We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramon's Village Resort
Nearby Hotels
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayan Princess Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Caribbean Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Tide Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$18
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Secreto(San Pedro)
US$420
US$338
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,416)
Filter reviews
1,416 results
Traveller rating
897
348
99
49
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
348
99
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineappledive shopbelizean princesspurple parrotdive staffdive masterambergris cayegolf cartblue holethatched roofgreat divingbeachfront roomdive sitesin townfishdive vacationhoneymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,139 - 1,144 of 1,416 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Spent 5 nights at Ramon's in mid. Jan. 2012 with another couple in their 30s and had a fabulous time. Is the place to be for nice beach and resort within close walk of town for dinning, shopping and bar hopping. Grounds are lush and inviting. Facilities are well-maintained. Tours comparably priced to others in town. Staff was fun and helpful. Food at restaurant was good and comparably priced to other nice-casual restaurants. Pool is small, but we didn't mind because we liked garden setting and nearby bar. Could always get lounge chair at pool and beach. Seagrass washes up on the beach but that seems to be the norm on Ambergris and it is does not interfere with beach swimming here like it does in many other areas. Stayed in seaside double individual cabana and loved having our own little building. #46 is great, 2nd one back from the beach. Don't have to carry around money - can charge to room. Highly recommend for nice but not stuffy, great atmosphere, great location, great beach.

Room Tip: Seaside double #46 is great, is 2nd one back from the beach with large covered porch, looks like room featured on Ramon's website. Our friends stayed in #45 and looked different inside and didn't have covered porch. We liked having own individual thatched roof cabana.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzierosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for appreciating the characteristics that make Ramon's Village unique - the lush tropical gardens and the authentic thatched-roof cabanas. Some people think the thatch is "just for looks" until they walk inside their cabana and realize, "That is REALLY the roof!" However, for those who aren't that adventurous we, of course, have some rooms without thatch ceilings. Guests love our beach and we take great pride in keeping it beautiful, that's why the grounds crew rakes it daily. (Shhhh! Don't share this trade secret with anyone!) Thank you for staying with us - please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We moved to Ramons after staying one night at the awful Julia gardens. friendly staff, decent food, really nice room. Should have tvs in rooms though as not much to do when it rains torrentially for 48 hours!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildfroufrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! It sounds like you got a little taste of the tropics! The rain is refreshing, but certainly makes us appreciate the sunshine even more upon its return! We do have rooms with TVs and DVD players (with DVDs available), which are sometimes preferred by families with children, but the majority of our guests appreciate the fact that the closest TV is in the Purple Parrot. This escape from "the real world" contributes to the overall attempt at making sure you have a totally relaxing experience in paradise. We sure hope you did - come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just returned from 1 week at Ramon's Village and our first trip to Belize. We've been to many resorts in tropical locations and this one is up there on the very top. It was really our type of resort. Intimate, friendly, personal and very well manicured and the palapa style is very quaint. We had a beachfront room with a great view about 50 feet from the ocean. Very friendly and efficient staff. They treated you like they were really honored to have you there. Food at the resort was very good and reasonably priced, for somebody used to S California. Walking distance to town was also a BIG plus for us. We never needed to take a taxi to anything and felt completely safe walking beach or streets day or night. Only negative was a BIG shortage of lounge chairs on the beach. I only counted 30. For a hotel with 70 rooms that's not nearly enough. When I started setting the alarm for 7:30 am and head out to the beach right away I managed to snag a couple of chairs. Also, bevare of the mosquitos, bring your OFF.

Room Tip: Getting a beachfront room is well worth it, the view is fantastic and gives you an alternative to competing for beach chairs.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

We're so happy that you discovered Belize... and Ramon's! Thank you for appreciating our tropical style and believe me, we truly were honored by having you as our guests. Yes, we are blessed with the perfect location - a nice stroll on the beach gets you to town - no need for ground transportation or a water taxi. Yet, Ramon's feels private and secluded. Since your visit, we have added more lounge chairs to the beach. Because of the lounge chairs around the pool and the number of guests who go out diving with us each day, we usually have ample beach chairs available for those who opt to enjoy the beach and the beautiful Caribbean. But, that was obviously not the case while you were there. We apologize that you had to get up early to snag yours - we hope it was worth it! :-) Thank you for coming and we hope to see you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2012

After reading reviews here I booked a beachfront guesthouse suite at Ramon's and was very pleased with the room and amenities. Ramon's had the best beachfront area to hang around in the entire stretch of beach in that area. They also had beachfront massages and the restaurant had good food, I recommend the Pineapple Boat dish, very tasty. We went snorkeling with them as well and it was a lot of fun. They give equipment for snorkeling ad diving for rentals as well. My only complaint was that we were very close to the bar and had to deal with noises late in the night both from the bar and music. I suggest asking for rooms away from the bar and pool if you are a light sleeper.

It was wonderful waking up to sounds of birds, I even heard an owl at night, and saw an Iguana in one corner of this place. Ramon's is well located and if you walk along the beach in 20 mins you can reach the town center where people lay out their wares (jewelry, etc.) for sale. Our balcony had two rocking chairs, the beach had hammocks and places to lay around and get tanned. Overall a great place for relaxing with a nice beachfront area.

Room Tip: Away from the noisy bar
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newyorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your compliments on Ramon's Village Resort, the Beach Spa, Pineapples restaurant and Ramon's Village Divers. I wholeheartedly agree with your recommendation for the Pineapple Boat entree - my personal favorite! Being able to hear sounds is one of the magical characteristics of a thatch roof - the sound of the birds singing, as you mentioned, the waves crashing against the reef and the wind rustling through the palm fronds...and those noisy humans having fun! We're very sorry you were bothered. With the exception of holiday parties, the Purple Parrot stops the music and closes fairly early out of respect for our guests. Please come back soon and we will make sure you get a room "upwind" that will be extremely peaceful and quiet! We're looking forward to your next visit!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Ramon's is good if you are looking for a nice, family friendly destination. It includes many of the resort-style amenities that Americans would feel safe and comfortable with.

On the other hand, it is VERY targeted towards American tourists and almost too cheesy at times. If you're looking to disconnect from home, and are more interested in a true Belizeian/ Caribbean cultural experience, this is probably not the best place.

PROS:
- Great location, near downtown San Pedro. Easy walk to shops and restaurants
- Nice beachfront for swimming and snorkeling
- Great dive shop and divemasters on site. VERY easy to go diving at any time/day
- Great staff and service. Everyone is incredibly friendly and eager to help with any need
- Ideal for families with kids, and/or large groups

CONS:
- Not a quiet, romantic couples vacation scene. Lots of kids and running wild all over the property. Airport and street traffic can be heard from the street. Lots of public beach traffic and non-hotel guests crashing the swimming area each day
- Window curtains are very thin and don't block sunlight, so sleeping in is difficult. Also, the curtains don't completely close, leaving about a one-inch gap and making privacy impossible
- Shower was VERY small, temperature VERY inconsistent (from scalding to freezing in <2 sec), and pressure weak.
- Restaurant is way overpriced for the quality of food being served. There are many other places on the island with better food at cheaper prices.

Room Tip: Request the top floor if you stay in one of the 2-story cabanas. Walls are thin, and you can hear stomping and loud neighbors upstairs on the first floor. Also, cabana's further away from the street are likely to be much more quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AcetomatoTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews