We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected Luxury!”
Reviewed 10 March 2017

When our resort couldn't accomodate an earlier-than-planned arrival to San Pedro, we were referred to stay 2 nights at Matachica. Once we got there, we didn't want to leave! The place felt like a retreat - each little villa, bungalow, or "hut" as I called them felt so secluded, you really felt like you were the only ones there! The service was amazing, but not cheesy or in-your-face annoying. It was just perfect. If you want to get away (no tvs or phones in the rooms!) with your loved one and spend your time reading in a hammock, having meaningful conversations, and walking the gorgeous beach, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: View of the beach would be amazing, but not required at all. Every villa is situated facing the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    125
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
67
764
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We recently celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at Matachica. Burga was awesome in taking our reservation and following up with arranging our Tropic Air flight to San Pedro, even making sure we had a beautiful bouquet of flowers and a nice bottle of chardonnay to celebrate our anniversary. Once we arrived at the San Pedro airport, we were immediately met by Chris with a golf cart to load up our bags and take us to the dock for a quick boat ride to Matachica. We were greeted with Margaritas and met some of the amazing staff. Then we were shown to our beachfront casita, Papaya. The casita was beyond our expectations, right on the beach, beautiful sunrises every morning and hurricane shutters letting the light breeze blow through night and day. Enjoy the comfy bed with linens and towels that are better than home. Even the soaps and shampoo were top of the line. A week didn't seem like enough time, even though we took advantage of almost all of the amenities, sea kayaks, snorkeling on the reef, lounging on the beach and dock baskets, a beautiful and quiet pool. The staff was incredible; always friendly and available taking care of our every need. Thank you Matthew, Adam, Archie, Edwin and the rest. We highly recommend taking advantage of some of the many guided activities, we reef fished for snapper with great success and snorkeled at Mexico Rocks with Charlie and snorkeled again at Hol Chan with Henry. How often to you get to swim with nurse sharks, Moray eels, sting rays and hundreds of variety of reef fish? The kitchen staff turned our freshly caught snapper into amazing fish tacos within the hour. Delicious! The staff makes whatever activity you desire effortless, taking care of all the details. Or just hang out on the property and take walks up and down the beautiful white sand beach. The Mamba Restaurant was outstanding for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks in between. Matachica is paradise, perfect for relaxing and leaving the real world behind. We also recommend renting a golf cart and touring the island. It's just a short drive into San Pedro a quaint town with several outstanding restaurants, Caliente, on the beach, Elvi's kitchen, and El Fogon. What a sad day it was when the time came to leave our new friends at Matachica, but we are already plotting our next visit. Maybe a few days at Gaia, the sister resort in the mountains, before heading to the beach and reef. I could go on and on, but you get the idea. Matachica is the perfect paradise for a quiet relaxing trip. It's what a vacation is supposed to be. Thanks to everyone at Matachica for making our trip so wonderful and memorable.

Steve and Amy

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TejonLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

The road getting to Matachica is very rough and filled with pot holes. Regardless, visiting the resort is well worth the drive to get there. We walked through the resort and visited the bar and had drinks. The jalapeño margarita's are great. Bartenders were very friendly and informative. Glad we took the drive.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PCMenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Matachica was amazing. Right from the jump they exceeded expectations. The resort grounds are well maintained, the food at the restaurant was fresh and delicious, and the staff could not be more friendly and accommodating. They would remember your name, your room, and your favorite drinks...not bad considering you only spend a few days with them. The free access to bikes, kayaks, snorkeling gear, etc is an awesome perk and one i highly recommend taking advantage of. Take a kayak out to the reef, you wont be disappointing. Due to its location about 5 miles outside of the city center, it truly is a calm and peaceful paradise.

Room Tip: rooms up front have an ocean view, but the all the rooms are within 50 yards of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Everything's perfect in this resort.
Very warm and friendly staff. Comfortable and well equipped casitas (I had a beachfront one).
The snorkeling trips are very well organized by the hotel.
The only drawback: no espresso!

Room Tip: Beachfront casitas are obviously better (and + expensive) than the garden ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montmartre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Fabulous caye-front setting facing the sea and the roaring reef offshore. Plenty of inner water space for sailing & snorkelling, long lounging jetty with comfy recliners & sofas sticking out into the waves compete with bar & restaurant service as you relax.
Great snorkelling trips from th ehotel to local reefs, but be sure to take White Sands Dive Shop trip to Mexico Rocks (10 mins) - best location and dive team around.
Excellent pool facilities, very clean and relaxing, terrific detached casitas offering comfort, seclusion and avery romantic escape after a day in the sun or another excellent dinner in th esuperb restaurant.
Menus are first rate, tasty plates and big portions, global wine list is good and the pinacoladas are to die for!
Above all the staff are the most welcoming friendly crew you will ever come across - they simply couldn't do enough for us. BIG thanks to all of them for making our stay so wonderful.
Minor negatives - i) difficult to swim straight form the beach due to inshore weed in the water, ii) small gym is functional but needs an upgrade, esp running m/c & wobbly weights bench, iii) San Pedro is not the pretty day-trip as described!

Room Tip: Take a casita off the beach front and towards to back of the plot behind the pool - it's quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrensac16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2017

There is a reason so many of these reviews start out with 'We'll be back.'

Matachica is absolutely delightful from start to finish. I know I'm repeating what others have said, but the service is so friendly and so thoughtful, once you understand that every concern has been taken care of you realize that your only job is to relax and enjoy it. One aspect they have really gotten down is anticipating any question, so it's answered before you've even formed it in your mind.

Arrivals/transfers
A word of advice: Let Matachica arrange the reservations for the TropicAir flight for your arrival and departure. While the ferry is an option, it requires a cab ride to the dock, and then a long and reportedly uncomfortable ferry ride. The puddle jumper is seamless, and flying over the turquoise water to Ambergris Caye in a wonderful arrival. And like everything else, Matachica arranges it flawlessly.

When you arrive at the San Pedro airport, Matachica staff are there to greet you and walk you through baggage retrieval, then to a golf cart to the Matachica motorboat that takes you to the resort.

They really have this down to a science - every staff member hands you off to the next person along the way so you never feel unsure or unattended, which is great after a long day traveling.

The resort
It's basically perfect. Infinity edge pool with enough loungers and umbrellas for everyone, lounges on the beach, and their adorable circular lounges on the pier over the water. This was our favorite spot. There is bar service beginning after breakfast. There is one restaurant, but for a week the menu had plenty of options, and the food was uniformly really tasty. I may have to be weaned off the seafood ceviche. Yum.

It is quiet and idyllic. They welcome guests over 16, so no loud munchkins splashing at the pool. The very international crowd (while we were there we heard Australian, English and Canadian accents, along with French, Russian, German ...) ranged from a few honeymooners to retired couples and one or two families, but almost exclusively couples. We wore flip-flops on the first day and after that were literally barefoot the entire time, even for dinner. The paths are sand and constantly raked and safe for tender feet.

If you are looking for a lot (or really, any) nightlife, this is not your place. If you want simple luxury and attentive but unobtrusive service, this is it. You can of course go into San Pedro, but it's really more suited to just relaxing on site.

That said, there are many options for excursions and tours, and the front desk arranges everything for you, with the same degree of ease as everything else. We enjoyed the Shark Ray Alley/Hol Chan Reserve tour, as well as a Blue Hole trip that is led by another group but you are picked up and dropped off again at the resort so really don't need to worry about any aspect.

If you don't want to leave the property, there are well-maintained and plentiful sea kayaks, sunfish, snorkels, masks and fins ... we never had to wait to use anything, it was like it was sitting there waiting just for us.

The accommodations
The casitas are SO comfortable. On the one hand they look rustic and part of the landscape, but they are air conditioned, with lovely baths and super-comfortable beds and linens. (The ONLY thing i would change is to offer down pillows, but maybe those don't do so well in that climate.)

The staff
The staff was so lovely, from start to finish. We especially loved Myra's warm welcome and Archie's kind service every day in the restaurant, and Charlie's knowledgable and friendly tour guiding. I wish I had learned everyone's names, the young man at the water equipment hut was always helpful and eager to help, our server the last night had such a warm smile and ready laugh it made a special night even more special.

I've rarely felt so wistful leaving a place. It was a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: You may want a room away from the activity of the main building, but even near there is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank islaygirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8.6 km away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
11.1 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
4.8 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
851 reviews
3.0 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,346 reviews
1.3 km away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Property: Matachica Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing