We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caribbean Villas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was a great place to stay. The rooms had full cable and mini kitchenettes. The telephone rates were actually cheaper than my cell phone rates to call the US! Very unusual. Tony, the bartender, was excellent and took very good care of me. The food is delicious and prepared right off the beach. Beautiful views, a great pier to snorkel from and just an all around wonderful location. I did not use the pool, but it looked clean and well kept. The front office staff were kind and helpful. I only stayed for 2 nights, but would love to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendysprague29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    240
    56
    19
    9
See reviews for
135
354
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay! The location is great - right on the beach, quiet, and a short walk from town. And we loved the beach bar! We ate breakfast and lunch outside at the bar most days and usually had a drink or two there each night.

The units are a little older, but as others have said, clean and well maintained. I will say that there were some ants after some crumbs we didn't clean up. It seems the seagrass was often being picked up from the beach. Though no one was really swimming off the beach anyway. The pool and hot tubs were clean and there is swimming off the dock.

The bar on the beach was great and definitely adds value to the place. The food was good, the bar staff were very friendly, the prices were reasonable, and being able to eat outside by the beach at the hotel was great. The food could be a wait sometimes, but sitting on the beach, who's in a rush?

The front desk was very helpful setting up the tours we wanted to go on. Getting picked up at the dock was certainly convenient.

I definitely recommend Caribbean Villas. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops,BC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We really enjoyed Caribbean villa. Its a little ways out from the main hub but they provided bikes and it took 5mins to get to town. Its a nice quiet area and all the tours we did were great!!! The boat picked us up at the end of the dock. PERFECT! I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in the Hawk's Roost loft for 1 week and loved every minute of it. The room was spacious, and well equipped with a kitchenette which had everything we needed (including a blender, toaster and coffee maker). The balcony overlooked the pool, ocean and beach. There was 1 bathroom, relatively small for US standards, but enough. There were 3 large ceiling fans and 1 wall a/c unit, and enough windows to air out the room. The bar served great tasting and well priced breakfast and lunch. The drinks were large. The staff was super friendly, even helped us schedule tours, massages, rentals and provided free bikes. The pool is small, but only a few feet from the beach. The location is perfect, no retaining wall to the ocean, about 1-mile south of town. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug7237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Caribbean villas. I was initially disappointed because one of the reasons I choose to stay there was a continental breakfast was included. Upon arrival, we were told of their breakfast and lunch service. When I explained we were on the free continental breakfast program, i was informed they no longer did that AND after the manager was questioned on how to handle our situation, they still did not honor it. We in turn had to purchase our breakfast every morning. It's a beautiful view from the tables, directly on the beach. Our other disappointment was I had asked the front desk to make reservations for us at a local popular restaurant and they forgot. Once I discovered this, the only time available was not workable with our schedule. . But you ask, why 4 stars then? Well, the room was wonderful and large, the beaches are beautiful and one of the few that keep the waterfront raked and cleaned. There dock is spectacular with wonderful chairs and a hammock to enjoy the sun or take the steps directly into the water. The staff is warm and kind. We stayed in unit 4 which has a postcard view of the ocean and the reef ( hol chan) so...would I stay there again, ABSOLUTELY!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a view to die for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in Room 1. Fairly spacious suite with kitchenette, a/c and bath. Quiet, convenient location with nice beach views from porch. The on-site outdoor bar is quite nice. Limited b-fast and lunch reasonably priced food choices. Large selection of drinks. The helpful, friendly staff rented us one of their golf carts because the local cart rental places were swamped Easter week. (You need a cart if you want to see the island beyond the village.) Also arranged fun snorkel tour that picked us up at hotel dock. We feel that other recent reviews are representative of our stay, too.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LandLOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is our second visit to Ambergris Caye, staying at Caribbean Villas again, two years later. We had the same wonderful service - the people are very friendly , the rooms are clean and we did enjoy lunch on sight especially when my husband and fellow diver came in from scuba diving at Belize Diving Adventures ! The rooms were very clean - the maid service excellent. Our favorite restaurant was Hidden Treasures ! They provide free taxi pickup and ride back since they are a bit out of the way - excellent food ! We were there for a week and would definitely go back. Two years ago we were there in February and we did find out that March is usually windy which is not their problem - was not real good for diving ! P.S. We were one day late because of travel connections - they extended our stay with no additional cost !

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite - they have a full kitchen which we only used for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodbine3707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.7 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.1 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
16.2 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
6.9 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
13.1 km away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Property: Caribbean Villas Hotel
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has comfortable suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. With an onsite Dive Shop on our dock to arrange Scuba and Snorkeling excursions, and the Belize Sailing Center on the beach with Sailing, Kayaks, Paddleboards and Windsurfing & Kite surfing rentals, there is no lack of activities for adventure seekers. Or just relax with an oceanfront massage from their onsite masseuse. Our full-time concierge is available to book any mainland tours including Reef & Deep Sea fishing, Jungle Zip-lining, Cave-tubing and Maya Ruin tours. Golf Cart rentals are also available on site. Guests also have access to two fresh water pools, the only Waterslide on the island and the on-site restaurant which serves gourmet Caribbean and Belizean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing