We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Banyan Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banyan Bay Suites
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location - Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We used RCI to exchange for two weeks into The Villas at Banyan Bay, Ambergris Caye. Overall, we really enjoyed the location and our stay on the island.

The Banyan Bay employees, from check-in staff to housekeeping, were all very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. In particular, we were impressed with our daily housekeeper, Iris—she went above and beyond to make us comfortable.

I had read elsewhere that every unit has at least somewhat of an ocean view. True for almost all of them, but not for E1 ground floor, as we were tucked into a bit of a corner. We had asked prior to arrival for an oceanfront or view (doesn’t hurt to ask), but they were all occupied. Our 2-bedroom unit, while showing some wear, was still very roomy (~1100 sq. ft.) and comfortable. Full kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, blender, toaster and a decent set of dishes, pots & pans, etc. They also furnished coffee filters and plenty of paper towels. No dishwasher, but housekeeping would wash the dishes if we didn’t get it done.

Master bedroom included a king-sized bed with a safe and ironing board & iron in the closet and a whirlpool tub in the master bath. Personally, I felt the bed was just too hard or needed to be replaced. Second bedroom had a queen bed (more comfortable than the king) and private entry to a 2nd bathroom with a hall entrance.

We arranged several tours with Discovery Expeditions, who were in the lobby or out on the dock. Did some reef snorkeling, diving, and bone fishing, plus took a private (just the two of us) sunset cruise on an old sailboat, the Rum Punch, with owner George and ‘Fish.’

As others have said, you can walk, ride bicycles, take a cab, or rent a golf cart to get around. We enjoyed renting a cart several days to explore the island and check out a wide variety of great restaurants. Our favorites were Hidden Treasures Restaurant (outdoors but upscale), Wild Mango’s (my personal favorite), Caramba’s, Elvi’s, and Antojito’s (casual and just across the street from the Villas @ BB).

Stock up on beer for your trip at the Belikin distributor—Belikin beer and rum were pretty inexpensive on the island, but other liquors and wine were pretty pricey. Groceries were pretty expensive and it was almost as inexpensive to go out to eat. We always felt safe and the US$ was taken pretty much everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SergerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    151
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
172
104
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed in the villas at banyan baye for one night.
There are several hotel complexes, each has up to 6 rooms. Every room is quite big and high-class furnished.

The hotel resort, the pool and Rico's diner are really beautiful.

It only takes a few minute walk to get to several adresses in San Pedro.

Thanks for the nice stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a good basic hotel for families with young children. We stayed here based on the reviews and the fact that the beach was supposed to be one of nicest on the island. Although there were three hardworking gentelmen raking the seaweed from the water it still was not swimmable, if that is what you are looking for, then you should really consider a different destination. Rooms were comfortable, two bedrooms, good mattress, inroom safe, TV in master bedroom, nice jacuzzi, AC operated well, water pressure strong. We stayed in room C2, no complains. Swiming pool excellent for younger and older kids. Free bike rental, about 20 min ride to center of the town. If you want to try some local fare, at the exit from the hotel, head left, 10 min walk will take you to Robin's Kitchen, inexpensive, authentic creole food. Would I stay here again? Probably not, why? because I fell in love with San Pedro town and its many small eateries along the beach, that I would like to stay closer to town. However if that is not important to you, Banyan Bay will suit you well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolajarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Very disappointed that we were charged an additional utility fee that amounted to almost $200 dollars (US) extra. This was very excessive given that we rarely used our air conditioner and was never in our room. This information should be disclosed beforehand.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulLegault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We have been waiting forever to get to Belize and finally hooked up with a timeshare trade to the Villas at Banyan Bay. The place was outstanding. We had a room with no view but oh well. The two bedroom units are spacious. The pool is very well laid out with multi levels so you don't feel on top of one another. We used the free bikes for half a day and biked to town and over the bridge to the Palapa Bar. The staff there was excellent. The only ding for RCI folks is the room locations (back building, but still only about 100 yards from the beach) and the $250/week energy surcharge - they gotta get us somehow.

We had two outstanding breakfasts at Rico's on the beach (their on site restaurant) - definitely have the cinnamon french toast with sliced bacon for $7 US, it is amazing. We also had post-dive meals of fish fingers (super fresh and delicious) and fabulous conch fritters. Our one dinner there (Sat BBQ night) was disappointing. We had ribs (kind of tough) that came with 1/2 potato, a few veggies of some kind, a small amount of beans that were delicous. We were the only ones there and the meal was a little slow and then barely warm. I had to send back my glass of red wine that had turned bad and switched to the safety of bottled Belikin beer.

The beach walk to town is 20 minutes along the water (mostly bulkhead, boardwalk, or packed sand path). Definitely wander to town every night along the safe, breezy beach. The walk home is lovely after dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SunForFunLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Our family of 7 adults had 2 ocean front units and loved it. They were clean and spacious....king and queen beds and 2 baths, kitchen, huge livingroom , table and chairs on porch, which was our favorite place to be. We ate every breakfast and one dinner at Rico's, the restaurant on the property, and thought the food was good and reasonable in price. We walked a couple miles along the beach and agreed Banyan Bay was one of the cleanest. The pool was huge....one large shallow area for kids or we found it was great to sit in to read a book, and a smaller deep area. The only negative we found was no complimentary coffee in the room. There was a coffee maker there, and a few packages of coffee would have been a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NhWishfultraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and LOVED it! The ocean front suites were huge and you just couldn't beat the views. Our maid Anna was very nice and kept the rooms spotless for us, and had no shortage of advice about where to eat, get alcohol, shop, etc. It was definitely the cleanest beach around from what we could see. They were out there every morning raking up all the seaweed. The food at the restaurant was quite good and service was pretty fast. The pool was nice, with a large shallow part and a big deep end...so plenty of room for all. They have at least four computer stations, so you never have to wait to check your email. It was not that long of a walk into town, which was convenient...and if it was too hot...it only costs five dollars to get a cab into town. If I'm ever back on Ambergis Caye, I would DEFINITELY not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ocean view definitely; walking right out onto the beach was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacyc006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 km away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
254 reviews
0.4 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
775 reviews
1.6 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
15.0 km away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#25 of 54 in San Pedro
230 reviews
7.5 km away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 54 in San Pedro
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bay Suites

Property: Banyan Bay Suites
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly The Villas at Banyan Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banyan Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, Banyan Bay Suites offers a great getaway from the everyday hustle and bustle of life. Featuring 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms poolview and beachfront suites and 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms beachfront suites, with kitchen fully equipped and central air conditioned. Spa is available onsite. A 3-level fresh water pool. Pier 366 Seafood House located by the beach offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. A full service diveshop onsite, that can help in your diving and snorkeling activities. A tour desk that can help in fishing and trips to the mainland including the Mayan temples, ziplining, cave tubing and the Belize Zoo. Banyan Bay Suites is the perfect resort for activities or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Banyan Bay Suites Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing