We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This motel is fine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Arcata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Arcata
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This motel is fine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

I stayed at the Arcata Super 8 for three days in March 2010 and again in March 2011, meeting with 4 other old classmate friends who all had separate rooms. I was given the same downstairs single queen room both years, Room 104. The room was clean, there was no visible deterioration and the sheets were clean.
The front desk clerk was pleasant and competant.
None of my other friends had any complaints wtih their rooms and we are all now in our 60s.
I have a doctor's degree and have stayed in many 5 star hotels and resorts. The Arcata Super 8 is fine for an economical hotel.
I suspect the other posters have too much time on their hands or are just upset after their stay to find that Humboldt State turned their children into hippies!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HumboldtPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    50
    77
    57
    48
See reviews for
98
56
45
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Shasta, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

My dog and I enjoyed this motel. The room was relatively large with a microwave and refrigerator. There was a comfortable bed and a comfortable chair to sit in while watching tv. The wi fi worked well.
It was nice to have a motel that accepted dogs that was comfortable with a good price.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecopam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

The room was dirty. There were bags of trash outside the back entrance. Our room had gouges in the drywall. The shower was moldy. The curtains were falling off the hooks. And all the appliances (refrigerator, microwave, tv, etc) were plugged into one outlet!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSKett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arcata hotels

Eureka, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Our room was large,clean, pretty quiet, and adequate. We had booked a queen, but were given a king. The small TV was a long way from the bed though; sort of hard to watch. TV reception for local channels was very lousy also. The bed was comfortable. I appreciated the microwave and tiny fridge. Breakfast was very minimal. But I found the staff not very welcoming. A rather "could care less attitude"and unprofessional attitude. Those guys need some training!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

Yeah, this place is pretty much a dump. I agree with most of the negative reviews so far. I don't know about "filthy" -- that seems a bit much. I mean, the place was adequate: it fulfilled the need of sleep and a place to shower. Barely.

Skeezy clientele. Stoned, indifferent staff. Surprisingly, the wifi worked just fine.

I do have to say though...this would be a good place for college students, a large (low-income) family, or other group traveling on a budget, to share a room. I was in 207 for a night and it was HUGE, with a double bed and enough room to easily put 5 or 6 sleeping bags. The carpet wasn't all THAT bad, just wasn't super clean. $54 / 6 = $9/ person. Nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gimmeshelter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Air conditioner did not work, couldn't sleep, the night clerk checked it and thought it was ok.
It was not and only blew air.
Cable was connected to the back of the tv with a band aid.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Worst Motel I've ever slept in. It was filthy, the beds were concave, the shower wouldn't drain, the staff was indifferent. We were booked for 2 nights; The first night the lights flickered the whole time. When we returned from a busy day the next evening, we had no power at all. The staff fixed it, but it kept happening. We were offered no apologies for the inconvenience, and the manager was rude. We decided to leave, and requested a refund for the night, but were refused. We left anyway. Horrible!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.5 km away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
16.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
3.7 km away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Arcata

Property: Super 8 Arcata
Address: 4887 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4693
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Arcata 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Arcata
Super 8 Motel Arcata
Super Eight Arcata
Arcata Super Eight
Arcata Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing