We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great bunch of people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great bunch of people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Marianne was great. She greeted us when we arrived, explained things and showed us to our place. Everyone was very nice, friendly and assisted us in anything that we needed. The rooms were pleasant and were clean and had a fully stocked kitchen. It is 3 miles from town, which is an 8 minute water taxi ride. If you plan on going back and forth to town a lot, you can get a 5 or 7 day water taxi pass. We only went to town twice and did things closer to Belizean Shores. The morning we were leaving Marianne came by to say bye even though she had the morning off, just shows what a good manager she is.

Another tip - if you fly into Belize City just catch a flight from their to San Pedro. It cost more than the long water taxi but it only takes 15 minutes. Also if you call ahead of time and thell them when you are coming in they will have someone at the airport to meet you, take you to the dock, put you on a water taxi and Marianne will meet you at their dock. It really made the start of the trip great.

Room Tip: rooms 1 a through d and 12 a through d are facing the ocean and received a constant breeze. we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plstrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    244
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
187
359
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I encourage you all to consider the Belizean Shores Resort. The People here are extra ordinary pulling all the stops for amazing experience! I had the pleasure of booking our real estate tour here working with Michaela Ann was a real pleasure. I was a very complicated situation to handle but she made things happen for with a beautiful display of courtesy, consideration and sharing of ideas as well as answering my many, many , many questions. All that I have heard from our members is how warm and welcoming and great the resort is.
So thank you Michaela to you and all of your staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtlleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

excellent property right on the beach! beautiful little condos--master bed on the first floor with a loft sofa bed upstairs . balcony to sit on & watch the sunrise. marianne is the manager--very personable. buy a ferry pass for travel back & forth to town & your favorite restaurants. everyone is so nice! kayak & snorkel in front of the hotel for free. good place

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chigirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Since you are paying top dollar to stay at a resort, my ranking is a lot more tough then if I had stayed a budget hotel. The resort itself is 3.5 miles away from town, so if you are going to stay on the resorts property you will have a quiet relaxing vacation. If you plan to go into San Pedro for the restaurants or dive tour groups located there you will be dependent on a water taxi ($5 US one way per person) or rent a bike or golf cart.

The room we had was on the lower level and came with a kitchen. Only complainants was the bed was too soft, shower had little pressure and the water smelt and there were tiny ants all over the kitchen.

If you have the money pay to stay at Coco Beach next door they have the same owner, but Coco Beach looked far superior.

We had groceries delivered and cooked most our meals as the restaurants are expensive and the swim up bar at the resort charged $6 US per drink.

Overall it was not a negative experience. The room was comfortable, staff was friendly, pool was nice and there were not lots of people around like at a Mexican resort. I would have no issues coming back but I would also be open to trying something different next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadianballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The place is absolutly beutifull! Run by a wonderfull staff who are not only extremely professional but genuinely freindly and personable. Marianne does a great job making sure you have everything you need for a perfect vacation. The property is beutifully designed, the villas are roomy, and everything worked! The pool has got to be the best on the island and William the bartender was fun to be around and quick with recommendations. My dive buddy arrived two days after myself and the staff went out of their way to ensure we were properly greeted and sent off on both different times. I highly recommend...you cant go wrong!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have balcony or patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaDiveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Belizean Shores is in a quiet, relatively remote part of Ambergris Caye, about 2-3 miles north of downtown San Pedro. When we arrived at the airport in Belize City, we had the choice to take a one-hour water taxi ride or a 15-minute airplane ride to San Pedro. The water taxi is certainly cheaper than the airplane ride, but also realize you have to take a regular taxi to get to the water taxi station in Belize City and then take the water taxi to San Pedro and then you have to take another 15 minute water taxi ride to Belizean Shores. We decided to take Tropic Air, which was about $150 per person. Yes it is expensive. Frankly, it feels like a ripoff, but after basically a whole day of traveling, you just want to get there. However, you may have to wait about an hour for the next flight, so it is not necessarily a time saver. Once in San Pedro you will take a 2 minute taxi ride to the water taxi dock and then take a 15 minute water taxi ride to Belizean Shores.

When we first arrived at Belizean Shores we were greeted by MariAnn with drinks in hand for us! We were taken to our room right away and got to settle in before Dennis came to finish up the paper work. I am not sure all the suites are the same. Our suite was a one bedroom with a queen size bed (a minor bummer), it had kitchenette, a shower stall only bathroom, and a small dining table, and a sitting area with outdated furniture and an old small tube TV with horrible reception. However, overall it was nice, but not luxurious. My husband or I didn’t care too much, because the most important thing was that it was very clean. Besides, we didn’t plan on spending much time in the suite anyway and would rather spend our money on activities.

So if you want to eat or tour around the town of San Pedro, you either have to rent a golf cart from the front desk, which is fun but expensive or take the water taxi at the designated times, which is a little restrictive, but very cheap. We decided on renting the golf cart for 5 days, which was about $250. It gave us the freedom to drive to different resorts for meals, explore the Caye, and drive 30 minutes any time of day or night into town. One “surprise” is that there is a $5.00 (US) bridge fee that you must pay each round trip to town. If you choose the water taxi, you can get an unlimited five-day pass. However, you have to coordinate your meal reservations or other excursions with the water taxi times. The problem lies in that there is a 7:00 pm boat but then the next one is at 9:00 pm from Belizean Shores. The next problem is the last boat back to Belizean Shores leaves the dock at 10:00 pm.

We did one excursion with Tuff-E-Nuff, it was about $270 for the two of us on a ½-day catamaran. Expensive, but I think that is the going rate around town anyway. The guides were great and the snorkel tour was well worth it. Not to mention it is nice to spend an hour catching rays in front of the catamaran to and having drinks and ceviche on the return trip.

The pool is adequate and intimate, people that are strangers become friendly with each other. The hot tub is hot! The pool bartender is a bit slow with drinks, but nothing unusual for the culture. A few times the pool bar ran out of our favorite drinks and never replenished. The pool bar closes around 8:00 pm, sometimes earlier. Coincidentally, quiet hours on the resort are also 8:00 pm-8:00 am, so the pool area empties out, but a few people stay in the hot tub.

We didn’t eat at the Green Iguana Restaurant, but had ordered burgers for poolside. A great burger, I highly recommend it! We only had drinks at the restaurant, which we received adequate attention.

Belize is expensive, but after spending nearly $40.00 for breakfast one morning for a mediocre meal. We decided it would be worth saving a few buck everyday to cook our breakfast in the kitchenette. We bought tortillas from a local lady (10 for $1), and bacon, eggs, and butter from the grocery store to make breakfast. From the local vendors we bought some Marie Sharp’s hot sauce and got some Guatemalan coffee beans that were roasted locally. That was a mighty fine cup of coffee every morning. We ate breakfast on the deck daily. A great way to start the day!

Overall, Belizean Shores has a great, attentive staff. It is a good value and a nice “home-base” while exploring Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

In February 2012 was with a large group of family and friends to attend a wedding and stay a Belizean Shores Resort. Everthing was great. The staff, wedding planner and Tuff E Nuff
tours went out of there way to make a stay perfect. The units are spacious and very comfortable. I would recomment this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Beach front is best but any unit has great view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
9.8 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
7.1 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
6.0 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.2 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
6.3 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Property: Belizean Shores Resort
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing