We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little cafe!”

Tamara's Cafe Floridita
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little cafe!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stopped here for lunch while driving through Apalachicola - and without reading any of the reviews here - just selected it because of its appearance and because it had the most patrons and activity of the restaurants we spotted - always a sign of good food! Loved the decor and seating arrangements, including outdoor tables for nicer weather. Service was good and meal was even better. Menu was creative and original. We would definitely eat here again - lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marietGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    119
    58
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the better Apalach places for dinner”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We've gone to Tamara's for dinner 3 times in the past several years. The meal is always consistently a tasty treat. The interesting daily specials are worth trying and the normal menu has many good choices. The creamy black bean soup with a little kick is well wort a try. Compared to a couple of other places in their class, Tamara' is a good value. We have always had great service and our experience in February 2012 was also great. If you're in Apalchicola, make this a stop for good dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dimmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“2nd time here, better the first time”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stopped by while we were doing a short road trip. First time here was last year, the food seemed to have unique flavors and was thouroughly enjoyed by my mother and myself.
This time was some disappointing...I ordered the same so don't know if they have a new chef or just was busy for a Saturday. They make their own chips which was hot last time, this time they were cold and had been sitting for awhile. The young waitress, was OK...has more learning to do but in time she will get the hang of it. A small town as this, I am sure it is hard to find real experienced help. We will try it another time so hopefully it was just an off day.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramonalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in Apalachicola”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had one of the best dinners ever, We had wonderful service and I had a mediterean pasta dish that was exceptional.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CathyT322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota / Isle of Man
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Sunshine on a cloudy day”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Actually, not just cloudy but rainy: a day when even downtown Apalachicola loses some of its charm. But, as in the Temptations signature hit "My Girl", lunch at Tamara's brought along a welcome touch of sunshine. The ambience, the bold and definitely not boring menu, the cheerful and helpful servers: these set the tone. Then your food arrives, and the smile spreads; because the food is brilliantly tasty and appealing.

My Carne Asada was attractively presented, and tasted even better than it looked: marinated to perfection before grilling, then served atop a bed of crispy hash browns.

I was delighted to be able to choose a glass of Chilean Carmenere to accompany the food. Quite a rare find in the United States, the Carmenere's deep aroma and its fruity-smoky flavors matched well with the Carne Asada. How typical of Tamara's to offer and feature a wine almost unknown outside South America!

Apart from its happy charm and fine food, Tamara's stands out in Apalachicola for another reason: no matter how good the oysters, shrimp and grouper might be everywhere else in town, a little variety is welcome.

But, to appreciate Tamara's to the full, go on a cloudy, rainy day ... and let them pour some sunshine onto your day.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManxJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamara's Cafe Floridita also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Tamara's Cafe Floridita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing