We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pushing our limits”

Conundrum Hot Springs
Ranked #33 of 72 things to do in Aspen
Attraction details
Reviewed September 17, 2016

Fantastic but grueling two-day hike to Conundrum Hot Springs with my wife and a few other middle-aged couples. The hike proved difficult for our aging group as we took nine hours to reach the hot springs. The views along the way were incredible. After an early morning dip in the hot springs, we began our decent. We completed our hike six hours later.

Date of experience: September 2016
4  Thank mater1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"backpacking trip"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"trail head"
in 3 reviews
"nude"
in 3 reviews
"filter"
in 2 reviews
"14ers"
in 2 reviews
"dusk"
in 2 reviews
"sites"
in 5 reviews
"meadows"
in 3 reviews
"trailhead"
in 4 reviews
"gear"
in 3 reviews
"wildflowers"
in 4 reviews
"bear"
in 2 reviews
"miles"
in 7 reviews
"hike"
in 12 reviews
"bridge"
in 2 reviews
"stream"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2016

This gorgeous hike is popular from the Aspen side - not so much from the Crested Butte side because it is a longer hike over a 13,000 foot pass from CB. Not sure either canyon approach can claim more beauty than the other. Just incredible views everywhere. Since there are TA questions about this - both approaches are seriously strenuous hikes. This is not for kids. Nine hours of uphill walking! You need to be in good physical condition. You also need to be aware of separating from your hiking party and have a plan for it. People lose each other for lack of awareness and a plan. Our Cobra wireless radios did not work at all, so beware this plan may not work out for you! Some of the CB approach is sketchy near Triangle Pass. So much that less mature young adults are reluctant to move out of the trail to let others pass through. There are several creek crossings, most of which are already traversed by a log bridge, some by stones, some by loose trees, or a combination, others - not at all and you may get wet, so plan for it. There are insufficient campsites at the springs, so plan to arrive early if camping there. Early afternoon if possible. Sites 14-16 are highest on the mountain, so try those first if coming from CB. Don't pack much water for your hike. There is plenty of fresh mountain stream water to drink if you have a way to purify it. Campsites are monitored by rangers - you will be fined for prohibited campfires or camping outside a designated site. However, lower on the mountain (there is a sign as you hike uphill from Aspen) you can camp anywhere and have your own fire. If coming from CB I would recommend choosing to camp on the CB side of the pass and hike to the springs the following day. Otherwise plan to leave the CB trailhead at dawn and hope you don't get slowed down by altitude sickness on the way to the pass. If coming from Aspen, you will have plenty of company, so again earlier is better, plus you can choose to stop at a lower elevation to camp and have a campfire and less company. Dogs are not allowed according to signage. If you didn't know this and brought your dog, you will probably be ticketed. Check weather reports for chances of rain and bring that rain cover if there is a chance! Bring or find a walking stick for wobbly creek crossings. Leave one at either end of a crossing for the next soul that needs the assistance.

Date of experience: September 2016
6  Thank roadtrip78726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Although we did not make it all the way to the springs, this is one of Aspen's most beautiful hiking trails. It takes about one hour to walk to the "Bridge" and about 45 minutes to walk back - this summer it was a little "buggy", so take repellent and look out for the Moose.

Date of experience: July 2016
4  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We took the longer route to the springs from the Crested Butte side of the pass about 14 miles from Gothic to the Springs. This side can be difficult in spots with loose rock, steep climbs and a few snow crossings. The views on both sides of the mountain at Triangle Pass are spectacular. Depending on the time of year (we were here in mid-July), the wildflowers on the east side of the pass are amazing. After this long day hiking you will be ready for a soak in the hot springs. Be prepared to share the campground and the springs with others. The night we were there was quite the party. A few people brought magnums of champagne to share in the springs and there were many other party favors making the rounds that night. As you may have heard before there is often unclothed people in the springs. The night we were there was no exception. Get there early to try and get one of the camp sites near the springs. There are only 16 campsites and several are fairly far from the springs. Bring plenty of water and other adult beverages to share with your fellow hikers.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank thefers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2016

Conundrum Hot Springs is definitely at least a two day trip. It is a long hike from the Conundrum trail head through fairly easy terrain following the creek to the springs. If you do this during the winter or spring, be prepared to have snow shoes and snow gear. There can still be deep drifts through early and mid spring. During the summer months the trail is a long easy walk. There are a few campsites before and after the springs. They are basic and there are no facilities there. The springs itself is beautiful natural rock pools. There were not many people there and we went nude the entire time camping and at the springs along with everyone else. There is nothing like soaking nude after a long hike taking in the beautiful views at the springs. The campsites past the springs are a bit closer to the springs than the ones before. We spoke to a few people using the springs as a base to summit the near by 14ers. Though that approach is typically not the recommended way to those peaks.

Date of experience: June 2015
3  Thank LizandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conundrum Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Conundrum Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing