We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fishing and diving resort for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fishing and diving resort for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our week-long stay at El Pescador was super in so many ways. We spoke with Ali, one of the owners, several times before traveling to Belize, and she provided information not only for our Ambergris Caye stay but for the rest of our trip throughout Belize, too. My husband's fishing guide was excellent, as was Laurie, the director of fishing services. Divemaster Alonzo and his amazing first mate, Manuel, made sure our scuba and snorkeling trips were fun, safe and interesting every time.

We rented the upstairs of one of the villas, and it was perfect for our family of 3. We used the provisioning service recommended by Ali, so the villa was completely stocked with our favorite foods when we arrived. The resort also arranged babysitting for our 8-year-old daughter, for the times my husband and I were both out diving and/or fishing. Raquel, who lives on-site, was wonderful -- even showed up at 5AM one day to accommodate an early diving day -- and taught our daughter to fish off the dock using a hand line and shrimp borrowed from the lodge's kitchen. She got so good at this that she ended up catching a good-sized snapper that the cooks prepared for our lunch one afternoon.

The atmosphere was very relaxed, which we liked. If I had to nit-pick, I would say that the pools weren't warm enough to really enjoy. But we were there in January, so during warmer months they are probably great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    45
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
130
222
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Just returned from our trip with another couple to El Pescador. As before the weather was great. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Rooms are spacious. My fiancé fished for the first time and had a blast. The guides were helpful even with us being beginners. The setting is charming, food is excellent, and everyone was laid back and having a good time. We also enjoyed diving and some of the best snorkeling ever. Dinners are family style and the other guest were all interesting and welcoming and incredibly geographically diverse. We will be back for sure. Even considering getting married at El Pescador. Can't say enough about how hard the staff worked to satisfy any request we made. A real winner.

Room Tip: we were in a villa. Awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilson, wy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We just returned from a 10 day stay at El Pescador in Belize. We have visited there before, but this time we went with our 2 girls (ages 3 and 1). We had the best vacation ever! The girls especially loved the pool, the beach, fishing from the dock, and the food. We had great weather and took advantage of the on-site babysitter so my husband and I could go diving on several days.We dove with Alonzo and it was great. We saw sharks, turtles, rays, barracuda, eels and tons of fish. The experience was awesome. We went to town for dinner a few times and especially loved Elvi's kitchen. We also loved Caliente Restaurant for lunch.

Since we were last at El Pescador, we noticed several improvements including new dining tables outside, a canvas shade near the bar, and new couches outside the bar. The food was really good and it was explained that the staff has been working with a well known chef in town to improve the menu and add to the dining experience. That has really paid off as we loved the food.

We were disappointed that the Capricorn restaurant (next door) is not as good as it used to be and despite better advice, we rented a golf cart with the girls to go to town, and we should have stuck to the water taxis for a better experience. Those were the only things we might have changed.

The staff is great, the resort is beautiful and we loved our trip. We hope to go back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2-bedroom suite in the lodge which was perfect for us with the small kids. We had p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lismore77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

From the moment Ricardo picked us up from the airport to the moment Steve & Isa escorted us out on the dock to leave, El Pescador became our "Home Away From Home". I can not say enough about the staff & owners. They always had a smile on their face, willing to help, and made you feel like family. They are what makes El Pescador so special!! I am ready to go back just to visit them!! The food is exceptional!! You will definatly NOT go away hungry!! We did eat in town a few times, but only because we wanted to try some of the restaurants on the island. The resort itself is well kept....the beach area, in my opinion, one of the best & largest on the island. They raked it every morning & it was always clean. Beautiful palm tress & other natural landscapes are also what makes it so breathtaking. It is truly a tropical paradise! We stayed in Villa 2-3 and were not disappointed. The views were amazing! The living area very comfortable. Kitchen area stocked and ready for use. Bathroom a little small, but adequate. Bedroom an average size & king bed comfortable as well. Loved the balcony & hammock... relaxed on it daily. There are 3 pools...2 saltwater & 1 freshwater. They are always clean. El Pescador is a fishing lodge, but there is plenty of other things to do if you aren't a fisherman. We fished for one day and did 2 snorkel trips. They also have bicylces & kayaks you can take. You can easily ride the bikes up & down the beach. It is only 2 miles to town, so it's an easy bike ride. We did this a couple times. Also, if the El Pescador boat is making a trip to town, you can hop on & ride with them...free. You will then just take the water-taxi back. If you want to do some snorkeling around the reef...just ask for a kayak & you can paddle out to the reef, tie off on one of the buoy's and snorkel at your leisure. There is some GREAT snorkeling along the reef. Would highly recommend. I could go on & on about our wonderful stay at El Pescador......so, if you'd like to know more, ask questions, receive tips, or see pictures....just send me an email. I'd be glad to help. El Pescador isn't a "Fancy" place, but we didn't go to Belize to be Fancy. If you want to experience the natural beauty of the island, the warm, friendly people, and the comforts of home...then El Pescador is the perfect place. If you let it, it will become your "Home Away from Home".

Room Tip: Villa's are the way to go. The lodge rooms are clean, but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TexasSunshine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

There were some positives to staying at el pescador:
1. The rooms were large.
2. The food was very good.
3. Most of the staff (particularly the kitchen staff) was extremely nice.
However, there were other issues which outweighed these features:
1. It was apparent that El Pescador caters solely to fishing (which I'm sure they do very well). But as we were not fishermen and were trying to organize other activities, we found this very difficult, and it made our vacation less enjoyable. This was mainly because the woman in charge of organizing everything else, Judy, was very rude to us and not helpful. She always made us feel as it we were bothering her whenever we tried to talk to her. We were told there were only 3 options for snorkeling trips on the whole island (clearly not true - we later found out there were lots of trips we could have taken - but El Pescador only wanted to organize with the one dive shop they must have had a deal with) and the one morning we tried to do a diving and snorkeling trip with the dive master, his assistant was drunk so the snorkeler could not come. She had to repeat the same two snorkeling spots twice in two days (on an island surrounded by a coral reef, this seems awfully silly).
2. The town is only accessible by water taxi, which runs on a limited schedule. This is fairly isolating, especially in inclement weather.
3. On the second day, our room began to smell like sewage. When we complained, the solution was to come open the windows. The smell never went away.

Room Tip: The villa rooms seem to have had TVS - ours didnt. during the days of rain, there was very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPescadorBelize, Owner at El Pescador Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Our sincerest apologies for the rude and completely unacceptable behavior of our staff member that you mention in your review. As I believe you experienced from the rest of the staff and management, our guest services are something that we take extremely seriously; which normally not only meet, but exceed, guests' expectations.I am particularly sorry that you did not say something while you were with us so that we could have rectified the problem immediately.

While we do indeed value our anglers, El Pescador prides itself on being a first-class destination for all active adventure travelers, and there is SO much to do beyond fishing here. We do work with specific dive shops and tour operators who meet our level of exceptional guest services, and particularly small groups to ensure safety.

We purposely do not have TVs in our rooms in the main lodge to encourage camaraderie among the guests. Though our weather during your stay was horrible, something that is both unusual and out of our control, we do provide two TVs in the public areas of the property for guests' viewing (one in the bar and one in the restaurant).

With regard to the odor in your room, which appeared to be coming from the shower, our maintenance crew was in your room 3 times trying to identify the problem. They snaked out the pipes in your shower. The housekeepers used drano and deep cleaned the shower. And to be on the safe side the maintenance crew emptied the entire septic tank. We checked after the above actions had been competed and did not find an offensive odor. The housekeepers checked daily and assured us the smell had been rectified as well. Since you did not mention it again, we thought it was taken care of. We apologize again if this was not the case. Please contact us directly if we may do anything to clarify and solve your unsatisfactory experience.

With best regards,

Ali, Chris and Steve
Owners and managers
alissa@elpescador.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I just returned from 8 days at El Pescador, which now ranks as our greatest vacation ever! Our March 2010 trip to El Pescador was by far our best warm weather vacation, but El Pescador has raised the bar making it our favorite destination, period! The grounds of this resort are still achingly beautiful, and the staff and management are still delivering 5-star service with a smile. Our villa was gorgeously furnished with hand carved furniture, and pristine sheets and a matelasse spread in the massive bedroom. But we noticed the kitchen re-vamped their offerings, taking previously great food up to the level of EXCELLENT! Although there are a few walkable resorts nearby, my husband and I preferred to share happy hour and meals with the other guests at El Pescador, enjoying great conversation with fantastic fresh food. I love that they serve multiple courses and multiple entree choices at the family style dinner. We had to-die-for lobster, succulent pork, and too many other local dishes with an upscale presentation to list. I had lunch or breakfast at El Pescador most days as well, equally delicious and fresh!

My husband had a great time fishing with his world-class guide, who helped him improve his cast and sighting skills over their 3 days together. He caught 2 bone fish, and had lots of tarpon and permit sightings. I don't dive, but had the good fortune to snorkel with El Pescador's dive master (also world class), seeing marine life I didn't think was possible from the surface. I had such a great time getting to know our fellow guests on this trip that I logged countless hours with them at the pools (and the Grand Slam Bar). It was wonderful seeing families with small children, families with grown children, couples and groups of single friends, all getting to know one another in such a gorgeous and friendly setting.

I felt totally safe running 2-3 miles north or south on the beach each morning by myself. San Pedro is lively and also seemed very safe to me, a quick boat ride or bike ride from El Pescador. On our 2010 trip, we booked some tours to the mainlaind from El Pescador which were great. This time, we had so much fun with the other guests that it was tough to leave the resort!

If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere, gorgeous scenery, five star service and great local food, El Pescador has no rival. I can't wait to see everyone again in 2013!

Room Tip: Villa 6-3 is amazing but all the lodge rooms and villas are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lulusm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

one of our best vacation's ever. we learned so much about flyfishing from kachu and even caught a permit along with bone fish. the jack was huge, pulled in during a brief, warm rainstorm. the permits were small, but "a permit is a permit." my girlfriend caught a ladyfish and we were warned what those ladyfish do when pulled in the boat and indeed, this one did it ie pooped all over. not very lady-like.
the staff was great, the accommodations comfortable and clean, and the food was delicious.
one of the highlights was meeting the other guests at meals and trading stories. the type of people attracted to a family fishing resort such as this are interesting, down to earth, international and not stuffy.
we would love to return.

Room Tip: room 5-1 was great!. woke up looking out the window to the blue ocean framed by palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MVtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8.8 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.0 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
8.5 km away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.3 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.9 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Property: El Pescador Resort
Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing