We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Vacation Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I can not say enough great things about this resort! It was perfect and the hospitality of the owners and staff were unbelievable! They went above and beyond to make my wedding perfect! Melanie, Cathy, Ingrid, Franz, Orlando, Alberto and Peter provided the best experience for my entire family and wedding party! We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: I loved the honeymoon suite!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rachelguinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduReservations, Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you so much - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that your destination wedding exceeded your expectations! We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
There are newer reviews for Xanadu Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Quiet location at the southern end of San Pedro but easy 20 min walk up the beach to the centre of town : even more restaurants, ferry terminal etc. Plenty of restaurants, supermarkets, the great bakers mentioned by lots of reviewers, right by Xanadu.
Great touches like water dispenser and basic starter kit of tea/ coffee were welcome.
All staff were helpful esp Melanie and Franz on reception. Gardeners very cheery - shout out to Kenny re predicting the weather at the time of TS Franklin.
Our only complaint was that 7a didn't have a great deal of privacy being right by the bar area, not noisy but some blinds might be an idea rather than relying on the curtains.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank nellie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduReservations, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review - we will certainly pay attention to your comment about the blinds - we appreciate it that you have brought that to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We took our children ages 24 and 27 with us and it could not have been better! Wonderful accommodations and activities for everyone. The staff was amazing, and all activities were convenient and fun. Scuba diving, jet skiing, snorkeling, and fishing in very warm water. If you are going snorkeling ask for Carlos with Belize Diving Adventures. It was a lot of fun to travel around the small town in golf carts. Local restaurants were great and the people very friendly. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We loved our ground floor ocean view room.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank colorosofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduReservations, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

We do appreciate your review - thank you! We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
32
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing stay at Xanadu! If you are looking for something unlike your typical all-inclusive resort- this place is for you! The resort is rustic, charming, and surrounded by nature. There is a gorgeous heated pool surrounded by loungers and palm trees that never gets too crowded. The bar is right beside the pool and open from about 10am-7pm and the bartenders Nancy & Alberto make the most delicious drinks. The front desk employees scheduled our excursions for us and made dinner reservations at several restaurants. To our surprise and delight, they let the restaurants know that we were celebrating our anniversary and each restaurant offered us something complimentary and/or prepared our table with romantic decor. A couple things that are a must: 1) get a golf cart for the week, much cheaper (and more fun!) than constantly taking taxis, 2) take the drive (about 45 mins) to Secret Beach, it's worth it, 3) Eat at La Pallmilla, Elvi's Kitchen, Mesa, Estel's by the Sea, Truck Stop, Secret Beach Bar & Grill, & the Baker (just outside Xanadu- great coffee & pastries!) 3) Go sailing & snorkeling with El Gato- the boat ride is glorious, the snorkeling is beautiful, and the lunch they prepared for us on the boat was the best meal we had the whole week, 4) Get a massage at Ocean Essence Spa right beside the Xanadu resort- a 1 hour massage is only $65 US and includes a free mani or pedi- ask for Carmen, she was amazing! 5) get the hemp oil anti-itch first aid lotion (made in Belize- it will help tremendously with mosquito bites). This was our 2nd trip to Belize and 2nd stay at Xanadu, we hope to return in a few years for our 3rd stay with our kids. The only other resort we would consider staying at is the Victoria House but we heard it is very expensive. My only suggestion to the resort is to do some updating to the rooms- otherwise it is perfect! Thank you to Melanie and all the staff for making our anniversary trip so comfortable and memorable!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduReservations, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Friendly staff at all levels, especially at the front desk. They are knowledgeable about the local restaurants, tours, etc. It's fine to book everything through them, ranging from fishing trips and jet-ski rentals to pizza delivery and getting a cab. They steered us away from one popular restaurant because they said three guests may have gotten sick there recently, and suggested El Fogon, which has local fare (as we requested). Nice pool and pool-side bar. Cats and plenty of nice lizards (anoles, spiny-tailed iguanas, geckos at night) right on the grounds. Just off site (1-min walk) is the main street with shops and restaurants, so very convenient. We had a 2-bedroom suite for two teenage boys and the parents - spacious, clean, comfortable, TV in the combined kitchen/dining/living room and in one bedroom, decent wireless internet access, phone in room.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Whatiguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduReservations, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for reviewing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Our family of five stayed at Xanadu in August. We had a three bedroom garden view unit. With a kitchen a living room and a terrace with dining table and hammock it is a lovely place to stay.

The hotel itself is tucked away from the Main Street with its own stretch of beach, and a private swimming pool. The grounds are immaculate, and in maintaining its 'eco' status is botanically planted with informative plates at each plant.

The one downside, not unique to Xanadu, is though it has a sandy beech, the water in front of the hotel is not particularly swimmable, as sea grass is allowed to grow as a breeding ground for the reef.

Saying that, the hotel has its own docks, and has both kayaks and paddle boards available for guests. Both of which we took advantage of.

The hotel has no restaurant, but does maintain a bar during the day, but it sadly closes at 7:30. Otherwise the very friendly staff are very helpful at organizing activities. San Pedro is a great location for water sports, snorkeling and scuba as well as access to the mainland.

We were thrilled with the snorkeling guide they arrange, Lil Alphonse, who is a superstar. If you want to snorkel, do ask for him, you won't regret it.

With regards to the accommodation, well, its great. Not luxurious or posh, but very clean and well maintained. Having access to your own kitchen is a real plus. There is two stores and a bakery within a five minute walk. Just don't buy imported goods if you can avoid it, very pricey.

The mattresses have a foam topper and are very soft and comfortable. Air Con is available and effective, but sadly is *very* noisy in the second floor bedrooms. We reverted to just using the ceiling fans, which were fine. The bathrooms are a good size, with plenty of hot water at a good pressure. They are perhaps getting a bit dated, and the showers could do with a refit. This is cosmetic only, as they are clean.

All in all a great place to stay. With no restaurant either you cook yourself, or ask for recommendations. San Pedro has some truly superb eateries, you won't regret eating out.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank VanBoyAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduReservations, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We recently stayed at Xanadu in late July 2017. We made the trip to Belize for the first time with a group of couples and through extensive research of what we all wanted, landed on Xanadu as our resort of choice. What a fantastic decision we made! From the moment we contacted Xanadu about accommodations through our arrival home, they provided top of the line customer service. Melanie and Franz, great job and keep it up! You guys are some of the best customer service professionals I've come across. Aside from the magnificent customer service, the resort is absolutely gorgeous. If you want a party resort, this isn't the place for you. However, if you want somewhere that provides the perfect level of interaction, this is it! The resort was fully booked when we were there but it never felt over crowded. They provide anything you want to do, kayaks, paddleboards, snorkeling, you name it. They also have a grill that anyone can use to grill their own fish/meats. If you want them to get you some fresh fish, they will! The bar is perfect for the resort and only surpassed by the best bartender/host in Belize, Alberto!!!! Alberto was my hands down MVP of the trip and I won't do any injustice by trying to describe him with words. He's the best and will make your stay whatever you need it to be! Shout out to Nancy behind the bar as well, keep giggling! The location was ideal for us. Short walk to The Baker, supermarket, Brooklyn Bros bagels, local taco stands, etc. Just a short taxi ride into town for $5 USD. The staff will get you set up with taxis, reservations, recommendations, etc. Sunblock and bug spray as others mention are a must. All of the restaurants were delicious and reasonably priced, El Fogon was my favorite (Lobster Creole!!!!!) I would highly recommend anyone thinking about coming to Belize to just go ahead and book your trip and stay at Xanadu. You'll be happy you did!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic. We stayed in a studio and were more than satisfied. Rooms facing the ocean...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduReservations, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you - we are happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.1 km away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
987 reviews
2.4 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
2.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
5.3 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.9 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $361 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing