We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough words to convey how perfect...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not enough words to convey how perfect...”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I feel obligated to write a glowing review of Xanadu, since the previous reviews were what swayed me to pick this resort for our first trip to Belize. I think one of the best measures to gauge how fantastic a place is, is how quickly you begin to think of your return trip. Well, I was considering our return trip before we even left. This was hands down, a phenomenal experience. Not only was San Pedro & Belize incredible (so much better than being gated into your resort in other Caribbean islands) to experience, Xanadu itself went above and beyond my expectations. The staff, like everyone else says, is so beyond helpful and patient w/us sometimes dumb and slow Americans! Booking flights, excursions, providing restaurant suggestions, and advice, they are hands down, the best! The redefine the meaning of exemplary service. Now to the room. We stayed in the #6 loft (2 people) which was fully equipped w/a kitchen, living room, TWO BATHROOMS!!!, and giant bed. It also had a fully functional tv which normally wouldn't matter, but we happened to be down during the first week of March Madness and being able to check in on the games briefly rather than walking to a bar, was surprisingly very convenient. The front deck was the best part. A hammock & table and chairs provided wonderfully relaxing experiences for hanging out in the shade and eating meals. I love that you can cook meals whenever you'd like rather than depending on eating heavy meals out. Although I went as a couple, this resort was family friendly as well. It was so peaceful and quiet which we loved, yet so close to more action if/when you needed it. It is located very close to two supermarkets which is great for stocking the kitchen for the week and is also not far from a produce stand which we stopped at on all our bike rides home! From the resort you can walk just about anywhere on the island on the beach - what's better than that? I will DEFINITELY return to Xanadu & can't wait to do so!!

Room Tip: doubt there is a bad room here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingQueen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    114
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
357
577
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My family and I have been planning this strip since October 20122. It was our first, but for sure not our last, visit to Belize and the Xanadu Resort. From the very beginning, the entire staff went out of their way to help us plan and organize our 7 day trip - they made plane reservation to get us into Ambergris Caye from Belize City; set-up our various excusrions; helped us find a local provisioner for our room and answered every other question we could think of. Once we arrived, everything was perfect and stayed that way for the entire week. We were a family of 4 - 2 parents and my sons 11 and 14 so we sated in suite 18: 3 bedrooms and 3 baths; full kitchen and living room and beautiful porch with an awesome hammock and full table with 6 chairs. We were on the 2nd floor so we had good views of everything. We were 30 feet from the pool and 100 feet from the beach/Caribbean Sea. We were 20 minutes, walking, from downtown San Pedro (walking on the beach - the roads are much longer since they wind through the town - but we felt like we were in a totally isolated environment. The resort owners created a locale that blends in with the local environment, which shields the place from noise and enhances the relaxed atmosphere - no other place is like it on the island and we wandered far and wide. Everyone keeps the grounds looking perfect and everyone there does their best to help you with any needs. Two grocery stores are within 3 minutes - Mariana's is literally next to the entrance and a full-service supermarket is just past that. Lots of good restaurants within 5-10 minutes along the beach. Many other resorts offer complimentary golf-cart shuttles and a taxi ride is only $5 anywhere from Xanadu - keep in mind that there is a "toll bridge" from the South side (Xanadu side) to the North side (when many private homes and a few pricier resorts are) - but the town of San Pedro is on the South side so taxis are very inexpensive. There is a laundry facility ($7.50 which includes your detergent, wash and dry); dvd player and movies to use in your room; access to a long pier with snorkeling at the end in a protected area; snorkel gear to rent; free kayaks to paddle around as far as your heart desires. They can also book any excursion you set your mind on - there is a board listing many of the popular ones in the office but if you can think of it, they can help you. The resort also offers studio rooms, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom places, too. Just call and inquire, there is a USA number to call so you don;t pay international fees, or e-mail the resort they love to help. We look forward to seeing everyone next year.

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings (6 rooms) that are ocean front - but the other 4 buildings have views, too. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMaxCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

If you are looking for a spot close to downtown San Pedro, but looking for peace, quiet, beautiful setting, dock close to one of the healthiest protected reefs in the world, lovely staff, rooms with full kitchens then you should read more and go to Xanadu Resort.

We arrived on March 4, 2012 and stayed 5 nights in 7B (one bedroom suite with garden pool view). I would recommend Xanadu and truly hope to return, but for much longer than 5 nights. We chose to split our vacation at two different locations. 5 nights at Xanadu and 5 nights north of San Pedro in a rented Villa at Caye Villas. It worked out well with two locations, two vibes for one great vacation.

Xanadu is located on the beach; you can walk into town via the beach (much shorter walking via the beach), use their bikes (I loved this mode of transportation, my favorite, the bikes have baskets and very easy to ride), or rent a golf cart. We rented a golf cart one day since it was raining, we had a blast, but be warned (just ask our friends who sat in the back), the roads are bumpy.

Since Xanadu has rooms with full kitchens we chose to go to the grocery store (plenty in the area or downtown). We enjoyed every meal out, but will call out some highlights..Wild Mango, Blue Iguana, Caliente. We went to Ramon’s for BBQ one night; it was the most disappointing meal of the vacation. Their property is gorgeous, but BBQ was not what we expected and cold. We tried to go to Rojo Lounge on the north end of the island because we heard it was so good with great atmosphere. We waited 15 minutes before anyone even said hello, we chose not to give them our hard earned money.

When you arrive in Belize City, go to the Duty Free shop and buy liquor, we found this to be very inexpensive. This is prior to getting on Tropic Air flight to San Pedro. We loved Tropic Air if you trying to decide to take the ferry or Tropic Air. Tropic Air is moves quickly and much easier than leaving the airport for a much longer ferry. I made the mistake of over packing, this is a casual place and don’t need much.

Our king size bed in 7B was one of the most comfortable beds I’ve slept away from home. Not one bad night’s sleep. 7B had lots of living room space, big counter with bar stools, good kitchen to cook, and big bathroom (loved all the counter space in the bathroom, but bathroom needed updates). Lots of space on front veranda with table to eat outside (you have ocean views from this room too). 7B is probably the second lowest category to 1 bedroom studio (#4), but that location looked nice to me too. The property is so small, all rooms have good location. If you are looking for a resort with restaurant/bar, this resort does not have either, but did not bother me one bit. We made our own cocktails and headed out when we wanted. Bring your eye covers (if light bothers you when you sleep) because I noticed they do keep outside lights on most of the night for security. I believe San Pedro probably has crime like any town/city, but not once did I feel uncomfortable. It felt very safe, but follow simple rules as you would traveling anywhere in the world or at home.

The staff is so friendly, big shout out to Ingrid, Blanca, Jamal, Debbie, and Orlando. Great team!

Go snorkeling/diving for sure, this protected reef is stunning. We went snorkeling at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley with Lil Alphonse. When I tell you it was amazing, it was truly amazing.

I especially want to say the people in San Pedro are so genuine! Speaking English was not an issue, they take US dollars, and we found it was well worth the 3 flights from Boston (OK, the last flight is a puddle jumper for less than 30 minutes). Go to Belize and stay at Xanadu! If you have any specific questions, feel free to ask.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, have full kitchens, it comes down to how much you want to spend and how many ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lhamnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Wonderful accommodations, but it's the team that makes the difference. On the last day of our vacation, it was apparent the owners had returned from being off island. The only indication we had was that there was a family of new faces working around the resort. While away their team of Jamil, Orlando, Ingrid and the sweet FOM who is expecting a baby- handled the resort like they were the owners. It always speaks volumes of ownership when you can leave and not be missed by your guests.
Jamil went out of his way to help us plan several outstanding day trips. Our favorite was a day on the mainland with Cavetubing.bz who are first rate as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Xanadu is a beautiful resort and the staff was fabulous! We stayed in the three bedroom, three bathroom oceanview condo and it was wonderful. We had three couples on this trip, so the condo was perfect. We had plenty of space. This unit has a beautiful wrap around deck with table and chairs, lounge chairs and even a hammock, so it was perfect for our group to sit outside in the morning and evening to take in the gorgeous views. The grounds of the resort were well kept. I would highly recommend the resort and island for couples as well as families.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanview rooms as the views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had booked a one bedroom, ground level pool view, but were upgraded to a 2 bedroom, 2 bath 2nd floor, with partial ocean view. Huge space for 2 people! Would be excellent for families or couples traveling together.Wonderful wrap around veranda with table, chairs, hammock and chaise lounge.While not new, it was clean and more than what we expected. Staff very helpful, making dinner, snorkel reservations.
Keep in mind none of the resorts have a walk- in beach, as the island is surrounded by sea grass.There is a really long dock with a roped off swimmiing area. The pool area was nice, the grounds immaculate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelopolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Xanadu is beyond amazing - a gorgeous resort with a staff that is second to none. The grounds are impeccably kept and the atmosphere is perfect for relaxing. From the moment we booked our reservation to our departure experience was top notch. Wholeheartedly recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2teentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
5.3 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.0 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
5.9 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
461 reviews
7.1 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing