We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Turner Inn
Nearby Hotels
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$298/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Mariquita Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$271
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Mac Rae(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Avalon Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Seacrest Inn(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Catalina Island Inn(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
189
22
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
22
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking suitehomemade granolawicker roomday bedother guestsbed and breakfastlight appetizersgreat storiesliving roomcatalina islandbreakfast was deliciousenclosed porchcocktail hourgreat suggestionsthe location is perfectshort walka wonderful place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 217 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

Kathleen and her merry support crew run a delightful B&B here. Service, cleanliness, hospitality, even the fit and finish of the small decor touches – – all of this is as near perfect as could be.

We stayed in the King Suite, a beautiful room with an enclosed porch featuring a daybed pair for my daughter and my niece.

This was exactly what a family lodging should be! Well-appointed, close to the harbor and smack dab in the middle of Avalon’s heart.

Kathleen’s obvious love for the house and the business are there to see. Her fascinating family has run this place for decades...long may they do so!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rosscoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldTurnerInn, General Manager at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It was fun to have you and your family here! Loved your enthusiasm, and how you all got to know everybody. And kudos to you for doing the high ropes course with the girls! Hope to see you all back again soon. Kathleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for a night at The Old Turner Inn and loved our experience. Kathleen is knowledgeable, warm, and friendly (I left my wallet behind and she is mailing it to me) and provides you with a number of activities and recommendations during your stay on the island. Breakfast is warm and delicious and in the evening there are appetizers and wine. It’s in the perfect walking location to the main drag and the rooms are cozy. We stayed in the Queen Suite and it had a fire place!! Would love to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank passport_meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017

We stayed two nights over Thanksgiving weekend at the Old Turner Inn and had a great time! We had the Queen Suite and enjoyed having the extra space in the sun room. The inn was an easy walk from the pier and very conveniently located close to all the restaurants on the main drag. We loved the breakfast that Kathleen served us (along with her homemade granola) and also enjoyed the wine and light appetizers in the evening. This was our first time on Catalina Island, but we already know that we'll be back and we'll be staying again at the Old Turner Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2017

My husbands grandparents lived on Catalina in the 50's and 60's. We went there for our anniversary but also to do some family research. It was a great time and Kathleen at the Old Turner Inn was SO helpful. Great breakfast's got us fueled for our days of walking and talking. We will definitely go again!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tammyhJ7696GF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldTurnerInn, Manager at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Thanks so much. It was so fun to have you hear and learn about your family history!
Oh, I forgot to tell you, another woman I know is aware of the crashing truck story. Give me a call sometime and I will tell you about it!
Kathleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I chose the Old Turner Inn for our honeymoon and had a lovely stay. On arrival, we were greeted by Kathleen who chatted with us for a bit and gave some recommendations of things to do in Avalon. She was friendly and approachable and had some great suggestions. Appetizers at 5pm were simple but yummy...crackers with cream cheese and delicious jam, tomatoes with cheese and herbs, etc. Kathleen even went out of her way to provide some gluten free options for my husband.

The breakfasts were fresh and filling. We had a variety of foods such as quiche, bacon, fresh fruit, muffins, croissants with jams, avocado, Kathleen's homemade granola, orange juice, tea and coffee. Yum!! The meals varied based on the day, and we got to try a couple different things since we stayed for 4 days.

We had the king suite which was quaint, spacious, and filled with light. It had an attached sun room with a day bed, table with chairs, and sitting chair. There was a wardrobe and dresser, a comfy king bed (I actually got really good sleeps on it), and a fireplace. Kathleen had left a sweet note and flowers congratulating us on our marriage.

Our room was very quiet (except for the occasional car passing by outside). The only time we heard someone in the hall was when room service came by in the late morning/early afternoon. I don't recall the exact time, but it wasn't too early in my opinion. I might have heard voices/footsteps from the other guests once or twice, but in summation, it was very quiet and relaxing overall.

I would definitely recommend the Old Turner Inn. It has lots of charm, a kind and friendly in keeper, and is just steps away from the shops and restaurants.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldTurnerInn, Manager at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Thanks Anna! So glad that you got to stay with us for your honeymoon. Hope to see you next year for your anniversary!
Kathleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews