We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location across the road from the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We enjoyed our beautiful view of the beach and the pier. It was an easy walk across the road to the beach. We loved the deck chairs on the balcony and the decor of the room. The foyer was beautiful. The service was great.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room on the 2nd level. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BestFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

At first glance this room was great. Nice decor and view was amazing. Then I saw an ant and another and so on. Went to dinner came back and even more ants on walls. Final straw was ants in the bath tub. I was not going to give my 2 year old a bath there. Requested to move. We were accommodated and moved to 2nd floor. Now I'm, inspecting everything. Only 1 or 2 ants. Went about our birthday vacation. This room had considerably less ants (but still), but the cookie cake we received at check in was nice, we stored it in the microwave - because where else can we put it. And more ants. No cookie cake for us. The staff refunded the cost of the cookie cake. Overall, the ants and "it's that time of year" of staff was disturbing and dampened the celebrations. For the price, I expected way more than just a view.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello and thank you for sharing your experience! I am so glad we were able to speak about your concerns. As I explained, we have seen a higher number of ants this year due to the current weather. I have called our pest control company and requested that they come out again to take care of the issue. We would very much love to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact me directly and I would love to take care of your reservation personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We took our annual girls trip to the beach with 3 generations (age 8-70). The Avila Lighthouse Suites were perfect for us. A convenient walk to the beach and shops. The property was well cared for and the rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasinBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are so happy to hear that everything was to your liking during your stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Overall a very clean, well equipped and friendly place. Even the gardeners and maids are very friendly. A definite yes for those wanting to try a new place to get away and relax for a few days. We have been coming to the Avila Beach Lighthouse for several years as a couple. We also bring our two granddaughters here during the spring break and have been doing so for nearly 10 years. They love it and look forward to the visit each year.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidandmargew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so happy to hear that you have been our loyal guests for very many years and have made it a family tradition to visit our property! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

As always this Hotel impresses. Location, staff, weather...All is Perfect!
The weather in Avila is always amazing and you can literally walk to every restaurant, winery, art gallery and more. Very Family friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastLover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience! We want to thank you for choosing the Avila Lighthouse Suites as your home away from home! Avila is a great little beach and surf town full of small businesses and wine tasting rooms as well as plenty of things for kids to enjoy as well. We are so glad that you love the area! We hope to welcome you back again in the future! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We reserved an ocean front room; which ended up being right next to the street across from the beach. The view was great... the street noise was greater than anticipated. One contributing factor to the noise disturbance is the bedroom is on the ocean view side and the "sitting" area is on the back. The view from the deck was nice.

One other thing of note is the ocean front buildings are "walk up" to get to the second floor; we packed light, so it wasn't a big deal for us.... I wouldn't recommend this option for anyone not able to carry their luggage up a flight of stairs.

We had a king suite, the bed was very comfortable (nice and firm). The room was reasonably clean and the bathroom ample. The tub shower combination was a big step to get into the tub/shower area; but manageable for mobile people.

Breakfast is continental and included in the price of the room.

Parking is under the hotel and includes AMPLE sized parking spots.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ocean front rooms; go for the pool view second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for sharing such a thoughtful review of our property! We are so happy that you enjoyed our stay and that you found everything to be to your liking. Avila is still a little busy since some schools have not gone back yet, but in a few weeks it should be very peaceful! Thank you again for sharing your comments with other potential guests! We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

The place could have been a 5/5, but due to the room being overrun by ants, I can only rate it a 2. I was on a trip with my wife, 3 & 1 year old child. The room initially was beautiful and very accommodating. Then, within an hour we noticed that the bathroom and a table on the bedroom was covered with ants. We went to the front desk and all they did was have a staff member spray the room down with Raid. They didn't offer to change our rooms or take a less toxic route due to my kids. We ended up spending most of the day outside and only really slept in the room. Even then, my skin would crawl "feeling" the ants on me, as they had been before. On the second day, we realized that all the custodians carried the can of Raid room to room. Overall, beautiful room and area, awesome custodial staff, horrible response from the front desk and an obvious pest problem.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alchyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello and thank you for sharing your experience. Due to the current weather, we are experiencing a higher number of ants than normal. We do have a pest control company that comes out as needed to address any ant issues. We have alerted them to the issue and it has been addressed. I am very sorry that our team did not offer you any other options to move your family or use a different method to solve the ant issue. I have spoken with all of our departments about this so that you and all future guests will not run into the same problem. We would very much like to have the opportunity to welcome you back and leave you with a lasting good impression of our beautiful property. Please feel free to contact me directly, as I would love to personally take care of all your reservation details.
Ariel M
Guest Services Manager
Avila Lighthouse Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.4 km away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
560 reviews
1.6 km away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
688 reviews
0.2 km away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
873 reviews
8.6 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,101 reviews
7.5 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Price Range: $221 - $697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, Tesla Electric Car charging stations, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing