We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay on the Isalnd "Catalina."”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
North Hills Ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay on the Isalnd "Catalina."”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have a time share, but chose not to ues it. This was a very important day.
The hotel was in short "SIMPLY THE BEST." The island is a bit tricky, the room was beautiful.
Im a contractor and my standards are sky high. The marble walls in bathroom, to the fancy beding, working fireplace, super clean, and highly kept room, stand alone!
Its impossible to find a more complete, clean, and high end hotel.... We did have the primier suite "Capri" OCEAN VIEW! We travel often,and only stay in the high end hotels, this one for the Island, was at the very top. The hotel staff , thanks Wendy. Were ready to help with everything. When on the island dont mis Michelle at the Sea Spa... His and her massages..
were at the top of our list.. Our stay was great.

Room Tip: Call and chat with the hotel staff. Ask questions its an island. Buy packages through the hotel, br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    140
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
257
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Picked up a great winter special and was pleasantly surprised at what a nice place this is. The website doesn't due it justice. They have clean rooms and fresh linens. The staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkie1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was our first time visiting Catalina Island, and we're so glad we chose Hotel Villa Portofino! Its cozy feel, great views, and great customer service made it the perfect place to stay. The location was perfect ... right on the harbor, and shopping was within walking distance. The sundeck was very inviting and had a great view of the harbor. We will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paynehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Center, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Hotel Villa Portofino was a great choice for a short off season visit to the island. Everything was super clean, the patios (nice little venues on all the floors, and a delightful sun deck) thorougly enjoyable, and the location perfect. We had discounted rooms, and although very small, all we needed since the whole idea of island living is being & enjoying the out of doors.. We would stay again in a heartbear.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My boyfriend and I visited Catalina for the first time and had a wonderful time. Mainly because the Hotel Villa Portofina, was so great. From check in to check out they provided excellent customer service and made us feel special. We stayed in the King Deluxe room and had plenty of room. We enjoyed the fireplace and large "spa like" bathtub. We would recommend this hotel to any one of our friends and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This was our first trip to Avalon and Catalina. Having eyeballed the competition, I am sure I will stay at Villa Portofino when I return.

Room Tip: Ask for a "king bed" not a "queen bed" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Ex_camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Adorable spot. Great location. Right in the main town. Clean, comfortable. Seating area upstairs is really nice. Great spot to get a tan.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misseserica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island, CA - Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing