We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but mid range hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel in March 2012. Our room was average but had a lovely view. The service was also average and the breakfast was a very basic buffet comprising of make your own waffles, yoghurt and bright coloured pastries and cereal.

Room Tip: Ask for a front line view over the beach rather than the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

We loved the Lighthouse Suites! We come to SLO & Avila every year, sometimes 2x a year and this was the 1st time we stayed there. We got a KIng suite that had an ocean facing balcony and loved it. Our only comment was, because of the way Avila is designed the hotel location is right on the street, so the car noise and the street lights at night were a bit annoying at times. But the rooms was very spacious and the bed very comfy with cute nautical decor. There is a a pool & hottub and contiental breakfast is included, however we preferred to walk down the street & get a hot breakfast in the patio at one of the local restaurants. We will stay here again, but may opt for a room that faces the courtyard vs the water & street

Room Tip: For the money, if you are looking for a balcony room, maybe get one that faces the courtyard, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I decided to do a last minute trip and found the Avila Lighthouse Suites online. When we called to make the reservation, we spoke to a very nice front desk employee that was very helpful in booking a room. When we got there we were blown away by the service, accommodations, and beautiful property. We loved being able to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the wonderful view. Also, this hotel is a non smoking, no pet property which is a plus! We highly recommend this hotel as a great getaway!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat_M33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Do not use the Spa service. We ordered a couples spay. The champiagn tasted like soap from the glasses not rinsed. There was no steam room or chocolate (as advertised), we soaked our feet in the lobby in salad bowls, the male masseuse spent more time banging the oil bottle to get the last drop out than he did massaging. The female therapist was fantastic and very professional. The hotel however, had a great and friendly staff and great rooms

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Location, Location, Location...say no more:) Avila Beach is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful central coast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay. We went for a couple nights to just get away with friends, and it was perfect. Just a few hour drive from the Bay Area, and plenty of things to do, great breakfast and comfortable, clean rooms.

We will definitely be returning for another winter getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We live on 30 minutes from Avila, but every now and again, we want to get away with the kids for more than a couple hours at the beach! We always go to Avila Lighthouse Suites. The rooms could use a refresher...some wear and tear beginning to show. Staff is always helpful though. If there is a problem, they do work to fix it. My kids LOVE the breakfast. Nice selection. We always pack up some food/snacks/drinks and take with us because the refriferator holds a moderate amount.

Room Tip: There are winter specials you might want to consider because we can hit 72 degrees, even in Dec. and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alykay19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1.6 km away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
0.4 km away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
557 reviews
0.2 km away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,504 reviews
4.7 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
868 reviews
8.6 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Price Range: $219 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing