We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back to San Pedro and Ramon's!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back to San Pedro and Ramon's!”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was my first trip to Belize and to Ramon's - spent 8 glorious days there & every bit of it was a wonderful & fun experience!!
There were many things I loved about Ramon's, but one of the first things I noticed was, for being a resort at full capacity, it still had an intimate feeling and never felt crowded or noisy. The rooms were clean & fairly spacious (I was in a Seaside room w/partial ocean view). The beach area was very nice & is probably one of the nicest in San Pedro, although I wish they would have a few more beach chairs out to accommodate some of the busier days. Ideal location because it's within walking distance of town, and it's at the quieter end of the beach & doesn't get as much foot traffic as most of the other hotels that are more north. The Dive Shop is great because you can sign up for all different kinds of activities and you know they are going to give you the best deal & the best experience.
The entire staff was so friendly & accommodating, they were always available for questions & to help you with any issues. The guys at the Dive Shop went above and beyond the call of duty & made every outing so fun, personal & educating.

I am already planning on going back to Belize later this year & will definitely be staying at Ramon's!

Room Tip: Some rooms have TVs and some don't. If you want to save a little money but still want an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
And we can't wait for you to come back! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We try very hard to keep Ramon's quaint and personalized - thank you very much for recognizing our efforts.
Note: More comfy lounge chairs have been added to the beach! One is there waiting on you now :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    310
    89
    42
    22
See reviews for
226
543
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Spent 5 nights at Ramon's in mid. Jan. 2012 with another couple in their 30s and had a fabulous time. Is the place to be for nice beach and resort within close walk of town for dinning, shopping and bar hopping. Grounds are lush and inviting. Facilities are well-maintained. Tours comparably priced to others in town. Staff was fun and helpful. Food at restaurant was good and comparably priced to other nice-casual restaurants. Pool is small, but we didn't mind because we liked garden setting and nearby bar. Could always get lounge chair at pool and beach. Seagrass washes up on the beach but that seems to be the norm on Ambergris and it is does not interfere with beach swimming here like it does in many other areas. Stayed in seaside double individual cabana and loved having our own little building. #46 is great, 2nd one back from the beach. Don't have to carry around money - can charge to room. Highly recommend for nice but not stuffy, great atmosphere, great location, great beach.

Room Tip: Seaside double #46 is great, is 2nd one back from the beach with large covered porch, looks like roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzierosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for appreciating the characteristics that make Ramon's Village unique - the lush tropical gardens and the authentic thatched-roof cabanas. Some people think the thatch is "just for looks" until they walk inside their cabana and realize, "That is REALLY the roof!" However, for those who aren't that adventurous we, of course, have some rooms without thatch ceilings. Guests love our beach and we take great pride in keeping it beautiful, that's why the grounds crew rakes it daily. (Shhhh! Don't share this trade secret with anyone!) Thank you for staying with us - please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We moved to Ramons after staying one night at the awful Julia gardens. friendly staff, decent food, really nice room. Should have tvs in rooms though as not much to do when it rains torrentially for 48 hours!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildfroufrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! It sounds like you got a little taste of the tropics! The rain is refreshing, but certainly makes us appreciate the sunshine even more upon its return! We do have rooms with TVs and DVD players (with DVDs available), which are sometimes preferred by families with children, but the majority of our guests appreciate the fact that the closest TV is in the Purple Parrot. This escape from "the real world" contributes to the overall attempt at making sure you have a totally relaxing experience in paradise. We sure hope you did - come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just returned from 1 week at Ramon's Village and our first trip to Belize. We've been to many resorts in tropical locations and this one is up there on the very top. It was really our type of resort. Intimate, friendly, personal and very well manicured and the palapa style is very quaint. We had a beachfront room with a great view about 50 feet from the ocean. Very friendly and efficient staff. They treated you like they were really honored to have you there. Food at the resort was very good and reasonably priced, for somebody used to S California. Walking distance to town was also a BIG plus for us. We never needed to take a taxi to anything and felt completely safe walking beach or streets day or night. Only negative was a BIG shortage of lounge chairs on the beach. I only counted 30. For a hotel with 70 rooms that's not nearly enough. When I started setting the alarm for 7:30 am and head out to the beach right away I managed to snag a couple of chairs. Also, bevare of the mosquitos, bring your OFF.

Room Tip: Getting a beachfront room is well worth it, the view is fantastic and gives you an alternative to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
We're so happy that you discovered Belize... and Ramon's! Thank you for appreciating our tropical style and believe me, we truly were honored by having you as our guests. Yes, we are blessed with the perfect location - a nice stroll on the beach gets you to town - no need for ground transportation or a water taxi. Yet, Ramon's feels private and secluded. Since your visit, we have added more lounge chairs to the beach. Because of the lounge chairs around the pool and the number of guests who go out diving with us each day, we usually have ample beach chairs available for those who opt to enjoy the beach and the beautiful Caribbean. But, that was obviously not the case while you were there. We apologize that you had to get up early to snag yours - we hope it was worth it! :-) Thank you for coming and we hope to see you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

After reading reviews here I booked a beachfront guesthouse suite at Ramon's and was very pleased with the room and amenities. Ramon's had the best beachfront area to hang around in the entire stretch of beach in that area. They also had beachfront massages and the restaurant had good food, I recommend the Pineapple Boat dish, very tasty. We went snorkeling with them as well and it was a lot of fun. They give equipment for snorkeling ad diving for rentals as well. My only complaint was that we were very close to the bar and had to deal with noises late in the night both from the bar and music. I suggest asking for rooms away from the bar and pool if you are a light sleeper.

It was wonderful waking up to sounds of birds, I even heard an owl at night, and saw an Iguana in one corner of this place. Ramon's is well located and if you walk along the beach in 20 mins you can reach the town center where people lay out their wares (jewelry, etc.) for sale. Our balcony had two rocking chairs, the beach had hammocks and places to lay around and get tanned. Overall a great place for relaxing with a nice beachfront area.

Room Tip: Away from the noisy bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newyorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you so much for your compliments on Ramon's Village Resort, the Beach Spa, Pineapples restaurant and Ramon's Village Divers. I wholeheartedly agree with your recommendation for the Pineapple Boat entree - my personal favorite! Being able to hear sounds is one of the magical characteristics of a thatch roof - the sound of the birds singing, as you mentioned, the waves crashing against the reef and the wind rustling through the palm fronds...and those noisy humans having fun! We're very sorry you were bothered. With the exception of holiday parties, the Purple Parrot stops the music and closes fairly early out of respect for our guests. Please come back soon and we will make sure you get a room "upwind" that will be extremely peaceful and quiet! We're looking forward to your next visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Ramon's is good if you are looking for a nice, family friendly destination. It includes many of the resort-style amenities that Americans would feel safe and comfortable with.

On the other hand, it is VERY targeted towards American tourists and almost too cheesy at times. If you're looking to disconnect from home, and are more interested in a true Belizeian/ Caribbean cultural experience, this is probably not the best place.

PROS:
- Great location, near downtown San Pedro. Easy walk to shops and restaurants
- Nice beachfront for swimming and snorkeling
- Great dive shop and divemasters on site. VERY easy to go diving at any time/day
- Great staff and service. Everyone is incredibly friendly and eager to help with any need
- Ideal for families with kids, and/or large groups

CONS:
- Not a quiet, romantic couples vacation scene. Lots of kids and running wild all over the property. Airport and street traffic can be heard from the street. Lots of public beach traffic and non-hotel guests crashing the swimming area each day
- Window curtains are very thin and don't block sunlight, so sleeping in is difficult. Also, the curtains don't completely close, leaving about a one-inch gap and making privacy impossible
- Shower was VERY small, temperature VERY inconsistent (from scalding to freezing in <2 sec), and pressure weak.
- Restaurant is way overpriced for the quality of food being served. There are many other places on the island with better food at cheaper prices.

Room Tip: Request the top floor if you stay in one of the 2-story cabanas. Walls are thin, and you can hear st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AcetomatoTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Although very close to town Ramons felt very secluded within the jungle atomosphere and great beach and pier. Our thatched hut room was garden view but we coud see the beach and ocean from our deck and window..not true for most garden views but we really liked it. The beach was one of the best we saw and we walked for miles each direction. The beach chairs were complimentary and included cocktail service if you wanted. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed returning home at night to the Purple Parrot bar, to reflect on our great day

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kokonut33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.7 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.0 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.2 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
4.8 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
6.0 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Property: Ramon's Village Resort
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing