We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lopez Lake Recreation Area

Lopez Lake Recreation Area
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A picturesque camping, hiking and outdoor recreation area.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Relaxation/nature/beauty/pleasure?

The camping grounds has all this to offer and more!

Our Motak family reunion of over 30 relatives/friends was a joyous celebration!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Freda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    10
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible stay at lake Lopez”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

My family and I camped at bandtail with our 5th wheel. The spot and location were perfect, the other campers not so much and made for a terrible stay. One spot played prince, the other mariachi, and the third old school music all day and night. It would not have been so bad if the bass wasn't turned up and of course these were individuals I did not want to confront. I had visions of waking up finally after falling asleep to slashed tires. Second night I had enough and had to drive down to the rangers station twice. Finally they shut up around 12. The rangers nor camp hosts have control over these types of guests whom are totally disrespectful to other campers. I endured music, loud cursing, and drunk people for 2 days. The last day we made it a point to leave super early and take a long time hooking up making as much noise as possible and we weren't the only family who did the same thing. Some people ruin it for everyone. I have a feeling that these campers will drive families and other respectful campers to look at more peaceful and serene environments.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Lopez can be a fun lake. Gotta watch out for the wind though. Nice alternative if you don't want to drive to Naciemento or San Antonio.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rambuncious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caruthers
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Almost every year we stay at Lake Lopez campground. We try to arrange our visit during their off season for peace and quiet. We were not disappointed this year. There were only four other camp sites being used in our area (Quail). However, the day before we left it began filling up.
It's easy to make reservations and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
We love the camp ground for it's wild life: Turkeys, squirrell, deer, and occasionally skunk. There are also many varieties of birds. The camp sites are clean and almost all of them have fire rings. The rest rooms are also well maintained.
Across from Quail there is a nice play ground area and up the road a piece are the water slides.
The lake is a beautiful site. I've heard the fishing can be quite rewarding.
Look forward to our visit next year.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank buffynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to hike, bike, fish and relax.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Come up here as often as possible. Easy drive from LA. Great campsites, bathrooms with showers (must have with the wife and four daughters) and well stocked general store. Great area with fun, beautiful hikes and bike rides and animals everywhere. Deer, turkeys, woodpeckers and squirrels right in the campsite. Awesome spot. Great little town 15 minutes away with everything you need at stores like Walmart and trader joes. Also a small, old town strip with antique stores, ice cream shop and a great burger joint.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lopez Lake Recreation Area also viewed

Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Lopez Lake Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing