We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
38
13
5
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
13
5
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family vacation welcome drink beautiful fish snorkeling tours ceviche each morning bartender hammocks dock island belize golf carts susan sand
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 65 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2018

We had an incredible experience at the Sundiver Beach Resort. Even before we arrived, Brian and Mary answered all of our questions and helped guide us through the various transportation options. Brian met us at the San Pedro airport and arranged a boat ride that took us straight to their dock.

Upon arrival we were immediately greeted with a welcome drink at the bar and Brian and Mary gave us the tour and the lowdown on the resort as our bags were taken to our rooms. Just a wonderful way to start the vacation after a long day of travelling!

We took advantage of several excursions including two snorkeling trips, and a deep sea fishing trip. Brian was able to setup each of these on relative short notice, which was great as it allowed us to be flexible in terms of the weather. We were lucky enough to catch a 50lb Mahi of the fishing trip. We brought the fish back to the resort and the kitchen staff had prepared us fresh Mahi ceviche and fried Mahi as a light lunch within 30 minutes. To top that, they prepared our fish multiple ways (grilled, blackened, beer battered, garlic butter and imperial) for our dinner that evening. It was unbelievable and delicious!

The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. We had everything we needed including bath and beach/pool towels. I recommend the hammock, with an ice cold drink from the bar and a good book! We also spent a great deal of time relaxing by the pool, which was also very clean and convenient.

We brought snack foods with us because we thought we would get hungry in between meals. Not so! The food was just incredible at every single meal. Beyond the kitchen staff cooking up our catch, they were incredibly accommodating to our group. The menu changed daily and seriously, the food was almost worth the trip alone!

Most notable at Sundiver, beyond the facilities and the food is the staff. We wanted for nothing the entire week and I have never felt so taken care of on a vacation. Miss Seleny the office manager was there for us to help with anything we needed including booking excursions. Omar kept the drinks flowing at the bar. Miss Susan was so nice and incredibly accommodating in the kitchen and dining area, and Mr. Chester was ever present to make sure the resort looked great. We were simply blown away by Brian, Mary and the incredible staff!

Sundiver is an ideal destination for a large family or corporate outing. We recommend it highly and will absolutely return!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Mike0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2018 via mobile

My dsughter and I had such a great time at Sundiver Beach Resort. The owner Brian is a great guy who really wants his guest to have a wonderful time. We felt like we had a VIP treatment from the moment we got there, the great staff, good food, swiming with sharks and stingrays, to the morning we left. I sure hope to come back in the future!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis M, Owner at Sundiver Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Thank you for your kind words - it was a pleasure having you as our guests!
We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for a family vacation and had such an incredible time. The service, food, staff, ocean views and resort upkeep were incredible. We had our three young children with us and the staff was very accommodating, complete with making meals kid friendly and having the bib washed and ready at each meal. There were sand toys and pool toys for the kids as well as fresh smoothies made at the bar.
Fresh squeezed juices were offered each morning and the talented cooks prepared a “fish bar” of all the fresh catch from our party’s fishing adventure. The food was delicious and displayed the local flavor through generous portions.
It was clear to see the staff enjoyed their jobs and put a lot of love into doing it well. The beach was raked daily and was by far the nicest kept beach in the area. We saw dolphins, stingray, starfish, crabs, eel, and beautiful fish right off the dock. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute spent here and would recommend to anyone looking for a clean, safe and fun vacation! Thanks Mary and Brian for creating such an
un-Belize-able environment.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Brookeincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis M, Owner at Sundiver Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Thank you for choosing Sundiver for your vacation !
-Brian and Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile

Our family of 23 people, ranging from ages 1 to 54, just finished one of the best vacations on record. We have traveled many areas of the world with our seven children, their spouses, and our grandchildren and we all agree that Sundivers Beach Resort is one of our favorites. From working with Mary to make all of the arrangements, setting the details with Brian, Ms Seleny and Brian meeting us in San Pedro at the airport, Mary welcoming us on the dock at arrival, Mr. Omar serving up any drink you could think of..even those you wouldn’t have thought of, Ms. Susan and her lovely ladies serving some of the freshest tasty food imaginable, always with a smile, Ms. Seleny making ALL of our excursion arrangements and doing all the thinking for us. As the mama of this awesome group, I so much appreciated not having to cook or think about making arrangements or details. Sundivers staff is super accommodating and want to make your week stressless and memorable. The resort set up is fantastic with all of the rooms flanking the pool yet providing an ocean view. The beach is of a beautiful sand which allowed for the adults and children alike to enjoy many many hours of play in the sand. We even had a sand castle contest in which Ms. Seleny judged...all four castles were winners and they gave prizes to the littles. Such a sweet and thoughtful idea. One of our son-in-laws surprised our daughter with a vow renewal to celebrate their 10th anniversary. We thought we would just do this very simply on the beach, yet when Brian and Ms. Seleny heard of the renewal, they went into action. They created a lovely aisle with flowers, palm leaves, and shells, weaved a lovely heart shaped arch, and served appetizers that were out of this world...all of this within three hours of knowing of our plans. This is just a couple of examples of the staff going above and beyond. We so much enjoyed learning how to make fry jacks and tortillas and the kids loved making homemade ice cream. They were always looking out for the littles. I cannot speak highly enough of Sundivers to give you an accurate review. We loved every minute of our time there. I think the words of our 23 year old son sums up the feeling of us all...”this is our best vacation yet. When can we come back?” Not a bad comment from someone who has traveled and experienced many different destinations. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Tdmorse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis M, Owner at Sundiver Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Thank you!!! We had a blast, too - come back soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2017 via mobile

Sundiver is a small, beautiful, rustic resort. The location is absolutely picturesque. I included a pic from outside a standard first floor room.

Location. A bit out of the way. 5 miles from San Pedro doesn't seem far but the bumpy
roads make trekking into and out of town a 30 minute trip. This may not be a bother to you (we didn't mind).

Staff. Omar, the main bartender, made a point to learn everyone's names and drink preferences. Everyone on staff was very nice and happy to fill any special requests. The meals that we had on site were more than adequate.

Referrals. Brian, the owner, has a great network of trusted vendors, tour guides, and cab drivers. He arranged several outings and made numerous recommendations that worked out well.

More on the Owner. Brian is an ex-pat from Baltimore, MD, so he knows American culture well. But his interactions with guests were occasionally odd. We observed him chastising adults guests for: 1) Not wearing sunscreen (even though they were); 2) Calling him after a golf cart broke down (not the drivers' fault whatsoever); and 3) Not communicating departure times (even though the departure flights were sent in advance and reiterated the day before).

I still recommend the resort.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Kimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews