We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catalina Island is Awesome”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We spent almost a week on Catalina Island last summer, at the Aurora. We had a wonderful time, and contrary to other reviews, thought that there were plenty of activities and good restaurants to fullfil the 6 days we were there. The staff at the Aurora were excellent at providing recommendations on things to do and places to eat. They recommended the Lobster Trap, which ended up being our favorite place - we ate there for dinner once and lunch twice! We took a boat trip over to the other side of the island, which was also recommended by them. There are lots and lots of water activities, and you can take a tour into the interior of the island. I think Catalina Island is a beautiful, quiet, small, relaxing vacation destination. So laid back, and so nice not to worry about driving anywhere. We just loved holding hands and walking back and forth through town checking out the shops and walking up the hills for the views.

Okay, now what we loved about the Aurora. Quiet boutique hotel, very modern and tasteful furnishings, perfect continental breakfast to get us started every morning, lovely little roof-top deck, and a superb staff. A lot of the hotels on Catalina are up long, steep hills - this is just a short one, and we joked that it only took us 5 minutes to get anywhere in town. We bought some wine and cheese at the Vaughns grocery store to keep in our room since there is a nice little fridge and a microwave in case you need it. In the afternoons before dinner and after our daily activity, we would take our wine up to the rooftop deck and just sit and enjoy the view. Almost everytime we were up there, we got involved in nice conversations with other guests doing the same thing. I don't know about any of the other hotels in Catalina, but I am so glad we picked the Aurora. They know how to make you relax and enjoy your vacation.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for partial ocean view - totally worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Aurora Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed in Room 311 for a short anniversary weekend. The room had a small balcony and a great view of the ocean, which was a pleasant surprise since it is listed as a "partial-ocean view". This hotel is true to its website: the rooms pictured are the actual rooms you'll stay in. Everything about our stay was pleasant - the lovely room, the tiny but excellent bathroom, the fantastic roof-top deck where we enjoyed our evening wine and cheese (brought our own) and morning breakfast. The Hotel's breakfast is pretty good - hot and cold cereals, lots of fresh fruit, yogurts, muffins and pastries, bagels and english muffins, plus coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and orange juice. More than enough to load up with and not be hungry. The staff were friendly, checked us in several hours early and held our bags for us after check-out. There is a short, steep walk up to the hotel from the main street, so be prepared for it by taking less luggage and good shoes. The walk is worth it, for the view, and for the quiet you gain by being a block away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Be sure to get 3rd floor rooms on the ocean side - the other side looks out onto an empty lot. Bring...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TamSelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The Aurora Hotel is hands down the best stay in Catalina. Not only does it have an incredible rooftop view, every detail is thought of when it comes to amenities and the staff is the most charming and thoughtful I have ever encountered in Catalina. We booked this hotel after a stay at another hotel fell thru and it was the best possible thing that could have happened. The staff, Diana in particular, made us feel right at home from the start. Usually, our philosophy when traveling is that the hotel is not crucial in the course of the trip, because we will be busy exploring our destination. In this case, we couldn’t wait to come back to the room…and the roof…and the lobby (again, kudos to the staff who made us feel like we were old friends whenever we came back in)! It’s located on the Casino side of town, convenient enough so that we could easily walk downtown but removed enough from the main street so that it feels very private and cozy. They have a lovely continental breakfast which I could go on and on about, which can be taken back to any of their beautiful rooms and eaten while wearing a comfy hotel robe overlooking a gorgeous view from the balcony. Not bad. We have stayed in a number of hotels and rentals in Catalina and this tops them all. I rarely write reviews, but due to the fact that we have stayed twice at this location and had the same amazing experience each time, a positive review is very much deserved!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Great helpful staff, wonderful views, most comfortable bed I have ever slept in in a hotel! Rooms are a little small but plenty of room for two people. I would stay here agai

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewSinnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Very nice hotel. I will be returning next year. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizdowney1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed for one night in this modern and clean hotel. The room was quite small, the roof-top patio great with a nice view, the complementary breakfast was much better than expected. The only bad think about thisbplace was that the shower was COLD, which i guess is not an issue in the summer but now with a windy boat trip and cold evening we really needed a hot shower. Apart from that the place was great, so saving 2 cents or whatever on not having hot water in the shower felt a bitbstrange.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I decided to splurge on a 2 day/ 1 night trip to Catalina for our first wedding anniversary. I spent a great deal of time looking for a hotel that was really nice, but wouldn't break the bank. The Aurora Hotel offered us just that. We were spending a Monday night on the island in September. So we were able to get a really good deal on a nice room ($220 total for the top floor room 313).

The hotel is not much from the outside. In fact, we almost walked passed it. it is on a hill just past the main down town area. It is an easy walk from the boat dock as long as you don't have a lot of luggage to carry. The lobby was nice and beautifully decorated. They served breakfast down there. It was a a nice basic continental breakfast. Nothing overly fancy. they have a sundeck on the roof that was wonderful with great views. We were up there briefly after checking in, but decided that we would rather come back that night with our dessert and lounge while taking in the amazing views. it was a great idea except when we went up there that night, everything was wet. And there were old food plates that had been there all day without being cleaned up.

Our room was wonderful. We had room 313 which is the top floor on the street side overlooking the bay and Avalon. The view was spectacular! The room was small, but that was expected given the age and location of the building. The room is nicely laid out and makes use of every space to allow to maximum storage while not feeling cramped. The bed was super comfy, and there was enough room for a desk. The bathroom was tight, but again, they made the most of the space and did a nice job with it. The best part of the room was the balcony! We had a small porch off our room that overlooked the Avalon and the water that had a chair and small table. Since the sun deck didn't work, we pulled the desk chair out onto the porch and sat out there enjoying out cheesecake and hot chocolate. It was the perfect spot to relax and enjoy each other. In the morning, we sat on the porch eating breakfast and watching the humming birds zipping around. The street was not too noisy. In fact we slept with the sliding door open to allow the breeze in.

The staff was very friendly. They held our luggage for us before we checked in and after we checked out. They also recommend restaurants and other places to go.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Aurora Hotel. I agree with previous reviews that it has the nice upscale look and feel, but it does lack some of the nicer amenities that you would expect to find at a hotel that's $300-$400 a night. But for a 1 night deal, this was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aboyer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
0.1 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
639 reviews
0.4 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,118 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $228 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, embraces guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. Our junior suites feature in-room jetted tubs and for the ultimate in luxury, our Aurora Suite features a fireplace, ocean-view six-head shower and a private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island, CA - Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing