We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
290
189
48
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
189
48
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive shopgolf cartbelize pro dive centerambergris cayefull kitchensea grassin townevery morningocean fronton site restaurantmaster bathliving roomswim up bargrocery storelovely poolnice place to stayexplore the island
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 547 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2018

Stopped by this place and had a Coconut Mojito and it was out of this world! This place is beautiful. the bar had great vibes and the bartenders were very nice and professional. We truly loved everything we had, definitely would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Katharine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBay_GColony, Director of Sales at Banyan Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

Thanks for sharing Mary Katharine D. Our bartenders are on duty ready to serve you another mojito!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018

My mother and I visited Banyan Bay at the end of April for the third time. The first two times we had been was when it was still under timeshares and while it was great then it has definitely received a face lift. There has been obvious upgrades to the lobby, bar, restaurant and dive shop. Typically when we travel I book all of our excursions before traveling so that we know how to pack and plan. This time we planned to play it by ear since we had been a few times. The front desk staff were amazing and helped us decide to book an excursion, dive and massage; they helped us decide which excursion would be best for us since we wanted do a mainland excursion. Their recommendation was great and we really enjoyed the tour company we ended up with as well as our tour group.
As I mentioned we booked a massage which happened to be with their new spa K'in and I can't say enough how enjoyable it was. We literally booked a second one as soon as we finished our first. We did our dive with the Pro Dive Shop on site and they were wonderful as well, it had been quite some time since either my mom or I had been diving and our dive instructor was very attentive and made sure we were comfortable the entire time. We've done dives with other companies on the island and this was the most structured and professional by far.
Over all Banyan Bay was extremely enjoyable to stay at, I've read reviews regarding some of the condos being "outdated" and now staying in various ones I can say this would be an over exaggeration. Though they have their quirks, such our water pressure was low when both showers are running at once, every other aspect of the accommodations completely out weighs something as menial as taking turns to shower.
If you're looking for a place that has wonderful and attentive staff, beautiful views and convenient perks (golf cart and bike rentals) then I definitely recommend Banyan Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank afrank9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBay_GColony, Director of Sales at Banyan Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

Thanks for recommending us! We are glad and thankful that you have chosen us for your yearly vacation time. This review indeed gives future visitors great insight. We hope you have booked your suite for your next visit. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Having stayed in a "suite type" hotel last year, our expectations were not great but were completely overturned by the newly renovated Banyan Bay. We did get in touch with a lady called Lilian prior to our visit to ensure that we booked a "renovated" unit and she upgraded us to a 2 bedroom unit which was a welcome surprise (whilst the renovations are ongoing I would recommend doing the same). Banyan Bay is both colourful and pristine with a lovely pool and some very entertaining and large iguanas. Its location is excellent being far enough from the bustle of the town but near enough to access via golf cart (which are excellent value via the hotel). The staff are welcoming and polite and any request was efficiently dealt with. The food at the restaurant was yummy. They have a French chef. Lovely breakfasts - we opted for a meal plan for breakfast which gave us sufficient choice with a fixed and reasonable price. Ask at reception or select when you book. There are a wealth of great restaurants in San Pedro: Karumba, Blue Water Grill, Elvi's Kitchen (one of the originals - do book!) and Fido's. There is a fantastic gift shop run by a Brit within Fido's. This was the second stage of a two centre holiday for us, having previously had a very enjoyable 6 days in lodges in the Cayo District of Belize. All in all this was a thoroughly enjoyable visit and I would go back in a heart beat. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBay_GColony, Director of Sales at Banyan Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us HeatherWilde. Our executive Chef indeed does wonders at our restaurant Pier 366 Seafood House. We do hope to welcome you back soon for another spectacular vacation time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2018

We stayed for 6 nights in early May and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Banyan Bay Suites.

We had heard that some suites had been renovated and specifically asked for one of these when we booked. The result was a lovely fresh white apartment with everything you could need.

We were on the ground floor opposite the pool and have just enough privacy whilst also enjoying a great outlook.. The staff were attentive and friendly and were quick to fix a couple of minor issues with the TV and water that we inherited.

It's a good location - sufficiently far from the centre of town to avoid the noise and golf cart congestion - but close enough to get into the bars and restaurants.

We were surprised at the high price for renting a golf cart throughout the island - over $250 for 6 days. But actually with the discount offered to residents, the hotel rental was the best value we could find. We were also pleasantly surprised that prices in the beach bar and restaurant were no different from the rest of town - something you don't always see with a captive audience available.

We used the dive centre (Pro Dive) most days and they were also excellent.

The Sargasso Weed is a real problem in Belize generally - with the clogged beaches and sulphuric acid discharge. This does cause a smell throughout the island - but at Banyan Bay they have a team cleaning the beach front every morning - which helps a lot.

Overall we had a great time and would certainly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: trry to secure one of the recently renovated suites
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bathbiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBay_GColony, Director of Sales at Banyan Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. This surely offers insights to future travelers and I will ensure our staff reads your review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018 via mobile

The unit was spacious and the AC was cold! But the decor and furniture was old school—and not in a good way. We hadn’t planned on spending much time in the room but it was not easy to be out by the pool or at the beach. The 6 foot piles of rotting sea grass were too much to take. At times it was nauseating. Not the resort’s fault but disappointing. Pier 366 was pretty good and we ate there a few times.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lyndsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBay_GColony, Director of Sales at Banyan Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

Thanks for choosing to stay with us LyndseyB, unfortunately the excess sea grass has indeed placed a damper on our beach but do know that we have our guys working tirelessly in trying to clear it. It's a work in progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews