We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at Belizean Shores for a month. Our flight was delayed by a day upon arrival and we wondered how we were going to get to the resort because we were unable to notify anyone at Belizean Shores of our delay, however the minute our plane landed in San Pedro, a taxi was there waiting for us. He took us to the Tuff Enuff water taxi and from there we were brought to Belizean Shores. We didn't have to handle our luggage at all because they took care of it all for us! When we arrived at our resort, we were greeted by Marianne who came bearing complimentary rum punch. She told us all about the amenities at our resort and brought us to our condo. The condo was beautiful, clean, and had an awesome ocean and pool view. The people who work at Belizean Shores are amazing! They were always friendly and helpful. The pool bartenders were always tons of fun to chat and joke around with and they make drinks like no other place on the island! The main bar and restaurant staff were also very friendly and a lot of fun, always greeting you with a smile and giving fantastic service. The restaurant bartender, Elder, makes the prettiest looking drinks you have ever seen, and they taste even better than they look! The guys at Tuff Enuff water taxi and tours were always a blast, laughing and joking, singing, dancing, and basically entertaining everyone. I got my dive certification through Tuff Enuff and my divemaster Billy was extremely knowledgable and helpful! Can't say enough good things about this place, but if you have a chance to go it's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank subsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    244
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
187
359
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our family stayed at Belizean Shores last year and all in all it was a great stay. It was nice to have a full kitchen, living room and separate bedroom. The snorkeling was good in the area and I even caught fish off the dock. The food was average, but pricey. Fortunately there are other restaurants within a short golf cart ride. I would have rated a 5, but there is not a good swimming area (nor are there at most other Ambergris resorts) and the kid working the front desk tried to rip my wife off on the exchange rate. As we live abroad, we are accustomed to exchange rates and caught the "mistake". Having said that, the rest of the staff was very helpful and accommodating. I would and have recommended this resort to friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explorinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Belizean Shores for 11 days. We took the short flight from the mainland via Tropic Air and highly recommend the little bit extra cost. When we arrived in San Pedro, there was a taxi waiting to take us to the dock for the short boat ride to the resort. Upon arrival at the resort Marianne was waiting with rum punch for us. Our bags were taken to our room and she showed us around and said when you are ready you can come check in. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel welcome and they were always smiling.
The restaurant at the resort had decent food and there are also several other options within a short walk. There is a local that comes by everyday on a bicycle selling tamales and burritos around 8 am and they are excellent and $2 US.
We were also celebrating our anniversary and Marianne and the desk staff were very helpful in recommending a good restaurant and handling the reservations for me. They recommended Mambo and it was outstanding. They picked us up at the dock and brought us back when we were done. While away for dinner that night the staff got into our room and placed a heart with flower petals inside the door, a trail of petals to the bedroom and wrote happy anniversary in flower petals on the bed. There was also a bottle of wine and a card from the staff wishing us a happy annniversary. Definitely a nice surprise and above and beyond what they needed to do. It made our night.
If I travel back to Belize I will definitely stay at Belizean Shores again and would recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubamikeSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our stay at the Belizean Shores Resort was wonderful. From the moment we arrived Marianne made us feel so welcome. She was like an old friend by the end of our 10 day stay there. Everywhere we went at the resort we saw her smiling face.The front desk staff were all friendly and would do anything for you. The bartenders at the swim up bar were fun. Zoby at Tuff-Enuff Tours was so nice. We loved our condo. It had everything we needed. We had an upper level unit which was nice for the views and the breeze at night.The pool was great and never too crowded. The grounds were beautiful and I loved the iguanas that hang around there. I also really liked our location. It was very peaceful and serene. Walking along the beach there is so beautiful. We bought a week water taxi pass and it was only a 10 minute ride to town. And it was fun to take the water taxi. So, I think we had the best of both worlds. The quietness of our area and only a short ride to San Pedro. We bought our groceries for breakfast and lunch at Mata Grande Grocery. They deliver which is nice. You can order on line at the front desk or walk the 25 minutes north to the store.There is also a produce boat that comes every Tuesday. We usually ate out for supper. Some of our favorites were El Fogon, Blue Water Grill, Dande's Frozen Custard and Sorbet, Lola's Pub and Grill, Rendezvous ( a 10 minute walk north of our place to have a beer), and Palapa's ( the water taxi will take you there and you can walk back). You can sit on inner tubes in the water and they lower buckets of beer down to you. A very fun way to spend the afternoon! We went snorkeling at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. Something you don't want to miss. We had a great 10 days. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This was my 3rd trip and I was greeted by name by the staff, how wonderfull is that. Just another reason I love this place. I did have the opportunity to look @ other units on this visit and was very pleased with the upgrades that have taken place. Belizean Shores has that unique Belize feel. The bar and restaurant staff are always visiable around the pool, another great feature.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at the Belizean Shores Resort in January 2012. We took the water taxi to the island...if I had to do it again, I would fly to San Pedro. It is a very nice hotel with condos that are rented as rooms. We had a full kitchen, sitting living room and plenty of space. Initially we had terrible water pressure in the shower and several lightbulbs were burned out. The front desk worked quickly to correct all concerns and we were very comfortable. The hotel is north of downtown by about 3.5 miles. The best way to get back and forth is by water taxi. The pool is very nice and there are kayaks and snorkeling equipment. There are moray eels that live in the dock outside the hotel--we saw them--very cool! you can easily kayak to the reef and there is good snorkeling just off the hotel. We also took a snorkel trip to Hol-Chan through the Tuff-Enuff establishment associated with the hotel. The guide and snorkeling were phenomenal. We swam with rays and sharks and saw sea turtles. Very cool!. Not a place for very young children due to the perils of the ocean, but perfect for couples and adventure seekers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiho70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield, mo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful week in Belize. We travel frequently and generally take things as they come. We were very impressed though with the customer service of Belizean Shores. We were put on an earlier flight from Belize City to San Pedro, so we assumed that there would be some waiting for our ride to the resort. When we got off of the plane, there was a gentleman waiting for us. He greeted us with a big smile, put our bags in a golf cart and took us to the dock to get on our water taxi where we were again greeted again with smiles. After a few minutes boat ride we arrived at the Belizean Shore dock where Marianne met us and escorted us to the bar where she presented us with a much apprreciated, cool refreshing rum punch. She gave us an overview of the resort, answered any questions and led us to our room. We were told to just relax, unpack, change clothes and take our time....to just check in at the office when we were ready. Very laid back and friendly. We immediately realized that this was our kind of place. We stayed in a ground floor unit and noticed that there were no curtains on the front door. When we checked in, we mentioned it and said it was no big deal, but asked if we could have something temporarily put over it. By the time we walked around the pool and finished our drink, they had someone there installing brand new curtains! We were impressed. We really liked the layout of the units. The furnishings were nice and the bed was comfortable. The air conditioning work great, which is different that a lot of places we stay in warmer destinations. We loved all of the wood trim used in the units. They really had a carribean feel. We stayed in a ground floor unit and our friends stayed in an upper unit. We liked walking right out onto the sand, but our friends like the view from the upper unit and also the vaulted wood ceilings. So both have their advantages. The units all have kitchens so you can stock your frig and cook if you want. We didn't do any cooking, but kept snacks and drinks for happy hour and late at night. The pool was very nice and there were always plenty of chairs. The pool bar staff was very friendly and outgoing. They let us put our own ipod on the speaker at times when no one else was there. The food and drinks that we ordered poolside were really good. We seemed to see Marianne at every turn. She was always smiling and asking if there was anything we needed or any questions. Outstanding service! Belizean Shores is about 3 1/2 miles from town. Just far enough to get away, but close enough for a water taxi ride. The week pass on the water taxi is the way to go. $25 for unlimited trips to and from town. The town is small, so it doesn't take long to get your bearings. A few places that we really liked were 1) for a taste of local cuisine - Waraguma (seafood burrito is way big enough for two and the papusas are made on the street in front of you). 2) Fido is a good place to have a beer and listen to some laid back music 3) Estelles - great place on the beach. We had breakfast there a few times. A short walk from the resort is a restaurant called Capricorn that we really liked. A guy comes by the resort about 8:30 or so in the morning on his bike with breakfast burritos also. One day we took the catamaran trip from Tuff n Uff there at the resort. We snorkeled, swam with the sharks and had a great lunch, and maybe a rum punch or two. All in all, a great week. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rapidrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
9.8 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
7.1 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
6.0 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.2 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
6.3 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Property: Belizean Shores Resort
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing