We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$357
US$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayan Princess Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean Tide Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$44
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
36
13
5
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
13
5
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily vacationwelcome drinkbeautiful fishsnorkeling tourseach morningcevichefirst floorgolf cartbrianbartenderhammocksdockislandtownbelizecartssand
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 63 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place is lovely but note it is 4.5 miles out of San Pedro town. There is a water taxi that you can get at scheduled times for $8us each way. There is a restaurant on site which serves great food but is pricey, at least $24us for an average evening meal (just a single meal). I booked just a room which was perfect for what I wanted, but I am aware that people who have booked packages have had a number of issues. The rooms are large and nice and bright. If you want somewhere out of the way and secluded with money to spend then you're good here. The dive company connected with them is a little sketchy about when they'll dive or not. The bar is run by Raymond who is the saviour of the place, he's amazing and will keep you entertained and in drinks! There are better places to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the beach. I was on the ground floor but only one other person there at the time so no noise issues.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthy_HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were a little leery after reading some of the reviews on here that were not so great but we did not have any issues with this hotel and were wondering why half the stuff that was not great was written in the first place. First off, the place is under new management by Ricardo. We were greeted even before we got off the boat. Our bags were carried into our rooms. Our rooms were clean and we were supplied with clean towels and the beds made up daily. There was no trash on the beach. The meals that we ordered were amazing and at a lesser price than the other places near by. My favorite was the spicy pineapple chicken and the coconut shrimp. The entire staff was friendly and we enjoyed our relaxing time at the beach bar the best right on the water. We also did our open water diving certification with Ambergris Divers. The instructor Argyle was the best! We feel fully confident with our equipment and now diving with sharks aren't so scary after all! Thank you for a great stay :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krististepnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great staff. Rick the manager is awesome. This resort is located in the north side of the island. Comfortable rooms and very quiet. Look for Raymond - he is an excellent bartender.
Lucky is a good chef and a very cool guy. Make sure to take the water taxi and avoid renting a golf cart as the roads leading to the resort is in the process of being paved.

There is a grocery store right behind this resort which is fully stocked.

All the staff's are very friendly and courteous. Hope to see you soon!.

Suresh .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sureshmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

My father and I stayed at Ambergris Dive resort for 5 nights. It was quite pleasant and a great stay. I would have no complaint and can confidentiality recommend this resort to others staying in San Pedro. Reading through reviews, it seems others may have had a rough time, but I can say we did not experience such troubles and had a wonderful stay. Here's an overview:

The resort is quite small and very old building, but perfectly well maintained; a rustic feel. You feel like you are right at home. The staff are absolutely lovely and kind. Honestly, chatting and passing time with them at the bar were the best times we had in the Island. They really treat you like family. The manager Tula is charming, absolutely such a sweet woman. As are the groundsmen, cooks, and Raymond the bartender.

Upon arriving we got our promised welcome drink and Tula helped us make arrangements to get a flight on Maya airline for our return trip. Upon leaving, she had arranged the hotel boat to pick us up, right on time, for no charge (alternatively, water taxis are USD$8 one-way to town). All went perfectly smoothly thanks to Tula. She's a hard worker and attentive to all guests that they make their flights on time.

Throughout the stay, we were also welcome to hop on any boat headed to town or back for free, which was a really nice gesture and saved us some money on taxis. You have to be proactive about being around when they leave--they are not generally for guests but it was a really nice gesture by the staff to let us hop on if the boat is headed that direction anyway. Really saved us some cash.

Food is great at the restaurant. A bit pricy but honestly the prices are very comparable to the rest of the resorts, so no complaints there. The island is quite sparse up where this resort is located, but beautiful location! It is quiet and peaceful so its great if that's what you are looking for.

Be prepared to walk and plan your day accordingly to make sure you make it to dinner during serving hours. Most kitchens are open for dinner 6:30 to around 9. There are only 2 other places to eat nearby, Rojo Lounge and Mata Chica, about 10-15 min walk up the beach. Ate in both, and would highly recommend the food (also pricy, $20-30USD a plate.)

We had no problems with the bill. Charged all our meals eaten there (about 3 or 4) and all our drinks to the room. We did not precharge anything or select "All Inclusive" (which is no longer offered), and all worked out great.

Real peaceful down-to-earth place. Its no luxury resort but very comfortable and all basics are provided. Would highly recommend based on the beautiful location, cleanliness and fantastic staff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank fabz1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This resort is located in a beautiful area but it just isn't kept up. The long stretch of beach from the right to the left is is lovely with only this resort's patch of beach not cleaned daily or weekly for that matter of seaweed. This leaves a smaller area of beach to enjoy.
All of the outdoor furniture and restaurant furniture is old and cheap. Again every other resort in the area as you walk up and down the beach has better furniture. There are hammocks which are very nice but that should not be the only comfortable place to rest.
The pool is kept clean but there is a broken ladder without any foot rests so it's unusable.
So sad as the view is fantastic. The staff is very very laid back but if one of them would just be responsible to clean the beach it would be great. Raking around the pool area is not enough as the beach itself needs to be cleaned. Again this is not asking too much as the whole rest of the area up and down the coast is cleaned daily.
I enjoyed the room and it was kept clean and tidy for our stay for this budget style resort.
It seemed that the staff really enjoys the place as they all seem to live there and hang out there at the bar and pool area. One day into the night a group of their kids played in the pool. Nice for them but very loud for guests to enjoy a quiet day. If they were guests I would feel a bit differently but that they were family of the staff which is just a poor thing to do for paying guests. I had asked to move my room away from the pool but now I know why I wasn't as the rooms farther away (and more prime location for privacy) are occupied by the staff.
The drinks were ok nothing special and the food again was ok nothing special and very expensive for what you were served. If you walk down the beach just a bit you can eat and drink for just about the same price at Rojo Beach Bar and enjoy a great pool, fabulous furniture, great cocktails and fantastic food. They keep their beach area clean and it's just a fantastic place to go. Just buying a drink allows you access to relaxing there and enjoying their infinity pool.
Please visit this area but I don't recommend staying at this resort. You can find better though you will have to pay but in the end you have traveled so far and to cheap out for this it's just not worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank orangey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews