We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matachica Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Mayan Princess Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$41
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramon's Village Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
1,040 results
Traveller rating
844
137
38
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
844
137
38
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmata chicabeachfront casitajade spaour honeymoongaia riverlodgeview suitewater taxiambergris cayefishpaddle boatscoconut mojitomain buildingmosquito nettingsea breezerojo barminute boat rideturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,040 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

The road getting to Matachica is very rough and filled with pot holes. Regardless, visiting the resort is well worth the drive to get there. We walked through the resort and visited the bar and had drinks. The jalapeño margarita's are great. Bartenders were very friendly and informative. Glad we took the drive.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank PCMenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2017

Matachica was amazing. Right from the jump they exceeded expectations. The resort grounds are well maintained, the food at the restaurant was fresh and delicious, and the staff could not be more friendly and accommodating. They would remember your name, your room, and your favorite drinks...not bad considering you only spend a few days with them. The free access to bikes, kayaks, snorkeling gear, etc is an awesome perk and one i highly recommend taking advantage of. Take a kayak out to the reef, you wont be disappointing. Due to its location about 5 miles outside of the city center, it truly is a calm and peaceful paradise.

Room Tip: rooms up front have an ocean view, but the all the rooms are within 50 yards of the beach
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Everything's perfect in this resort.
Very warm and friendly staff. Comfortable and well equipped casitas (I had a beachfront one).
The snorkeling trips are very well organized by the hotel.
The only drawback: no espresso!

Room Tip: Beachfront casitas are obviously better (and + expensive) than the garden ones.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montmartre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2017

Fabulous caye-front setting facing the sea and the roaring reef offshore. Plenty of inner water space for sailing & snorkelling, long lounging jetty with comfy recliners & sofas sticking out into the waves compete with bar & restaurant service as you relax.
Great snorkelling trips from th ehotel to local reefs, but be sure to take White Sands Dive Shop trip to Mexico Rocks (10 mins) - best location and dive team around.
Excellent pool facilities, very clean and relaxing, terrific detached casitas offering comfort, seclusion and avery romantic escape after a day in the sun or another excellent dinner in th esuperb restaurant.
Menus are first rate, tasty plates and big portions, global wine list is good and the pinacoladas are to die for!
Above all the staff are the most welcoming friendly crew you will ever come across - they simply couldn't do enough for us. BIG thanks to all of them for making our stay so wonderful.
Minor negatives - i) difficult to swim straight form the beach due to inshore weed in the water, ii) small gym is functional but needs an upgrade, esp running m/c & wobbly weights bench, iii) San Pedro is not the pretty day-trip as described!

Room Tip: Take a casita off the beach front and towards to back of the plot behind the pool - it's quieter!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ferrensac16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2017

There is a reason so many of these reviews start out with 'We'll be back.'

Matachica is absolutely delightful from start to finish. I know I'm repeating what others have said, but the service is so friendly and so thoughtful, once you understand that every concern has been taken care of you realize that your only job is to relax and enjoy it. One aspect they have really gotten down is anticipating any question, so it's answered before you've even formed it in your mind.

Arrivals/transfers
A word of advice: Let Matachica arrange the reservations for the TropicAir flight for your arrival and departure. While the ferry is an option, it requires a cab ride to the dock, and then a long and reportedly uncomfortable ferry ride. The puddle jumper is seamless, and flying over the turquoise water to Ambergris Caye in a wonderful arrival. And like everything else, Matachica arranges it flawlessly.

When you arrive at the San Pedro airport, Matachica staff are there to greet you and walk you through baggage retrieval, then to a golf cart to the Matachica motorboat that takes you to the resort.

They really have this down to a science - every staff member hands you off to the next person along the way so you never feel unsure or unattended, which is great after a long day traveling.

The resort
It's basically perfect. Infinity edge pool with enough loungers and umbrellas for everyone, lounges on the beach, and their adorable circular lounges on the pier over the water. This was our favorite spot. There is bar service beginning after breakfast. There is one restaurant, but for a week the menu had plenty of options, and the food was uniformly really tasty. I may have to be weaned off the seafood ceviche. Yum.

It is quiet and idyllic. They welcome guests over 16, so no loud munchkins splashing at the pool. The very international crowd (while we were there we heard Australian, English and Canadian accents, along with French, Russian, German ...) ranged from a few honeymooners to retired couples and one or two families, but almost exclusively couples. We wore flip-flops on the first day and after that were literally barefoot the entire time, even for dinner. The paths are sand and constantly raked and safe for tender feet.

If you are looking for a lot (or really, any) nightlife, this is not your place. If you want simple luxury and attentive but unobtrusive service, this is it. You can of course go into San Pedro, but it's really more suited to just relaxing on site.

That said, there are many options for excursions and tours, and the front desk arranges everything for you, with the same degree of ease as everything else. We enjoyed the Shark Ray Alley/Hol Chan Reserve tour, as well as a Blue Hole trip that is led by another group but you are picked up and dropped off again at the resort so really don't need to worry about any aspect.

If you don't want to leave the property, there are well-maintained and plentiful sea kayaks, sunfish, snorkels, masks and fins ... we never had to wait to use anything, it was like it was sitting there waiting just for us.

The accommodations
The casitas are SO comfortable. On the one hand they look rustic and part of the landscape, but they are air conditioned, with lovely baths and super-comfortable beds and linens. (The ONLY thing i would change is to offer down pillows, but maybe those don't do so well in that climate.)

The staff
The staff was so lovely, from start to finish. We especially loved Myra's warm welcome and Archie's kind service every day in the restaurant, and Charlie's knowledgable and friendly tour guiding. I wish I had learned everyone's names, the young man at the water equipment hut was always helpful and eager to help, our server the last night had such a warm smile and ready laugh it made a special night even more special.

I've rarely felt so wistful leaving a place. It was a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: You may want a room away from the activity of the main building, but even near there is quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank islaygirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews