We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
3
7
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
7
2
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 17 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

A simple but good hostel. Fantastic location, only 5 mins walk to Lazy Lizard Spit. Beds are comfortable and spacious. You must stay in an AC dorm as it gets very hot. Dorms have no windows so it’s very dark, but Belize is so beautiful that you won’t spend much time indoors anyways. The bathrooms were pretty bad with no hot water or soap and paint peeling off the walls. WIFI pretty good. Breakfast that is included is very simple with no tea or coffee, but it’s something. Staff aren’t overall friendly but do the job.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank reviwer1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018

The location of the hostel is close to the water ferry (about 500 meters) just next to the see (but not even small beach available), shops and tour agencies close, also cheap restaurant next to the hostel. I stayed in a 16 bed spacious dorm room without windows with A/C, 2 toilets and 2 showrooms which are not well built as during the night every time the lights are on you can see it and can get woken up. Mattresses comfy, rooms and toilets cleaned every day.

The vibe of the hostel is great. In the morning you can meet fellow travelers over the free breakfast (eggs, pancakes, fruit) or in the evening from 19:30 over the rum punch and billiards game. Free coffee and water available, they also served well priced dinners. They offer free kayaks and I used them to go around the coast but be advised that the currents are strong, a bit difficult if you go solo as me.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

Horrible dorm rooms: totally basic and dark with no windows, stuffed with 16 beds, lockers under the bed doesn’t really work, bathrooms in the dorms are open on top-so you will hear everything, ”lights” in the toilet will wake up everyone. Owner unfriendly with no control: People were looking for free beds at night because their beds suddenly were taken. Only positive thing: breakfast is included in the price.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank LinnB300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xrteamwanderer, General Manager at Drifted Coconut Hostel and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

I’m sorry that your stay at Drifted Coconut was not pleasant. We assign people certain beds, but what goes on in the dorms after hours sometimes gets a little confusing ( especially when guests come back drunk& forget their beds) We live on premises and tell everyone that during check in just Incase you have any sort of problem, we are always here. I can’t apologize enough for the rude behavior of my husband but again we have no control over what happens late at night inside the dorms. You knew it was a 16 person dorm and we also gave the guy that got assigned the wrong bed a free night.... if you’d like to ever come back I promise you your stay will be better.
Our sincerest apologies
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2018

I stayed here for 3 nights with my 2 girlfriends and we had SUCH a great time! We met so many cool people staying in the room with us. We also made a lot of friends in the evening when they offered free rum punch in the rec room. It was honestly such a blast! So many good people staying there and working there, it can't be beat!!

Room Tip: super affordable, great staff, fun nightlife AT the hostel, fresh breakfast served in the morning
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmarr0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a private room with private bathroom. The building and room are old and a bit dirty. The staircases and deck are a bit suspect. However, we get what we pay for! This place seems like it is more geared to the hostel crowd. The common area/bar was great! Friendly folks all staying there, including the staff who were great. Free rum punch for guests at night! We used their canoe to take a short ride on the water, and played with the friendly pitbull and two kittens. Overall, if you're looking for a cheap stay and aren't too high maintenance this place is for you.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews