We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coombs House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Gibson Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
US$126
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Inn(Apalachicola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,225)
Filter reviews
1,225 results
Traveller rating
726
282
114
65
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
282
114
65
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesquichebreakfast was deliciousmain buildingwine and cheeseveranda suitesold mansionbed and breakfastb bsin towna wonderful stayforgotten coastgeorge islandfrench toastoystersyogurtsmall town
Filter
Updating list...
747 - 752 of 1,225 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Flew from Dallas last week to Apalachicola and stayed here for 5 days which is a long time for me in any one place. I was very impressed with the degree of work put not only into the Xmas decorations, but the level of effort made to make visitors feel at home. A great deal of work has been put into making this historic residence shine and reflect the history of the Forgotten Coast.
The staff was extremely helpful in pointing out restaurants to eat at, sites to see etc. Laina was very courteous in explaining the history of the home to visitors and even calling to make dinner reservations. My thanks to her for making my stay memorable.
In closing I would strongly suggest a close look at the Coombs Inn if you are staying in Apalahicola.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RommelDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Recently had an absolutely wonderful, relaxing, enjoyable and outstanding week at Coombs House Inn. The surroundings, the music, the peacefulness was much needed and to top all that off with the utter perfection of hospitality I have ever experienced in my life. I am speaking directly of Laina Hamilton. Her name should accompany the definition in Webster's under hospitality. Not enough room for all adored, wrap it up with saying that the only morning Laina was working but not in my house at the Inn. Her absence was immediately noticed upon arrival for breakfast as to what wasn't done. All that was perfect before just wasn't the same. Thankfully she came in before breakfast was over and made sure we were taken care of properly. From arrival to good-bye this woman is genuine. It seems it comes natural to her as she exhibits joy, experience and delivers pure perfection in her work. Never have I stayed anywhere that made me feel so cared for. She is a KEEPER!!

Room Tip: Any room at Coombs Inn is delightful.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We chose the Coombs House for an impromptu one-night stay in the charming town of Apalachicola. The staff was exceedingly friendly and the accommodations were lovely and comfortable (we stayed in the Azalea room). They go the extra mile here in terms of amenities, cleanliness and helpfulness. And if you're fond of Victorian-era homes, the rich black cypress paneling is simply gorgeous and imparts a cozy, hushed feel to your stay.

I

Room Tip: f you're an early bird when it comes to bedtime, you might consider an upstairs room in order to minimize overhead noise, which is the nature of a B&B anyway. After about 9:30 PM, however, we found our downstairs room to be all peace and quiet, so don't let this deter you from choosing the Coombs House...it is a lovely place, plus, it conveniently puts you close to the town's charming downtown shopping area.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Loved the Biltmore suite with jacuzzi tub
Friendly, helpful staff. Extremely well-maintained historic inn. Apalachicola is a gem. Fun riding the complimentary bikes around town. Visitors will not be disappointed. Can't wait to return. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noles_Girl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2012

B & B is sited in 3 different buildings but very close to each other, 1/2 block. Recently stayed in "Hemingway" room which is a upstairs garage apartment. Has a small living room and nice bedroom with a whirlpool tub big enough for 2 people. Shower is small and unit has two window air-conditioners that worked well in December. Outside stairs that would not be safe in a rain.

Breakfast is served in main house and needs some work. Breakfast is served 8am-10am and I think the food might be better if you eat closer to 8 than 10.

Great location near everything the town has to offer, only 2 short blocks to downtown and 4 blocks to river.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich5ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews