We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel on a beautiful island”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great hotel on a beautiful island”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a wonderful weekend in Catalina and loved this hotel. The staff does everything possible to make your stay pleasant, The location is ideal and the rooms recently renovated and very comfortable. The restaurant is good, but the food somewhat bland.. I would recommend that they improve the kitchen. I would surely return to the hotel but not necessarily the restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, just redone. Some have views, some do not. There is a wonderful terrace on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    142
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
259
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was a great hotel - staff were friendly, quick to make up rooms and very informative. While we were there the weather conditions cancelled the ferries and the staff were all really reassuring and nice. (FYI, 50% off rooms if you're stranded on the island.) Also, unlike many other hotels I've stayed at, they seemed to genuinely want to stop for a chat with you...I read a review that poo-pooed the whole courtyard rooms having patio doors for front doors, but having stayed in one of those rooms, I can honestly say I felt safe and secure. Yes, the rooms were small, and if I could afford it next time, I'd get one of the fancier rooms with a sea view, but I really liked our room for this stay. The sun deck was virtually empty the whole weekend and it was an awesome vantage point for people watching. We took this trip as a first-family-vacation-with-baby and it worked out really well to hit the restaurants/shops and come back to the room for our baby's frequent changing/feeding needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyanidesnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We (4 couples) had such a good time. We did our own thing during the day and then got together for a happy hour on the deck of the hotel (which faces the water) then went to dinner.
We stayed two nights and we are talking about doing it again.
3 couples are from Palm Springs, Ca and the fourth couple is from Huntington Beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We've been coming out to Catalina Island for many years, have stayed at numerous hotels but Villa Portofino is our favorite. Warm & helpful staff, comfy rooms great location and the sundeck on top of the hotel has the best view of the bay, Casino, Wrigley Mansion and town - no other hotel offers that. A wonderful bottle of champagne is offered for returning guests - such a nice touch. We love it there!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davewheelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

What a wonderful experience - go for the Portofino Suite, relax and enjoy. Great staff, lovely property, convenient location plus champagne for my big celebration (Catalina Express offers FREE trip on your Birthday as well) Will definately return!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dryazheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We enjoy the hotel every year to celebrate our anniversary and will continue to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Villa Portofino offered a one-night special package for the month of March. We really felt special since the hotel stay included a round trip Catalina Express, round trip taxi transfers, and continental breakfast. The room was clean, with a great comfy bed, plus the rooftop patio provided tables, chairs, and chaise lounges overlooking Avalon Harbor. Patrons enjoy the deck with food and drink while watching local boat traffic and people watching. Great hotel across the street from the beach!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island, CA - Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing