We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the middle of Aspen's "fun" district!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Residence Hotel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The Residence Hotel is located in the absolute best spot in Aspen, sandwiched between the shopping and pubs & restaurants. Each of the rooms is unique with a special theme, with ours being French. The windows open to the sights and sounds of Aspen, with a cool breeze negating the need for AC. I'm assuming all of the other rooms have kitchens as well, being fully stocked with all the utensils and dishes you need. The proprietor Terry is a lovely lady that cares deeply about her hotel. If you like rustic with class, this is the place for you. The only reason I did not rate it as a five is because you have to park about five blocks away once you've offloaded your luggage. Also, please note that there is not an elevator and all rooms are on the second floor.

Room Tip: Ask Terry for the type of room you desire.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael1955-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2016

I wish I had an elevator and a parking lot. Unfortunately, the building was built in 1886 before people really had cars. Parking overnight downtown where we are located is not permitted. There for, I buy special locals parking passes that I give to my guests. Parking begins 2 blocks aay and goes all around the neighborhood. The landlord of the building has not chosen to install an elevator, so there is nothing I can do about that.
Wish he would. please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for The Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2016

We have just come back to Australia after spending a wonderful week in Aspen in summer.We stayed in the Residence Hotel and we were delighted with the quality of the hotel and the size of the two bedroom apartment which also had a large kitchen and lounge room.The hotel is very central to all the restaurants and shopping.We would definetely come back to stay in this hotel when we are next in Aspen.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markcZ2009PV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2016

I remember them well. They are a lovely couple from Australia that visits ASpen often.
They are beekeepers back home. Hopefully they will come back next year for skiing and bring all their children. I so enjoyed visiting with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We stayed at the Residence Hotel in June and it was a wonderful experience. We had a two bedroom suite and the décor was amazing. It is located in the center of town, close to restaurants and shopping (Prada was just across the street). Terry is a fabulous host and made us feel so welcome we wished we could have stayed a lot longer.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank terryt377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2016

Hopefully next time you will have more time to spend with us. I love having guests that love the location....as we are truly the only real downtown hotel. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

The Residence Hotel is easily the best place to stay when visiting Aspen. The hotel is located in the center of town, so it is just steps away from the gondola, restaurants, Belly Up, and night life. The rooms always exceed expectations and Terry (the owner) is truly a wonderful person. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure guests are comfortable and well taken care of.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2016

Alexander,
You are always welcome, and I hope you return soon.
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at the Residence Hotel! The rooms are beautifully decorated, unique and clean. The location is ideal in downtown Aspen; next door to great restaurants and shopping (right above rag & bone shop). Terry, Charlie and team are lovely. Our French studio was peaceful and great for relaxing at the end of the day. This hotel is charming and extraordinary (love the Aveda products, humidifier, etc). Can't wait to stay again.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank DevandErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2016

Loved having you as well. It makes it special for us when the guests are so aware and appreciative.
Come back soon,
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

If I could stay here for another six months I'd be in heaven. Everything that Terry and her team (although I'd call them extended family) do will make your stay so special, personalized and genuine. Terry know exactly what's going on in Aspen and where the las best secret specials are. The rooms are to die for. Such opulence and comfort. I felt like a queen for a week in the English Victorian suite. Can't wait to return this summer for some hiking. Much love to the best hostess.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2016

Susan is one of our favorite guests. We so look forward to her visit every year. Hopefully she will again be with us in January.
XOXO
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary and were delighted! Terry and her staff were warm and helpful from our first contact throughout the trip. The hotel is a true hidden gem. The French Studio was a perfect slice of Paris, where we were married. The lobby is plush, bright, inviting, "richly appointed" as they say. Terry herself was a great resource, open and honest about Aspen restaurants and attractions and was truly interested in our feedback as well. Our studio was charming, surprisingly large, and reminiscent of so many touches of Paris. I've been summering in Aspen and skiing there for almost 40 years and couldn't believe how fresh and rich her accommodations made Aspen feel to us. We will absolutely make every effort to stay with her every time we visit going forward!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BHCounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residenceaspen, Guest Relations Manager at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2015

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you found the French studio reminiscent of beautiful Paris, especially since that was where you were married! It means a great deal to us that you notice and appreciate the detail and the care we put into our accommodations. We do hope you return to stay with us.
Joyeux Noel,
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 km away
The Limelight Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#11 of 36 in Aspen
504 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Hyatt Grand Aspen
#8 of 36 in Aspen
228 reviews
0.3 km away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 km away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Address: 305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#10 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: $276 - $1,566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Residence Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the base of Ajax mountain in Aspen, one of America's finest ski resorts; and conveniently positioned to overlook the town's storied village, The Residence Hotel serves as a warm sanctuary for guests with distinguished tastes. Here, your stay is as much about comfort and relaxation, as it a global adventure through history. This small and charming Boutique Hotel contains seven suites and apartments, each one individually decorated in European flavor. The high ceilings offer the spaciousness rarely found in a ski resort. The bedrooms are furnished with Ralph Lauren linens and down-filled duvets. Original antique furnishings and accent pieces adorn each room, while walls are covered with museum quality artwork and designer fabrics. Most suites have wood-burning fireplaces. Crystal chandeliers, Persian rugs, marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and large overstuffed sofas and chairs give each room the comforts of a luxurious home. With two decades of loyal and distinguished guests that span from entertainers and athletes to artists and politicians, somehow the hotel still maintains a subtle mystique as the city's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing