We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Residence Hotel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Reviewed 15 February 2017

There are no words to really grasp the impact of this place, 6-8 individual apartment like rooms. several with two bedrooms and full kitchens. the antiques in the lobby and fresh flowers are such a joy, great owner and very down to earth. This is where foreign Princes, famous athletes, and movie stars stay. Not kidding. This will be the stay of a lifetime. I have stayed in 4 of these guest quarters, and they are all different. One year I slept looking up at Aspen Mountain while the skiers were doing the torch run. So cool. You will be across from Taka Sushi and will love being downtown. Walk to everything. Remember not to park on the street at night or expect a tow. (cost me $150.) Parking is available within a couple of blocks for overnight. one of the rooms I stayed in had a great bath with jets, but no real hot tub. In answer to the questionnaire. It has a large public area as you come in and we had over 20 people there with no problem. If you rent the whole place it is great to walk among the rooms and visit and mingle. Super party digs. That will cost, but you will never forget it. if you have a small group, go for the full kitchen and extra bedrooms. I went solo one year and had a great studio with a large foyer. When I had guests we could have a wine and visit and the foyer was like a small living room, and so well decorated, I loved it. Plenty of antiques around too. Anyway, it was probably my favorite. Ask for a view of Main street, or Aspen Mountain. Beds are great, this is 5+ stars.

Room Tip: This is 5 star, all the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for The Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2017

Owner and management extremely nice and helpful. Beautiful, cozy room with working fireplace (we stayed in room #2.) Close proximity to all good restaurants. Walking distance to lifts for Aspen mountain, and extremely close / around the corner from bus station at Rubey Park that takes you to all the other mountains - Buttermilk, Snowmass, Highlands.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The Residence Hotel is a rare find. Never have I come across a boutique hotel that is so luxuriously decorated, spacious, pet friendly, and in the center of town.

I stayed at The Residence Hotel with my family and our two dogs for four nights this autumn and it was a truly enjoyable stay. Terry is a very gracious host, accommodated our late arrival check-in, gave us a tour around her hotel, and was a great resource for excellent coffeeshops and restaurant recommendations. There was even a time when our dogs barked and we weren't with them and she sweetly tried to settle them down.

Coming back to our suite, the Ralph Lauren, felt like coming home. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking, the living room was great for reading or napping, and the dining table was perfect for my family of four. The master bedroom was luxurious to say the least. The bathroom was very large, beautiful, and great for a hot bath. There was plenty of closet space to hang all of our clothes and unpack. The second bedroom was not as spacious as the master, but had ample room. The second bedroom did not have a en-suite bath, but the bathroom was conveniently located across from the bedroom door.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay here. We would not hesitate to call Terry again about booking our next stay in Aspen at The Residence Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I felt I was in a luxury home.... the lobby was so inviting with antique furnishings & a piano. Owner, Terry, was very accommodating & very personable. Each room was a work of art as it was furnished. My daughter had the Bridal suite & it was amazing, big, & homey. Loved my stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 464marcia218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2016

We love having our wedding parties stay with us. It is great fun for us too to be involved with their memorable time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

I recently spent three days at The Residence Hotel in Aspen Colorado. Terry Butler, who could be described as a Grand Dame of Aspen, has created a haven that is both opulent elegance and homely charm. Without a doubt one of the truly excellent hotel experiences I have ever had.

Room Tip: The Ralph Lauren Suite is superb
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MichaelJG90277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2016

Loved having them. Hope they will come back and stay with me when they ski this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The Residence Hotel is located in the absolute best spot in Aspen, sandwiched between the shopping and pubs & restaurants. Each of the rooms is unique with a special theme, with ours being French. The windows open to the sights and sounds of Aspen, with a cool breeze negating the need for AC. I'm assuming all of the other rooms have kitchens as well, being fully stocked with all the utensils and dishes you need. The proprietor Terry is a lovely lady that cares deeply about her hotel. If you like rustic with class, this is the place for you. The only reason I did not rate it as a five is because you have to park about five blocks away once you've offloaded your luggage. Also, please note that there is not an elevator and all rooms are on the second floor.

Room Tip: Ask Terry for the type of room you desire.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael1955-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2016

I wish I had an elevator and a parking lot. Unfortunately, the building was built in 1886 before people really had cars. Parking overnight downtown where we are located is not permitted. There for, I buy special locals parking passes that I give to my guests. Parking begins 2 blocks aay and goes all around the neighborhood. The landlord of the building has not chosen to install an elevator, so there is nothing I can do about that.
Wish he would. please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We have just come back to Australia after spending a wonderful week in Aspen in summer.We stayed in the Residence Hotel and we were delighted with the quality of the hotel and the size of the two bedroom apartment which also had a large kitchen and lounge room.The hotel is very central to all the restaurants and shopping.We would definetely come back to stay in this hotel when we are next in Aspen.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markcZ2009PV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2016

I remember them well. They are a lovely couple from Australia that visits ASpen often.
They are beekeepers back home. Hopefully they will come back next year for skiing and bring all their children. I so enjoyed visiting with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 km away
The Limelight Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
504 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hyatt Grand Aspen
Hyatt Grand Aspen
#8 of 36 in Aspen
228 reviews
0.3 km away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 km away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Address: 305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#10 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: $276 - $1,566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Residence Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the base of Ajax mountain in Aspen, one of America's finest ski resorts; and conveniently positioned to overlook the town's storied village, The Residence Hotel serves as a warm sanctuary for guests with distinguished tastes. Here, your stay is as much about comfort and relaxation, as it a global adventure through history. This small and charming Boutique Hotel contains seven suites and apartments, each one individually decorated in European flavor. The high ceilings offer the spaciousness rarely found in a ski resort. The bedrooms are furnished with Ralph Lauren linens and down-filled duvets. Original antique furnishings and accent pieces adorn each room, while walls are covered with museum quality artwork and designer fabrics. Most suites have wood-burning fireplaces. Crystal chandeliers, Persian rugs, marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and large overstuffed sofas and chairs give each room the comforts of a luxurious home. With two decades of loyal and distinguished guests that span from entertainers and athletes to artists and politicians, somehow the hotel still maintains a subtle mystique as the city's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing