We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rubys”
Review of Ruby's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruby's Hotel
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rubys”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

myself, my daughter and her husband stayed at this establishment during the christmas and new years holidays 2011-12 and as always, its clean and well kept. BUT...we visit friends who live in San Pedro and our friends were embarassed and belittled by the "security" at the hotel and told locals cannot step foot on the premises. we have stayed here in the past but will never step foot on their property again. Shame on them for treating their neighbors this way.

Room Tip: third floor beach balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcashman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    55
    34
    14
    14
See reviews for
7
57
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We went to Ambergris last month and stayed at Ruby's Hotel in San Pedro. The only way I can describe the decore and ammenities is basic. However it was clean beyond reproach and a location tat can't be beat. The showers had lots of pressure and plenty of hot water. Some rooms have AC and ours worked very well. A treat for us since our home in Mexico doesn't have AC.
It is located right on the beach in the middle of town. We had a ground level room with a small balcony so were able to see all the foot traffic on the beach. It also has a common area on each floor to have a beer or breakfast. Which brings me to 'Johnny Cakes'. On the street side of Ruby's they have a coffee shop and small take out. Johnny Cakes are served hot every morning with fresh brewed coffee. You can get a variety of filliings for your Johnny Cakes. My fav was bacon and eggs. Ruby's also may be the only place where you get real Belize coffee. Other places we went to have instant.
For early risers like me the coffee shop opens around 5 AM. All of the fishing guides are there for breakfast and thus a great place to find out about tours.
They have a private area on the beach side with lounge chairs and at the office on the beach you can buy a cold drink (yes beer) and lay in the sun.Also it is only a 5 minute walk from the water taxi dock.
As I said basic but highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for an AC room. ATMs are spotty bring Belize dollars. You can exchange any left over on the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcadue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Ruby's is a nice, very clean hotel that is right downtown San Pedro. Our room didn't have air, but we didn't need it because it was winter. Everything you need is within walking distance. We plan to stay at Ruby's next time we visit Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dblhaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Right from the start the hotel was just what we were looking for. One of the oldest original hotels on the island, it takes you back to the days before tourists. For $45 USD we had a beach front unit that was perfect with air conditioning when we needed it. Yes there are nicer hotels but they don't have the charm or character of old Belize. Everyone was helpful and kind. Estel and her husband were always around to say hello. For the price you cant beat it. One thing that was nice when we were there, was they did not hold us to our original 10 day reservation. We had the option of paying as we went and could move to another hotel any day. The location was right in the center of the action and just down the beach a few steps to Estels restaurant for breakfast on the beach. The combo is so San Pedro. They will cash your travelers checks as well. Highly recommend them for extra security but you can easily get cash from ATMs on the island as well. They do have WiFi if you need it too. Nov 2011

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room for the best view of the beach. There are 4 units and all of them are the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quartz Hill, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Ruby's is right on the beach and close to the most happening spots on the beach. If you are looking for luxury skip this place. However, if you're looking for a place with views, shower, beds, and clean towels..then this is your place. Get the room with the A/C, as you will get tired of the humidity as some point. Biggest drawback...the Cafe that Ruby's fun is the Local meeting spot and they arise early...like 5ish AM. It can get pretty noisy. We didn't mind because most the tours start at 7am so you'll probably be up. But for $60 US dollar, right on the beach...what the heck do you expect?

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view and A/C. and Enjoy :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler93536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Very comfortable, very well kept rooms, very affordable prices. Great beach front location. Returning in Jan 2012.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean avoid the morning hustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAWiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

If you don't plan to stay in your room and you are ok with beds that are not so conferrable and an old room it is all good. There is a bit of noise but I kept my fan running. Things are clean but very old and maybe not enough light. Everything works and it is a good location for about $40 a night you are ocean front. They make sure people do not come around at night because you are on the beach people may wonder around the hotel at night on the weekends but they make sure things are safe. Also, they have internet. It is good view off the roof too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdoptionGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 km away
Spindrift Hotel
Spindrift Hotel
#44 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.4 km away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 km away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.5 km away
Ambergris Beach House
Ambergris Beach House
#24 of 30 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#9 of 30 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Hotel

Property: Ruby's Hotel
Address: Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rubys Hotel San Pedro
Ruby's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing