We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read reviews carefully...and know what you want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Read reviews carefully...and know what you want”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Being a believer of the review system, we decided to stay at this property for 9 nights during this past Holiday season. BIG MISTAKE. What a HUGE disappointment! How anyone can rate this property with 5 stars is beyond us. The second we entered the room we were let down. ROOM # 1.. In a very cramped room they had set up an additional bed, nice except not ordered and not needed. Within an hour they had the bed taken apart and taken out of the room. Now we look at unpacking..hmm...3 drawers in a 1960's rattan entertainment center ( which houses a 1990's 19" tube television) is what where looking at. I don't know about your wife, but 3 drawers to my wife are a tease and no way we're getting 2 suit cases of clothes in here. Ok lets hang things up I say....good idea....but probably a better idea would be to actually have a closet in the room. To be fair... there was a 2 foot wide space housing a safe, a pipe that went from the floor to the ceiling and 3 wire hangers that you would get at your dry cleaner. Ok... well perhaps we can live out of the suitcase... of course they will need to remain on the floor as there is no other flat surface in the room. It was about this time that we realized that there was a major problem with the toilet...within 5 minutes a couple of people showed up to fix this...or so we thought. After several attempts to fix it, they said you should change your room...I'm already on my way to the lobby...ROOM #2... is directly next door...After an exhausting trip to Belize (3 flights) and dealing with room #1 for a couple of hours lets unwind with a nice shower....ummm maybe at another hotel...guess what?..no hot water and the water that did come out dribbled. ok... well perhaps a nice cold bath! Morning number 2 down to the lobby I go to complain about the rooms. I was told that there was no other rooms available for 3 more nights...After spending several hours on the phone with the travel agent (another story) we realized that San Pedro was booked and we needed to stay at this luxury resort. Three nights of no hot water or water pressure and I was moved to ROOM #3.. an ocean view suite....for an additional $350 that is! I know that this sounds like a major improvement, it does have a kitchen and is a nice size...BUT still no hot water or pressure. The furnishing are from motel 6 when motel 6 actually charged $6.00 a room. One night the front of the air conditioner fell off for no apparent reason...every day there was a puddle of water on the floor under the air conditioner...the towel bar in the bathroom was broken and half hanging on the wall. Ice cold pool with a hot tub that doesn't heat. Broken fixtures and walk ways...After all these issues, they still had the nerve to charge me an additional $350!...Some answers were that the whole island had poor water pressure, so that's the way it is. So as you read all the reviews for this hotel, you might notice that many compliment the staff, that is because this is the best feature here...if they weren't nice there would be no guests here at all. There are MANY better choices of places to stay in San Pedro...do yourself a favor and stay at any of the other ones!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here because there are no other options in San Pedro, choose the ocean view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bargainhuntah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    149
    89
    28
    18
See reviews for
73
168
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This place offers very friendly service, its got two swimming pools, a restaurant, golf cart rentals, a small store that can arrange tours, its got a great location overlooking the water with a beach and beach chairs, wifi and a computer for internet access. Not right in san pedro but 10 minute ride away.. My only concern was that the shower could have been nicer with better water pressure but it was clealn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preetz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was the last property we visited on our Belize tour and it was sadly lacking. Our room, although clean was missing a phone, lamp, and towels. Or friends next door had a broken refrigerator. The property was in disrepair, the hot water was weak and then stopped. It took two days to get it working (the whole second floor). The courtyard deck was rotting and in need of repair. To be honest, the staff did what they could to to make amends but after our stay at San Ignacio, this was a real disappointment. Also, be aware the beach here is not useable other than to sit and look at the water. Three of our party of four also came down with an intestinal problem on the second day. The property is in walking distance to town and there are properties nearby that were much better for the same price.

Room Tip: Call ahead and make sure you have an water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rural montana
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was the 2nd visit to San Pedro and to Banana Beach. This time we took our adult kids.We had heard that new owners had taken over and it was not as good but the old owners have it bakc and it is still a great place. We looked at others places but we wanted beachside and within waliking distance to town. They offered us a great deal and the rooms and kitchens were great for us. No it is not a resort but i dont like resorts since I want something that lets you meet the locals and visit with them and get thier suggestions. everyone is so friendly and happy. The massages are amazing according to my sons friend. I was gonna get one but was afraid of missing something. El Divinos has a great Margarita night and The Ceviche is awesome as are the other things on the menu. The oceanfront rooms are. 2 pools and we promised we were gonna try them this time but so much to do. If you are looking for gentle sloping beaches, know that Ambergris Caye has shallow Beaches and most are snorkeling approved but often have sea grass, lots of it. But this is still a beautiful place~ enjoy the moment. Go way up north 1 1/2 miles past the bridge, with your golf cart and visit the Palapa Bar, another amazing experience. The Mata Rocks bar next door is beachside and also a fun experience. Waragumas resturant in town is also a great experience and great food. As was Elvis Kitchen. Take a trip with Lil Alphonso, he gives a great tour of the sharks and Hol Chan marine reserve.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildwomenonwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The staff at this hotel, (all Belizeans), were WONDERFUL! We'd heard it all before in other places: "Great, friendly staff..." only to find that to be a gross exaggeration, well... not here. The staff at Banana Beach are the most genuinely warm we've encountered in all our travels! The food at the hotel restaurant was good. We loved the calamari! Beachfront is kept in meticulous condition, and the lounge chairs there abound, as do the large, shady palms. Located within easy walking distance of downtown San Pedro if you enjoy walking. The only negatives were: 1. VERY small, cramped bathrooms 2.Limited drawer space for clothing 3. Insufficient number of pillows. 4. Small TV's (not an issue for us until the championship games were on) Otherwise, quite a nice experience, and worthy of a good recommendation!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Banana Beach Hotel – Belize

Well another great vacation, we were in Belize from 19 – 27 Jan 2012. We stayed at Banana Beach, a nice hotel with very friendly staff. Once again I was warn readers that this is not a 5 star paradise, rather it is a suitable hotel for our needs. Well what are our needs might be your next question so that is what I will answer. We need clean rooms, hot showers, friendly staff and helpful booking agents to get us where we want to go to see the things we want to see.

This hotel met all these requirements, the room was not spectacular, but it had a king size bed with an airconditioner, this was most appreciated as the average temperature was 27C (80F). The shower had sufficient hot water, although the water pressure was not the greatest, it worked and that was important. The only incident we had was the toilet not working, this was fixed within 30 minutes of us reporting it – I still am not sure what the issue was. The staff were friendly, cleaned the rooms on time and were always smiling when we were walking around. We were staying in a room on the north side of the hotel, as such we managed to hook into an unsecured wireless network in the area, I saw that Banana Beach had a wireless network but it was secured, I didnt see the need to go and get the password when I wasnt really using the internet that much anyway :).

To get to the hotel can be a little worrisome – we got a plane to Belize city and from here we planned to take a water taxi. We took a regular taxi who headed off at quite a pace that I have determined is typical for all central America and we were heading along what I thought were side streets in the middle of no where when he stopped and suddenly someone was unloading our luggage, of course this cause a minor panic but we were at the water taxi, and from there we went off to Ambergis Caye. San Pedro is a nice enough town, however there are regular vehicles in the town and the taxis are of the mini van variety. Although there are a number of golf carts, these are not the only mode of transport in the area.

Ruby from Monkey Business Tours helped us book all our adventures, she was great and always had a smile and laugh, even when we were bugging her to make sure things were all organized. So what did we do?

Well mostly diving, it is why we went there and it is what we did. Yes we did dive the Blue Hole – if diving is your thing you should do this even though it is expensive, it is a once in a lifetime dive, it was incredible. We did do other local dives as well and saw a number of turtles and a hammerhead shark. We saw a lot of other sea life, lots of coral and very enjoyable diving all in all. We also went to Lamanai Mayan Ruins, although this was interesting and enjoyable, I did not think the effort to get there was really worth it. It was an all day trip with about a hour at the ruins, but it was different and something else to do which was great.

Banana Beach is just south of San Pedro on Ambergis Caye, we walked to town a couple of times, it took about 30 minutes and was not a bad walk. We did try various different restaurants and had success for the most part, although some of them were over priced for what you got. We did have some issues finding authentic Belizean foods, and not as many seafood restaurants as I would have expected from an island, but we did not find anything we would not eat and had some fun trying different foods.

For those who are thinking of going to Belize, please be warned that in general it is not a cheap vacation, although you could probably do it cheaper than we did as the diving was our biggest expense.

If diving is your thing, I would certainly suggest going here, other than that fishing I can see being something you could do but I don’t see much other point in going here.

All in all a fun time, I would certainly stay at this hotel again, and do some more of the dives in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMSOutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had one of the one bedroom suites with kitchen and loved it. There was no oven but enough supplies to allow my wife and I make a few simple meals a day. There was several grocery stores 5 min walk away that supplied a reasonable amount of cooking necessities.

The restaurant at the resort was great, all of the ingredients were always very fresh. The drinks at the bar were also fantastic; perfect pina coladas.

The beach at the resort was a big let down, it is a concrete barrier down into the water. The water itself is not really swimmable right in front of the resort unless you are jumping in from the dock. The beach lounge chairs were soft and great for sun tanning. There were also some areas walking distance up the beach that were suitable for swimming. Almost all of the resorts in San Pedro were in the same boat when it came to beaches; great for tanning but not that great for swimming.

From what we could tell this was one of the nicer resorts in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tayber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.6 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
16.8 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
146 reviews
2.3 km away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#26 of 53 in San Pedro
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,042 reviews
3.0 km away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#23 of 53 in San Pedro
348 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#34 of 53 in San Pedro
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Property: Banana Beach Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing