We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
296
240
62
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
296
240
62
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator grocery store catalina island continental breakfast family room first floor top floor would definitely stay here again air conditioning instant oatmeal nice balcony view room queen bed your luggage orange juice street noise great room
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 643 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hello,

My husband and I just returned from visiting your inn for 3 days and 3 nights. Wow! The inn was even lovelier in person. The rooms/inn looked just like what we observed online. Last time we visited a "resort" that had everything from a restaurant, pool & spa but the room was so primitive and BLAH! We appreciated everything your inn had to offer and next time we visit Catalina, your inn is our preferred choice. Your staff, especially the young guys (wish I would've noted their names--one assisted us with the temperature in our rooms and the other may have been a part of the room cleaning service) were very quick to help and gave us what we needed to have a restful and relaxing stay. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Keven & Michele Joslin

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleJfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thanks Keven and Michele for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn. Our website photos do show every room type and our reservationists can help you select the exact room that fits your expectations, needs and budget. We are also very proud of our young energetic staff ---- and we love being your "preferred choice." Come visit again soon. We'll have your room ready!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to Catalina in early March. Loved it very nice, staff is very helpful, well maintained.

The Inn is in great location, walk to the ferry. I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rosee1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review and for your stay at Catalina Island in. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I absolutely loved the hotel! Service was amazing and everyone was so polite. My fiance and I arrived on the catalina flyer around 10 am but our check in time wasn't until 2pm. We came to the hotel to leave our bags but they told us there was a bigger room available that they could give us. So we got upgraded to a bigger room without extra charge and we got to check in early! We will absolutely be coming back to this hotel on our next visit. I always appreciate hotels that are willing to go out of their way to accommodate guests, especially since most of their guests traveled a long way. Also loved the white shutters of the room and the overall ocean decor, which made our room feel very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadiangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thanks for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn. Our staff loves to help guests get an early check-in or room upgrade whenever possible. We guarantee a clean, comfortable room close to everything Avalon has to offer. Our hotel was completely remodeled in 2010 and our newest ground floor rooms opened in 2013. We are happy that you had such a great visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at the Catalina Island Inn for 2 nights in a non-view queen room.

We were disappointed in the room. It was incredibly small, which would not have been such a problem however the layout made it nearly impossible to get around the room. The shower/toilet were difficult to use because they were so close together. The sink is on the other side of the room from the restroom. You could not open the bathroom door and the window shutters at the same time. We both have bumped and bruised shins from banging into the bed frame. Also the bed was extremely small and uncomfortable, we kept feeling like we were going to slip off the side, I believe the frame was the wrong size for the mattress??

Also the breakfast was kind of a joke. Dixie cups of juice and coffee (which was pretty terrible), and an assortment of seemingly day old pastries, oatmeal packets and apples. Not even a decent fruit selection, plus there isn't a place to eat breakfast except in your room or on the balcony upstairs - which was being painted and was inaccessible for most of our stay.

All that being said, the hotel was very clean, well appointed, it is a great location, and the staff generally friendly, thus the 3 star rating. I would imagine the more expensive rooms are much nicer, but if you're looking for budget friendly accommodations, I don't think this is the spot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel_m25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to offer a variety of lodging options and amenities ranging from family accommodations to luxurious private patio suites and harbor view rooms with balconies. All of the room types (pictured in detail on the Inn's website) reflect what you will experience when you stay at the hotel. Our reservation staff is happy to assist you in selecting a room that best fits your needs, plans and budget. Operators can answer questions about the size, configuration and location of each room within the hotel. Did you speak with any of our staff members about your bed frame or other problems you encountered? We are unable to remedy problems if we aren't made aware of them. Our complimentary continental breakfast is fresh each day and it is a light meal including fresh baked Danish, coffee, tea, flavored instant oatmeal along with apples. It is meant as a quick snack as guests start their day. For heartier appetites we recommend several local restaurants nearby. We are sorry if your experience wasn't what you were expecting. Each guest at the Catalina Island Inn can be confident that they will have a clean comfortable room and our excellent staff standing by to assist them. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Short and sweet... Awesome place. Great rates, extremely well designed rooms, comfortable & quiet. The island itself is the perfect place for a romantic weekend. Overall, I definitely recommend Catalina Island Inn... hands down, best value on the island! Oh, and the cheese tortellini and cheesecake at the Portofino Italian Restaurant near by was really good. If you want Italian, try it out!

Room Tip: Was in room 101 by the front door. Cool patio and a great location. Was not noisy at all, even being near the front door. Great spot and definite recommendation.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thanks for your enthusiastic comments about Catalina Island Inn ---- and who doesn't love tortellini and cheesecake? Our hotel's location gives guests excellent dining options just steps away. Our staff can assist you with finding island attractions such as shops, tours and entertainment. Catalina is the Island of Romance. We are glad you had such a great visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews