We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort in a great location”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Resort:
Xanadu did not disappoint! I will start with the rooms. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath condo right on the beach. The location really couldn't be better. The condos are a little dated and sort of rustic in appearance on inside. If you are expecting or desiring the Ritz, go somewhere else. They rooms were very clean and full of all the amenities you would want are inside, microwave, fridge, t.v., phone, full kitchen, pots, wine opener, bottled water, a.c. This is really convenient when traveling with kids who may not want to eat out every meal. We made a few trips to the store for fruit, cereal, soup and snack food along with wine and beer for the adults. The grounds are very clean and well-kept and just gorgeous. We wanted a family friendly atmosphere and this was just it! The pool is nice with lounge chairs in abundance. While there isn't a restaurant on site, we walked to Rico's at the Banyan Bay right next door for breakfast and lunch several times as well as took our golf cart there. It was nice in a way to make us venture out more without just eating at the convenient on site restaurant. They offer free bikes and have smaller ones for kids as well as kayaks and snorkel equipment for rent.

Staff:
The staff is amazing at Xanadu. They helped us with restaurant ideas and reservations, excursions, grocery locations, they arranged our golf cart for the week (this was very nice to have although it would have been easy enough to get around without it, we really enjoyed having it when we wanted to go out and about) We always felt safe while on the property.

Location:
We loved the location of Xanadu--very close to the town of San Pedro but enough removed as well, easy access to all shops and restaurants! We used J/J's laundry service (we dropped off dirty clothes and picked them up later that day for $about 10 USD) right outside the resort. There are several small grocery stores within walking distance as well. There is also laundry on site at Xanadu-I just chose not to do it myself.

Overall:
The location is great, the grounds are amazing. The convenience of a more condo type atmosphere worked well for my family, traveling with kids. If you want brand-new, high end, this may not be the place. If you want a great experience, clean and lovely accomodations, you will not be disappointed with Xanadu.

Room Tip: On the lower floor, we did hear people walking above us. A higher up room with ocean view would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpearlsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
331
565
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great place! Diving was very good....The small non-chain restaurants were fantastic!!!
Georges, Mangos, Hurricanes,Legends and Pepperonis Pizza. Local fish outstanding...like Grouper,Snook and Conch, Great bakeries and wonderful people!!!! Our 3 bedroom suite at
Xanadu was very clean and comfortable. The setting was peaceful and beautiful. Would go back again!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fyrchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We travelled to San Pedro from Tulum by bus and plane and we arrived in the evening to a great little place. We stayed for 4 nights and location is off the road and secluded and surrounded by trees to give the place plenty of opportunity to escape from the heat.

It's position was perfect not too far out of town and not too close. There are also 3 food stores within a 2 minute walk so you can get refreshments really easily.

The staff were all very polite and professional and were great at all times. Could fault them at all.

I can't remember what type of room I booked but the room we had was either huge or we were upgraded to a larger room. We had 2 beds and 2 baths on 2 floors and everything was great. Coming from an eco resort in Tulum it was kinda nice to have great aircon, a TV and a fridge! We could have spent a lot more time in this room and with the kitchen/diner we really had everything we wanted. There was a balcony outside and plenty of room to stretch out there.

The only problem with this place was that the spiral staircases are quite noisy. We were next to some inconsiderate guests on the first 2 days and were woken up by there constant banging on their staircase next door.

The pool is great and there is a lot of shade to chill out in. No good if you're a sun goddess like my wife but they have some loungers on the beach which will guarantee sun!

The free bike rental is also a great bonus. We didn't rent a golf buggy as we didn't see the point and we used the bikes to go everywhere including the northern island. It's really worth exploring on these bikes.

We also went on an excursion to Shark Ray Alley and that was all fine. Pickup was at the end of the boat dock so again nice and easy.

I found and chose this place on TA and I would go back. I would go for even longer next time and chill out a bit more.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Loved it!

ROOMS: We had a two bedroom 2 bath suite. It was perfect. Clean, fully equipped kitchen, internet. Well decorated and appointed.

AMENITIES: Pool (small with some shade) but heated. Kayaks, natural trail, lots of labels about local trees and plants. No restaurant which is fine as we just walked up and down the beach or the main road. They did have beer and we bought a case and just had it sent to the room. We booked some dives via the desk and they arranged for our (free) cab back to airport. They pay very close attention to the cleanliness of the grounds. Oh yeah - each room has a hammock - I wasted hours in that thing

LOCATION: This is where you make your choice. The north side of town, over the bridge, seems to be the touristy spot. We went there one night and hated it, but to each their own. The South side, where Xanadu is, seemed more, well real is not the word, but it was how it felt. The small street fronting the hotel has local eats and stores, not tourist shops and hamburgers. We felt safe and much preferred this location to town ($5 cab ride away) or the north side.

STAFF: Loved the staff. From desk to groundskeeper. Had a nice chat with the owner one day. They made it special

BEACH: The have a dock with a swimming area off it. The beach fronting it had nice sand and chairs. The whole island was envoloved in sea grass so there was no swimming off the beach – I am not sure if this is normal, but I don’t think it is.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThankYouMrMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

What a wonderful place to stay in Belize. The staff is very accommodating from setting up a golf cart rental and having it delivered to arranging parasailing right from our dock. The rooms are nice and have everything you need. There is a grocery just a short walk (50 yards) to pick up food for cooking at your room or on the beach grill. Ingrid and Jamil took care of our every need. Even the grounds keepers and the security guards are very friendly. The place is beautiful and the experience with the staff makes it so relaxing. We went on an excursion with our friend Clem and on the way back we caught a bunch of yellow snapper. Clem came to our room, prepared the fish (everything you need to cook is in the room) and then he cooked it on the grill by the beach at Xanadu! Best meal we had the whole trip. We love Xanadu and we will be back. I recommend it to families and couples with out kids. I went there with just my wife on a anniversary trip and 4 years later we were back with our kids and another family. Perfect Spring Break thanks to Xanadu!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I feel obligated to write a glowing review of Xanadu, since the previous reviews were what swayed me to pick this resort for our first trip to Belize. I think one of the best measures to gauge how fantastic a place is, is how quickly you begin to think of your return trip. Well, I was considering our return trip before we even left. This was hands down, a phenomenal experience. Not only was San Pedro & Belize incredible (so much better than being gated into your resort in other Caribbean islands) to experience, Xanadu itself went above and beyond my expectations. The staff, like everyone else says, is so beyond helpful and patient w/us sometimes dumb and slow Americans! Booking flights, excursions, providing restaurant suggestions, and advice, they are hands down, the best! The redefine the meaning of exemplary service. Now to the room. We stayed in the #6 loft (2 people) which was fully equipped w/a kitchen, living room, TWO BATHROOMS!!!, and giant bed. It also had a fully functional tv which normally wouldn't matter, but we happened to be down during the first week of March Madness and being able to check in on the games briefly rather than walking to a bar, was surprisingly very convenient. The front deck was the best part. A hammock & table and chairs provided wonderfully relaxing experiences for hanging out in the shade and eating meals. I love that you can cook meals whenever you'd like rather than depending on eating heavy meals out. Although I went as a couple, this resort was family friendly as well. It was so peaceful and quiet which we loved, yet so close to more action if/when you needed it. It is located very close to two supermarkets which is great for stocking the kitchen for the week and is also not far from a produce stand which we stopped at on all our bike rides home! From the resort you can walk just about anywhere on the island on the beach - what's better than that? I will DEFINITELY return to Xanadu & can't wait to do so!!

Room Tip: doubt there is a bad room here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingQueen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My family and I have been planning this strip since October 20122. It was our first, but for sure not our last, visit to Belize and the Xanadu Resort. From the very beginning, the entire staff went out of their way to help us plan and organize our 7 day trip - they made plane reservation to get us into Ambergris Caye from Belize City; set-up our various excusrions; helped us find a local provisioner for our room and answered every other question we could think of. Once we arrived, everything was perfect and stayed that way for the entire week. We were a family of 4 - 2 parents and my sons 11 and 14 so we sated in suite 18: 3 bedrooms and 3 baths; full kitchen and living room and beautiful porch with an awesome hammock and full table with 6 chairs. We were on the 2nd floor so we had good views of everything. We were 30 feet from the pool and 100 feet from the beach/Caribbean Sea. We were 20 minutes, walking, from downtown San Pedro (walking on the beach - the roads are much longer since they wind through the town - but we felt like we were in a totally isolated environment. The resort owners created a locale that blends in with the local environment, which shields the place from noise and enhances the relaxed atmosphere - no other place is like it on the island and we wandered far and wide. Everyone keeps the grounds looking perfect and everyone there does their best to help you with any needs. Two grocery stores are within 3 minutes - Mariana's is literally next to the entrance and a full-service supermarket is just past that. Lots of good restaurants within 5-10 minutes along the beach. Many other resorts offer complimentary golf-cart shuttles and a taxi ride is only $5 anywhere from Xanadu - keep in mind that there is a "toll bridge" from the South side (Xanadu side) to the North side (when many private homes and a few pricier resorts are) - but the town of San Pedro is on the South side so taxis are very inexpensive. There is a laundry facility ($7.50 which includes your detergent, wash and dry); dvd player and movies to use in your room; access to a long pier with snorkeling at the end in a protected area; snorkel gear to rent; free kayaks to paddle around as far as your heart desires. They can also book any excursion you set your mind on - there is a board listing many of the popular ones in the office but if you can think of it, they can help you. The resort also offers studio rooms, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom places, too. Just call and inquire, there is a USA number to call so you don;t pay international fees, or e-mail the resort they love to help. We look forward to seeing everyone next year.

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings (6 rooms) that are ocean front - but the other 4 buildings have views, too. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMaxCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
5.3 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.3 km away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.2 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
5.9 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing