We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Met expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Auburn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auburn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Met expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed one night as a way point after getting into Sacramento at night and heading up to Tahoe the next day. The hotel is conveniently located right off I-80, In-and-Out burger in the parking lot, walking distance to shopping center with a grocery store, drug store, Starbucks, and more, and a short drive into Auburn.

I had a room on the first floor and it was spacious and clean. My only complaint is that I could hear people walking/running on the floor above. The a/c unit provided a good white noise filter though so I slept just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor for no noise from foot traffic above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    63
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
32
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a great hotel. I had tried 3 other hotels in this immediate area along the I-80 corridor, but since I found this hotel, I have never returned to any of the others. I come to Auburn by myself about 6 times a year to visit a sick friend. Each time I stay here, I am never disappointed. When I check in, the front desk staff is always friendly. I need help with my luggage, and they always get someone to help me get it to my room at anytime, day or night, and they never expect a tip. They just do it to provide a service to those who need it.

The room is large and beautiful, and always clean! There is a good size work desk which is great to use for my computer, and it has enough plugs to accommodate both my computer and phone charger. Connecting to the free internet is a snap, and the internet speed is very fast. The room also has plenty of lamps for light which I appreciate. I hate going into dimly light hotel rooms at night. The king bed is very comfortable, and I never wake up with a backache. There is a large flat screen TV and a small refrigerator. I appreciate the full length mirror, as well as the large mirror over the shelf with the coffee/tea maker. The bathroom is very well lit, which makes it easy to put on makeup. The shower has a great shower head, and there is instant hot water (within a few seconds) in the bathroom. I have never had a problem in this hotel with the hot water running out.

Because of the inside corridors and the carpeting, the noise level is kept to a minimum. I very seldom hear guests walking or talking outside the room in the hallways. People here seem to be respectful of others around them in the other rooms. Some of the other hotels in the area that I had tried had outside corridors, and it became very noisy starting at 5:30 a..m.

The outside doors of the hotel to the parking lot are kept locked, so I always feel safe and secure entering the hotel alone very late at night. The parking lot is large, and I have never had a problem finding a spot, even late on a Saturday night when I know the hotel is full.

All in all, this is the best place in Auburn or the surrounding areas to stay. I know that some of the other hotels offer a free continental breakfast, but even without that amenity, this hotel beats all others hands down! There is a restaurant onsite, and Inn & Out Burger is next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor facing the inside courtyard/pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akajoanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Have to admit wasn't expecting much from this chain based on past experience but was pleasantly surprised. Really friendly staff, nice spacious rooms with v good beds and large flat screen tvs. not too noisy despite its just off the freeway position and a pretty decent restaurant attached (Max's) serving great burgers and larger than life desserts. liked it enough to stay a second night when I could have moved on. good value and would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SciRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I've stayed here twice and I have to say I love it! When I checked in, tired from a long drive, and got to my GIANT room it was lovely and clean. Big comfy chairs, a large screen t.v. and even a chocolate bar waiting for me (I'm a Premier Member). Super clean and comfy. In addition, there is a really good restaurant right on the premises and...are you ready for this? They have room service. OMG!!! Exhausted and just wanting to veg in my jammies, the thought of finding a decent place to eat just exhausted me more. So I rang the restaurant and within minutes I had a delicious Cobb salad delivered right to my room. I called the front desk and asked for a late checkout and voila! I was able to sleep in and do my paperwork in the morning without worrying about checking out by 11. Can't recommend it highly enough. Front desk folks were friendly. Super quiet so I rested really well. Excellent!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tesia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I arrived late without a reservation, and Kevin at the front desk got me checked in quickly and put me in a great clean room! This is a beautiful hotel and I can not say enough about the service. I will definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

When I checked in, the room was not ready; however, the front desk was very accommadating in providing a room of equal quality and value on the first floor which definity worked out much better for me. All the staff were friendly, professional and accommadating. Clean rooms, even behind the nightstands and at carpet edges which are one of the first things I check to be sure I am obtaining a clean room.

Room Tip: This hotel is doing repairs and upgrading their rooms, so I would ask for an one of the upgraded roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Jones, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We have stayed here twice (this trip was 2 nights) and they have consistently provided a great stay. We booked a standard, non smoking king size bed. Rooms are large, comfortable, clean and well equipped. We never have to ask for anything. The location is perfect and the staff are extremely helpful, cheerful and polite. Would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a great place to stay. Wish all hotels across the country could be exactly like this one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PV8850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
2.7 km away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
22.2 km away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
24.3 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Roseville
0.5 km away
Power's Mansion Inn
Power's Mansion Inn
#1 of 2 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auburn

Property: Holiday Inn Auburn
Address: 120 Grass Valley Hwy., Auburn, CA 95603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the wonder and enchantment of California’s Gold Country at the award-winning Holiday Inn Auburn Hotel in Auburn, California. Situated along the northern belt of Mother Lode, amid lush pastures and gentle rolling foothills, this Auburn, CA hotel offers a beguiling blend of unsurpassed beauty and unrivaled service. Since its opening in 1995, the Holiday Inn in Auburn, California, has been the recipient of esteemed honors, including the 1996 Holiday Inn Worldwide Hotel of the Year award. In 2009, the hotel received the Holiday Inn Excellence Award, and, most recently, was recognized as a California Certified Green Hotel. Impeccable service, courteous and skilled staff, and well-appointed interiors have made the hotel the showpiece of the Gold Country. "Everything You Always Wanted to Eat!", Max's is one of the Bay Area's most popular restaurants – famous for delicious food, generous portions, and irresistible desserts. You can choose from Max's large selection of deli style sandwiches and wide array of salads, steaks, pasta and seafood. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Room service and "take out" also available. Our Auburn conference location is close enough to Sacramento for easy access, yet far enough away to escape the corporate congestion and unwind for your gold country area conference or executive meeting. The latest technology in high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel, and we offer a business center complete with computer work station, printer, and photocopier. Our onsite meeting professional will assist with your every conference need and can schedule golf, skiing or site-seeing trips for your group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auburn Hotel Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing