We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveller rating
607
194
76
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
194
76
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsping pongocean frontbreakfast roompool areayogurtking suiteperfect locationshops and restaurantshard boiled eggspool and hot tubfamily vacationbreakfast was includedbeautiful propertynice poolsofa bedsecond flooroff season
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 918 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017

At first glance this room was great. Nice decor and view was amazing. Then I saw an ant and another and so on. Went to dinner came back and even more ants on walls. Final straw was ants in the bath tub. I was not going to give my 2 year old a bath there. Requested to move. We were accommodated and moved to 2nd floor. Now I'm, inspecting everything. Only 1 or 2 ants. Went about our birthday vacation. This room had considerably less ants (but still), but the cookie cake we received at check in was nice, we stored it in the microwave - because where else can we put it. And more ants. No cookie cake for us. The staff refunded the cost of the cookie cake. Overall, the ants and "it's that time of year" of staff was disturbing and dampened the celebrations. For the price, I expected way more than just a view.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Hello and thank you for sharing your experience! I am so glad we were able to speak about your concerns. As I explained, we have seen a higher number of ants this year due to the current weather. I have called our pest control company and requested that they come out again to take care of the issue. We would very much love to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact me directly and I would love to take care of your reservation personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017

We took our annual girls trip to the beach with 3 generations (age 8-70). The Avila Lighthouse Suites were perfect for us. A convenient walk to the beach and shops. The property was well cared for and the rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasinBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are so happy to hear that everything was to your liking during your stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Overall a very clean, well equipped and friendly place. Even the gardeners and maids are very friendly. A definite yes for those wanting to try a new place to get away and relax for a few days. We have been coming to the Avila Beach Lighthouse for several years as a couple. We also bring our two granddaughters here during the spring break and have been doing so for nearly 10 years. They love it and look forward to the visit each year.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidandmargew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so happy to hear that you have been our loyal guests for very many years and have made it a family tradition to visit our property! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

As always this Hotel impresses. Location, staff, weather...All is Perfect!
The weather in Avila is always amazing and you can literally walk to every restaurant, winery, art gallery and more. Very Family friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastLover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience! We want to thank you for choosing the Avila Lighthouse Suites as your home away from home! Avila is a great little beach and surf town full of small businesses and wine tasting rooms as well as plenty of things for kids to enjoy as well. We are so glad that you love the area! We hope to welcome you back again in the future! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We reserved an ocean front room; which ended up being right next to the street across from the beach. The view was great... the street noise was greater than anticipated. One contributing factor to the noise disturbance is the bedroom is on the ocean view side and the "sitting" area is on the back. The view from the deck was nice.

One other thing of note is the ocean front buildings are "walk up" to get to the second floor; we packed light, so it wasn't a big deal for us.... I wouldn't recommend this option for anyone not able to carry their luggage up a flight of stairs.

We had a king suite, the bed was very comfortable (nice and firm). The room was reasonably clean and the bathroom ample. The tub shower combination was a big step to get into the tub/shower area; but manageable for mobile people.

Breakfast is continental and included in the price of the room.

Parking is under the hotel and includes AMPLE sized parking spots.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ocean front rooms; go for the pool view second floor rooms
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for sharing such a thoughtful review of our property! We are so happy that you enjoyed our stay and that you found everything to be to your liking. Avila is still a little busy since some schools have not gone back yet, but in a few weeks it should be very peaceful! Thank you again for sharing your comments with other potential guests! We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews