We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cannot get better in Avalon on Catalina Island.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cannot get better in Avalon on Catalina Island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Clean, beautifully remodeled, mahogany paneling and natural woods. Great staff. Rooms are smaller, but that is normal for here. Reminded us of a cruise ship room, small and elegant.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mslaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    59
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
75
382
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at The Avalon in March. It was our first trip to Catalina and we fell in love with the hotel and the island. The staff and innkeepers were unbelievably helpful and friendly. I could tell when I made the reservation that we were in for a treat. The rooms aren't fancy, but clean and comfortable. The hotel has a nostalgia about it. The breakfast is great outside on the patio and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was great!! I got to feed the koi in the pond. We loved it so much we are going back in September!!!

Room Tip: The rooms have different bed setups, so check with the staff when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
335 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent two nights here doing a 30th anniversary celebration. We booked a package deal that included the Catalina Express tickets, a garden room (203? 205?) and the couples massage for $650 total. Laurie was the main innkeeper and very helpful with questions we had. Breakfast in the courtyard was fun by the fire pit. Boiled eggs was a nice treat beyond the basic self-serve items. We made a couple trips to the rooftop terrace. Room was good size but I missed having an easy chair; that's the only negative comment about the quaint hotel. They have a unique tangerine line of lotions and soaps that smell great. The couples massage at the Aurora Hotel (by Lavina and Sarah) was fantastic, especially because we'd done the Zipline earlier that day. Location was fine, easy to get to everything in Avalon. We rented electric scooters from the Sea-doo shop, $15 per hours and they were great. Everyone with a bike had to push up hills, but not us. Plan on two hours and just explore up in the hills. We had a fabulous three days/two nights on Catalina Island. The quiet hotel helped make it peaceful.

Room Tip: The streetside rooms with balconies might get some noise. Noisy golf carts are everywhere. From our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFGainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The reviews that we read showed the Avalon Hotel as a wonderful romantic getaway, and we are thrilled to report that the reviews are true! We came to celebrate my wife's birthday and were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room. They have a very hospitable staff who always greeted as we came and went during the weekend. They served wine and cheese on Friday afternoon in their secluded courtyard. We got to feed the giant koi in the pond and pet them! Mr. Limpet was the best! It cooled off so they lit the fire pit to warm us up. All they guests were congenial and we spent the afternoon enjoying the conversation with them and our hosts. Did I mention that the wine was delicious? We also enjoyed the breathtaking view from their rooftop sun deck both in the morning and after dark - the boat lights shimmer on the the water of the bay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: I made my reservations early and just asked Kate her opinion of the best room available in our price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talkslikeaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We chose The Avalon Hotel based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. I think someone said that you don't have to have a room with a view because of the rooftop deck view. Believe them. We took a view room, and while lovely, the deck was where we were when we weren't sightseeing or in our room. The room was beautifully appointed (elegant, stylish bathroom), although too narrow to have a seating area, and again, you could sit on the rooftop deck or in the garden. We weren't concerned though, because we were out and about so much. This is an expensive hotel, but worth it. We were treated well, and looked at the experience as a treat, which it was. Many reviews mentioned the lack of an elevator. From what we could tell, there may only be one or two elevators in all of Avalon. We thought going up the main stairway made the stay feel more grand, like you were in a gracious home. Our room was made up immediately and immaculately each day, the hosts were friendly and talkative, Friday night there was a wine tasting, and it's location was so convenient. Everything we did was in walking distance. We will return to The Avalon Hotel if we go back to Catalina. (We stayed in Room 201.)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foodie370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I went to Catalina for his pre-birthday celebration. I was able to organize a very nice weekend for him via a few phones calls with Laurie and Kate. The hotel is lovely-breakfast and wine/cheese are served in their garden by the koi pond (feeding the koi is cool experience). My husband didn't want to leave! Unfortunately, his sunglasses decided to stay in the hotel room without us but were discovered by the staff and kindly sent back to Texas.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnabboDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Looking at the negative reviews of the hotel I can say yes, the rooms are small. But isn't the point of going to Catalina to go outside! The hotel is perfect, its in a great location a five minute walk from anything and maybe yes the room is on the small side but the bed is the most comfortable thing I have ever slept on. Also the rooftop deck makes this hotel the hidden gem it is. It has one of the best views of the city you can find.

What makes this hotel really worth the #1 ranking is the staff that runs it. They are kind and always willing to help, extremely nice and friendly. We have stayed at the Avalon twice now and both times the staff has been wonderful to us, so we will keep coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Owen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing