We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”
Review of Grizzly Inn

Grizzly Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alamosa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grizzly Inn
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Alamosa
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Needed a room close to the hospital to be with my brother, this hotel is close but it is not worth staying. The room was dirty, no coffee pot, no trash can and no wash clothes and NO Shower curtain. Compensation offered was $5.00, what a slap in the face.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2015

Sorry for the dramatic headline, but I can't overstate how bad this place is. The Grizzly Inn is very cheap, but don't let that sway you. The staff is terribly unfriendly and unhelpful. I was greeted by a "Hello....what?" When I walked in, should have been my first clue. The room stunk of stale cigarettes, the room was dirty, the door to the room and the bathroom didn't open or close properly, and needed a ram from the shoulder to the get them open. The place is very sketchy and does not feel safe at all. The hours state the office opens at 6am, but at 7:15 the doors were still locked and I was unable to turn in my key to check out. It was by far the worst experience I've ever had at a hotel/motel. If you're at all thinking about this hotel, please just don't do it to yourself. The cheap price is not at all worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

our room was nice and big with a frig and microwave but that was the best part of the experience there...the floor to the bathroom was wet...the shower dripped all night and could not be turned completely off...the carpet was dirty...
the staff was nice but the breakfast was just cereal and the waffle machine...we chose to eat else where...

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cjbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

I had booked a room online here during a busy weekend. We had never stayed there, thought we would give it a try because the rates were low. We arrived in town early, stopped by to see if we could check in early. The front desk area was so dirty and it was the area where the continental breakfast was going to be held. The smells and dirt turned me off right away. I went outside, spoke w/my husband on what to do. I went back in to cancel the reservation, but couldn't raise the clerk for a second time. So, I went back out to the car and cancelled the reservation on time! Wow, I can only think what the rooms looked like if the front desk was terrible!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

This motel was one of those seedy nightmare motels you see depicted on travel commercials. The lady at the front desk seemed really put out that we were even checking in. The "breakfast area" consisted of two tables, a waffle iron, and two dispensaries of cereal.

When we finally got our key, we went to our room. The building where the rooms are looked like a dorm complex. Judging by the office/front desk area, I wanted to check out the room before bringing my belongings up the stairs. I was right to do so. Walking in the door, the room smelled like it was soaked in human urine. I was afraid to touch the beds and wouldn't let my kids touch anything in the room. The microwave and mini-fridge looked like they were purchased fourth-hand from the Adams State University dorms. The room said non-smoking, but it sure didn't seem like it from the burn marks in the carpet and the table in the room.

The room next door had seven men staying in it. The "staff" was hanging around the bottom floor, just talking. We went back to the front desk and complained about the smell and asked for a different room. They claimed they were completely booked and ended up cancelling the reservation. The "manager" stated that he had been working on the carpet in that room. It still needs work!

The other hotels nearby looked just as bad. Stay on the east side of the Rio Grande river in Alamosa!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. Find a hotel on the east side of the Rio Grande River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank COTraveler3310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

I have stayed at this hotel while I worked for another company (they were paying the bill), now I own my own company and am looking for a hotel to stay at once a month when I go to Alamosa. It had been 7 years since I stayed there, they may have repainted but it is still the same sloppy service, same run down place. When I arrived I was greeted rudely, the first room they gave me was occupied, which showed me they have a lack of organization. The second room was not cleaned, no towel in the bathroom, bathroom was dirty, I called the front desk they did not answer the phone, I left a message, 30 minutes later I went down to the front desk and had to look for an employee to get towel. When I finally received the towels there was no apology. I will never stat here again, I slept in my cloths, I did not sleep well, they only reason I did not check out and look for another hotel was that it was so late when I arrived.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

i do not know why there are so many negative reviews.Great location,clean room& bathroom,front desk person is not annoying,not asking million of questions,had a good night sleep,and it cost me less than 60$ per night,if you picky&spoilt person go somewhere else

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Юля К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alamosa hotels
2.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 14 in Alamosa
595 reviews
2.2 km away
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
0.1 km away
Best Western Alamosa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa
2.8 km away
Valley Motel
Valley Motel
#9 of 14 in Alamosa
149 reviews
1 km away
The Sunset Inn
The Sunset Inn
#10 of 14 in Alamosa
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Inn

Address: 1919 Main St, Alamosa, CO 81101-2321
Region: United States > Colorado > Alamosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Alamosa
Price Range: $58 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grizzly Inn of Alamosa is Now under New Management as of 11/01/11! We have replaced furniture and cleaned carpets in all 25 rooms. Please disregard all review prior to November 1, 2011 as all the past reviews are from the previous management. We look forward to making your stay with us an enjoyable relaxing time away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grizzly Hotel Alamosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing