We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalina Island Inn
Nearby Hotels
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Mac Rae(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mariquita Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Avalon Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Metropole(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$263
US$256
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$319/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Seacrest Inn(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$219
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
269
223
61
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
269
223
61
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorgrocery storecatalina islandcontinental breakfastfamily roomking roomfourth floorinstant oatmealwould definitely stay here againnice balconyfloor balconyorange juiceyour luggagestreet noisegreat roomwalking distance to everythingbottle of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 595 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2017

We presented out Trip Advisor and Booking.com information, but the hotel had never heard of our reservation. Luckily, on a crowded weekend, they had a tiny cubbyhole room available at half the price of what we had booked. It's a nice, clean but basic hotel.
Very minimal breakfast. Our room was quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Randall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy H, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Randall--
We apologize for any problems with your recent stay at Catalina Island Inn. We usually limit our Booking.com availability to Sunday-Thursday only, so it's no surprise that we had no record of your weekend reservation. Call us directly and we'll take good care of you. We have 25% off most weekends and 50% off all rooms and suites Sunday-Thursday now until March (excluding holidays). Guests can select the exact room they'd like (subject to availability). Plan ahead for the King Harbor View rooms with balconies, they sell out first. Or be spontaneous. Some guests are surprised to save up to $210 per night on a King Suite with a Fireplace and Private Patio. We hope you enjoyed the laid back island lifestyle and beautiful beaches. Summer weather lasts through Thanksgiving and beyond in Avalon. It's our pleasure to share paradise with visitors. We hope to host your again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

The Catalina Island Inn was the highlight of our trip. I made arrangements at the last minute due to a change in travel plans. Mark listened to my dilemma and offered room choices. He gave us the junior suite on the 3rd floor (queen bed, couches, extra tv, and amazing patio) for a wonderful price. The room was beautifully decorated and clean, the bed comfortable and fans made it cool all the time (didn't even need the air conditioning). The view from the room was great both ways...saw the harbor one direction and the mountains the other. I would highly recommend this hotel to all looking for good service at a fair price. The front desk staff answered all questions and were cheerful, professional and made us feel welcome. They answered our continual questions and gave us advice on what and where to go. I will definitely return to Catalina Island Inn. Great location and wonderful experience!

Room Tip: junior suite
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy H, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thanks Ellen & Jerry---
We're so delighted by your review of the Catalina Island Inn. We love helping guests make their vacation dreams come true. When guests call us we can give recommendations about room types, specials and packages. Our website also has great information about activities, getting to the island and restaurants. We offer great discounts and will even book your boat and taxi when you select one of our packages. Our location keeps guests close to dining, shopping, tours and attractions. The Queen mini-suite you described is a gem. Each of our 39 rooms is a little bit different and guests can choose their favorite room and return to it, time after time (but if possible, plan ahead --- Catalina is an amazing destination). We look forward to a return visit from you. We'll have your room ready.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017

We were please with the central location of this hotel. We chose it because of the low cost, the staff was friendly and the hotel very clean. Also we were delighted that on mentioning it was our Anniversary a bottle of champagne was sent to our room. Now that is classy. It is a just off the main Promenade and two doors up from Vons Supermarket which is open until midnight, we found this very handy. Our room had a comfortable King size bed, a huge shower in the bathroom, a refrigerator also a balcony, that did over look roof tops, but no matter we used it for morning breakfast. The continental breakfast is very simple and served from 8:00 AM on. This is locate in the office so there is no space to eat and drink your coffee/O.J so you do need to take it back to your room or elsewhere. The only customer sitting place is a nice common balcony on the second floor overlooking the road, this has several tables and seating but does not open until nine so as not to disturb those sleeping in the rooms by the balcony. If open early would be a great location to sit and eat breakfast. There is no elevator for those of you who would have trouble taking your suitcases up the stairs, however I am sure the staff would oblige if asked. We would stay here again when visiting Catalina.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sugarmillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy H, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Thank you for writing about your recent staying at Catalina Island Inn. You generously described the traveler's experience with comments about our central location, clean comfortable rooms and great service. We love helping guests celebrate a special occasion or create one. We are family owned and operated. Our staff cares about every guest. We hope you had the opportunity to visit the Botanical Gardens in Avalon Canyon. Volunteer naturalists give free guided tours through the amazing plants and trees and point out the 8 endemic species found nowhere else in the world. Catalina Island Inn currently has wonderful 50% off rates Sunday-Thursday and discount packages that include boat and taxi rides. Let us help you plan your next island adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017

I stayed 3 nights at the Catalina Island Inn , I was upgraded to a bigger room on the 3rd floor and they let me check in early. The 2nd floor balcony is nice , you can set outside and enjoy the view . I will be back again in the future

Room Tip: My room was on the 3rd floor nice and quiet
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12cgtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Thank you for your great review and photos of the Catalina Island Inn. We are always happy to hear that guests love the hotel and appreciate the services and facilities we offer. We hope you had an opportunity to explore the iconic Casino building near the hotel. It has an amazing movie theater with feature films and film festivals. The Casino's history and art deco style (from its opening in 1929) are highlighted in the lavish ballroom which visitors can enjoy on tours and through special events. Catalina Island Inn has 50% off all rooms and suites Sunday - Thursday thiis fall and weekend discounts starting October 27. We'll be delighted to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in room 441, and absolutely loved it! Top floor, no noise, great views of the harbor, corner room, were able to borrow beach towels, complimentary coffee and little breakfast and fruit! Only complaints would be walking up 4 stories of stairs to get to room and occasional mid day noise from the grocery store next door. All and all absolutely loved our stay and will be coming back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Thanks Megan--
We really appreciate your great review of the Catalina Island Inn. The climb to the 4th floor King Balcony Harbor view rooms isn't for everybody but we are always happy to assist with luggage to and from the room and we have a rest room on the ground floor guests can use rather than trekking all the way upstairs. We offer a "grab and go" continental breakfast with instant oatmeal, scones, mini muffins, fruit, juice and coffee. It's lovely to wander down to the beach or along the waterfront where there are plenty of places to enjoy the sunrise and peacefulness of early morning. We are always excited to welcome guests back to the hotel. We'll have your room ready.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews