We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Isla Marisol Resort(Glovers Reef Atoll)
US$387
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Juntos Cottages(Teakettle)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$220
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Calico Jack's Village(Seven Miles El Progresso)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Blancaneaux Lodge(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$343/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gaia Riverlodge(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
US$189
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
San Ignacio Resort Hotel(San Ignacio)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
226
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswall diveother guestsnurse sharksfishnight watchmanduckanother guestyoga decka special placecomposting toiletsworld classthe entire staffone of a kindwhite houseswing bedsboat captainhermit crabs
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 232 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Jim and Kendra make this a wonderful vacation. The location provides constant challenges and they have adapted well. They are always working to keep it clean and install upgrades. The dive masters and boat captains handled our gear and were very competent. We had wonderful meals with fresh baked cookies every day. Staff took good care of us and were open to requests or special needs. Dives usually 60-80 feet and 45-50 minutes due to remote location. Boats all equipped for emergencies and med evac planned for. Dive sites all along the wall off the three cayes. We saw turtles and eagle rays and eels and sharks regularly!

Room Tip: All cabins have great ocean views. No AC except the breezes. All electrical power outlets in the kitchen area.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2012

If you are looking for vacation that is a real retreat to a tropical island paradise, with white sand, crystal clear water and amazing diving at your fingertips, Off the Wall is the place to be. OTW is special because it gives you something few other places do: a total break from the modern urban rush: there is no traffic, no TV, no loud music, no transactions -- just the sound of the waves and the wind in the palm trees; and the greatest decisions of the day are how many dives to do, which hammock to swing in, and whether you need one more beer (of course you do!). Jim and Kendra are wonderful hosts, and they have done a great job setting up OTW to feel cozy and welcoming. And of course, our stay at OTW wouldn't have been what it was without the OTW crew who made our stay so memorable: Dive Master Extraordinaire Tyrone, Top Chef Eileen, Captain Junior, Maestro de la Noche Mario, and finally Dr. Dive Instructor Doreth. It is hard to be back at work, in the cold and grey. We are going through OTW withdrawal!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We arrived home last night from out experience at Off The Wall in Belize. We are a full service retreat company and we took 10 people from various locations throughout the world on a Yoga Dive Retreat to Off The Wall.

First is the location - truly is paradise on earth. I have never seen water as clear and blue, turqousie as this. The perfect place to swim, snorkel or dive. We had some certified divers and some not, the ones that were certified were able to dive to their hearts content - those that were not were offered courses upon arrival and by the end of our experience, everyone that wanted to be certified did so within 4 days!

The staff are fantastic and very helpful. Our retreats are always vegetarian - and Belize is not the easiest place to facilitate a vegetarian diet. On the mainland - it is next to impossible unless you eat a steady diet of cheese pizza or nachos. But Kendra and Eileen worked hard to pull off their first week of vegetarian cooking and you would have thought they were doing it for years!

The accomodations are beautiful and rustic - falling asleep to the sound of the ocean waves! Some of our retreaters had to get used to the composting toilets, but like we told them. If you want to spend time in a beautiful environment like this - then we need to look after it!

All in all - a perfect get-a-way from beginning to end - cannot thank Kendra and Jim enough for their help throughout the process and our endless emails! This is a place you MUST see before it is too late!

Thanks again!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iRETREAT I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Off The Wall was OFF THE CHARTS for us! We're in our 50s and have both traveled worldwide, including Belize. Although we went to dive, it was the total experience that took us away...

Jim and Kendra, the resident owners, were delightful hosts and saw to our every need. Kendra's artful touch in every detail - the cabana's, showers, walkways, relaxation spots, dining hut - achieved the quantest ambience : ). Eileen's home cooked meals made with a smile - we wouldn't be finished with one meal before fantasizing about her next creation. Doreth, Beverly, and Junior were professional, knowledgeable and personable in seeing to all our dive needs. One of us being a novice and the other only slightly more experienced, we both felt completely safe and expertly guided on top and under water. We appreciated the level of service, which included breaking down & rinsing our equipment after dives. Our bed was comfy and our cabana private with our own little deck and beach area to enjoy the ocean, the sunset, the stars and Stumpy the 3-footed Iquana which kept watch over us. Abundant animal life EVERYwhere we turned, above and below the water. We loved how Jim and Kendra set up their peaceful coexistence with these creatures and the island itself. Kendra's nature trail was a delightful intro to the island wildlife, vegetation and history. Guests and staff enjoyed gathering together at the big round table in the shade and at the family style dining hut to share stories, learn about island life, sea life, Belize, personal experiences...

This kind of vacation is for true nature lovers. If you like camping, you'll appreciate what the owners have done here - all the perks of camping without all the work, thanks to their creative engineering. Only solar heated showers could be a shock on a cold cloudy day, but we found it a minimal hazard considering the environment. We did enjoy enough electricity to keep our small electronics charged and even wifi for communicating back home and some light internet surfing. Even a tiny gift shop for necessities we forgot and souvenirs, Jim and Kendra thought of EVERYthing. We highly recommend Off The Wall for a truly unique experience and give it the highest rating of 5 stars or maybe 6! We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Sleeping huts with thatched roofs a little more quaint. Metal roofs maybe a little more noisy if it rains. Huts farthest from main gathering area a little more private & may afford quieter nights sleep due to less wave action, but slightly longer walk and closer to generator, which runs on & off during the day only.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Where do we even begin? My husband and I had so much fun at Off the Wall that we considered hiding in our bungalow and "accidentally" missing the boat home! We spent a week at the resort to celebrate our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a more perfect vacation. Kendra, Jim and the rest of the staff are so kind and welcoming that you feel at home the moment you arrive. The bungalows, dining hall and grounds are beautifully decorated and are quite romantic with candles and torches lit every evening to guide your way home. The island is beautiful. There was always a refreshing breeze blowing, tropical palms, plants, and beautiful cerulean blue waters - a little sliver of paradise. We finished up our dive certification while on the island, Bev was an excellent teacher and we had a blast practicing our skills with her. We saw every sea creature imaginable in the crystal clear waters just off shore and dive-master Mathew expertly guided us through each trip. When not diving we tried out the paddle boards, kayaks, snorkeling and fishing. There were so many fun things to do that we barely even had time for naps in our beach chairs. (we may or may not have fallen asleep at 8 pm a couple of nights). After all that activity, Terese kept us well-fed with delicious Belizean home cooking; her coconut cookies were to die for! It should also be noted that OTW has an exceptional selection of condiments. By the end of the week we felt as though we were lifelong friends with our fellow travelers and the OTW staff. We hope and plan to come back as often as we can and will probably spend the next ten years trying to persuade other friends to join us. In short, our stay at Off the Wall was nothing short of amazing and we are dreaming of a return trip soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews