise; no key in room safe; light bulb was out; could only get about 5 channels on the TV and the volume control didn't work at all; cracked sink with brown stains; information binder was empty. For one night it wasn't worth making complaints. I would like to think that the cleaning staff could see these problems. It should be something they check on every day and fix. I doubt if I will stay here again.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear Leslie S.

Thank you for staying with us last weekend. I apologize for the issues that you encountered while you were here. We did just complete installing all new flat screen TV's and may have contributed to the TV concerns which are now all remedied. We do strive to give all our guests excellent service. Should you come back, we will do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed at the Clarion while in Anaheim for business.

The hotel is midrange, you get what you pay for.

I would not say the staff are all that friendly and the hotel is very dated. There was a picture tube still in the room, the carpets were very worn, the shower/tub had cracks in it, and the small fridge in the room buzzed constantly. Though I did not visit, the hotel is located close to Disney, which is probably nice for families.

The internet connection worked well. The hotel is right near restaurants, both high and low end, which is nice. Very close to Anaheim airport and highway, which provides easy access to LA (though not quick of course, LA traffic is awful).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jolotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed here in April 2010. It was great for the price. The rooms were really clean. The pool said it was heated. I sure didn't think it was. The only other people that were in the pool were people from Alaska. Still a affordable hotel somewhat close to Disneyland.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_CA002, Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We appreciate your taking the to share a quick review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stopped in this hotel on the last leg of a round the usa trip and found it to be excellent.

The bar staff in particular were very friendly and welcoming. The food was quite good too.

The view from our room of Disney fireworks was amazing and the location and bus access to Disney Land and all of LA was great.

The pool is nice and quiet and we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_CA002, Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you very much for your review! Our team will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food offerings! That’s always the goal! Hopefully on your next trip, you can stay with us again! We look forward to that day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 km away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
0.3 km away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
0.8 km away
The Anaheim Hotel
The Anaheim Hotel
#77 of 118 in Anaheim
1,213 reviews
0.2 km away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Property: Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Address: 616 W Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802-3401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Anaheim Anaheim
Clarion Anaheim
Anaheim Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing