We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
288
164
61
21
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
164
61
21
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket placecontinental breakfastbagelscatalina islandbeach househot tubocean viewcatalina expresshardwood floorshotel lobbyking bednice roomdvd playerlong beachfresh fruitthe main streetboat ride
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 560 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2018 via mobile

This place was really impressive. First time in Avalon and we were beachfront with access to all that Avalon has to offer. More importantly, we were traveling with our newborn and they were super accommodating. Even after we checked out and had to wait for the last boat after a long day of adventures, they let us hang out in our room till 6PM, shielding our little ones from the evening chill. Thank you Yolanda and crew.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg M, Owner at Hotel Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Yolanda and our hotel crew work so hard to make sure every guest has a great time, and we are so thrilled you and your newborn had a 5 star experience. We will always try to accommodate all your needs, and we look forward to your family's return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

Hotel was quite expensive at about 350 per night. The lobby had all the charm and atmosphere of a Super 8 motel. The rooms were actually fairly recently remodeled and not bad.

The hot tub area had a nice view but the hot tub was only slightly larger than a bath tub.

Overall the hotel is probably as good as any on the island. It just felt a bit cramped and not worth the price.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg M, Manager at Hotel Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

We really appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We are considered the finest hotel on the island and we work hard to make our standards unparalleled. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms and rooftop jacuzzi with harbor views. You can see our property in detail on our website, and please check out our specials page as there might be an offer that could make another visit worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2017

This small hotel was right in downtown on Catalina Island. My room overlooked the main street and the water. It was centrally located and in the VIP section. The room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. A short walk down the stairs led to a bunch of shops and restaurants. On the same floor, a continental breakfast was served and consisted of bagels, hard boiled eggs, muffins, coffee, juice, tea, and croissants. It was acceptable. If you needed to get a huge breakfast, you could walk down the street a short distance to a restaurant. Overall, I loved this place. I plan on coming back.

Room Tip: Choose the VIP section.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OhioTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017

This hotel is in a very convenient location. However, it was not the cleanest. Room floors were very dirty. Our stocking feet were black after walking on the floor without our shoes. We had a corporate retreat here and although the service while there was good, beforehand arrangements and follow-up to get our master bill proved very difficult. We had trouble getting anyone to call back or even acknowledge an email to verify arrangements. When you have 40+ people (23 rooms) relying on everything to be done and you aren’t sure if it is or not, it can create lots of unnecessary anxiety! Not a good location to hold a good business meeting as the facilities conference room was not the greatest. Musty smelling and A/C did not work the best. It also was a very awkward layout due to columns in the middle of the room. Internet service was also very poor.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms can be noisy.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017

We splurged on an ocean front suite, and the views were amazing! We arrived before noon and took our chances on an early check in. Our room wasn't ready, but the front desk did a quick pre registration, stored our luggage while we explored, and offered to call my cell when the room was ready. Check in is clearly guaranteed for 3, so we were grateful for the extra help. We went and grabbed a snack and an island drink called "Buffalo Milk", which is a sweet drink famous to Catalina! By 1:30, the hotel called to tell us our room was ready...early! We were very pleased. We were in room 320, which sleeps 4 with a pull out sofa. There is a roomy balcony, TV with satellite and premium channels, a DVD player, sitting area with sofa and two chairs with ottomans, desk and chair, mini fridge, and plenty of small counter areas to organize your things. The hotel is situated in the middle of everything. We easily walked past the casino to the beach club area and zip line starting point. We also walked a short distance to and from the Catalina Express. You can do it all on foot even with moderate luggage. There are tons of places to dine, grab coffee, a drink, or a sweet treat within a two minute walk. The continental breakfast is nicely done with choices of pastries, bagels, yogurt, cereal, hot drinks, and juice or milk. We will definitely stay at this property the next time we head over to Avalon. Right across the street there is a gold cart rental. We did a self guided tour of the island in an hour rental that was a blast for $45. Great location and great time!!

Stayed: November 2017
7  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews