We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great spot

Great little walkable center with free displays detailing the flora and fauna of the island. Is... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
taylorzzzzzzzz
via mobile
Awesome, Free & Walkable

This Nature Center under the auspices of the Catalina Is. Conservancy is a great spot to bird and... read more

Reviewed October 13, 2018
GlobalGypsy_13
,
San Diego, California
Read all 55 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Avalon
from US$129.00
More Info
from US$97.76
More Info
from US$49.99
More Info
from US$48.15
More Info
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
22
27
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
27
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flora and fauna plant species golf cart exhibits wrigley video information preservation island catalina conservancy buffalo
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 55 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

We walked there from the boat dock and it was an enjoyable walk. Took approximately 1 hour because we made many stops along the way. The Nature Center is located towards the most distal part of the Island, so if you walk there, you will have the opportunity to do a lot of things such as sightseeing, playing at parks (if you have children), sitting down in the shade, seeing wild animals such as deer, birds, and squirrels. There are also at least three public bathrooms on the way and an interesting "Bird Park" that seemed to be closed. If you did not make any stops, you could walk to the Nature Center from the dock easily in 20-30mins. My 7 year old daughter easily made the walk without any complaints.

Nature Center: small and doable in about 15 minutes. There are also clean bathrooms inside and someone working at the front desk to answer your questions. They sell stuffed animals and some little souvenirs that were a little more expensive than the items found on the Green Pier. There was a coloring station that consisted of a small table and two little chairs, pictures and coloring pages were provided. There was a digital microscope and we spent some time placing everyday objects underneath for viewing (dollar bills, hands, nails). There were also some interesting facts and an iPad connected to a large screen TV...wasn't operating the day I visited but I think it was supposed to be display a short video.

Afterwards, we did not want to visit the Wrigley Monument nor the Gardens, so we took the bus back to the Pier. Bus cost $2/person and arrives every 20 minutes. The stop was situated less than a one minute walk from the Nature Center.

Overall, it's a quick place to stop if your'e visiting the Island. Something fun to add to the itinerary for the day.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2017

On your way to the botanical garden be sure to stop by the nature center. It is free and has enough information to keep you busy for 30 minutes to an hour. Take your time, because it is the only way to truly appreciate the delicate ecosystem of this unique island. You will find information on the flora and fauna and how they came about. You will find that some of the animal and plant species are more than unique. And of course the damage done to this precious natural heritage by mankind, and the current fight for its preservation.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Catalina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatConservancy, Public Relations Manager at Nature Center at Avalon Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thanks for your review! It sounds like you really took the time to explore our Nature Center - that's awesome! Come visit us again the next time you're on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2017

This is another tour you must do, if this is your first time in Catalina Island. Take the tour, its worth it.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank MaryandLisa0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatConservancy, Public Relations Manager at Nature Center at Avalon Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thanks for your review! Come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2017

We decided to do this tour because we all love animals. not such a big place but definitely had lots of information for you. Including plants etc of the island.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank 995cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatConservancy, Public Relations Manager at Nature Center at Avalon Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thanks for stopping by our Avalon Nature Center and for posting your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2016

Although this is a small place, it did have some interesting facts about the island. So, if you are interested in some history, and indigenous facts about animals, birds, wildlife and plants on the island, then you will enjoy it here. Also, the receptionist was so friendly and nice! We visited with her for awhile just asking and learning from her about life in general on the island for locals.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Cinda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews