We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$181
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bachelor Inn(Belize City)
Book now, pay at stay
US$56
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$160
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Turneffe Island Resort(Turneffe Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
457
93
26
18
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
93
26
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and lunchblue holebelize citydive masterdive sitesbig birdfishlaid backother guestsdive staffserved buffet styleturneffe atollgreat divingthe managersscreened in porchoff the beaten pathbug spray
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 597 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2017

We have been to Turneffe Atoll before and chose Blackbird this time because of a special they were offering. It was a good deal since it included 3 dives a day and all meals. They provide transfers from the airport to the resort on Wednesday and Saturday. But we were given incorrect information about when the boat leaves and having scheduled our flights to arrive in time for the transfer, we found ourselves waiting all afternoon until the last flight finally arrived before the took us from the holding area at the Raddison to the boatyard from which the boat left.

We had an upgraded cabana which we absolutely needed because the beach in front of them was raked daily. The cabanas on the other side of the office were not raked and the decomposing seaweed smelled so bad we could not even walk around that part of the resort. Breakfast and Lunch were buffet and for dinner you would choose between a couple of entrees at breakfast.

I was somewhat disappointed in the diving. They generally do 3 one tank dives, 2 in the AM and 1 PM. And since they needed to be back to turn the boat around, the dive sites were all very close to the resort. In fact we did Coral Gardens for 4 of our 17 dives. Since there was a lot of wind, we went to the other side of the Atoll for 2 tank dives which we prefer. They do a trip to the Blue Hole once a week but charge $200 PP for this (plus marine park fees). Another resort we stayed at on Turneffe Atoll, the Blue Hole trip was included (except for the marine park fees). On Friday, the dive the Elbow on the South side of the Atoll but then the come back and do the second dive back at the resort. (The Elbow is a great dive with much more marine life)

Room Tip: Get an upgraded cabana away from the seaweed
Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackbirdCayeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We’re unsure how you would have been given any incorrect information about your boat departure. In booking we would have gone over all information with you including what to expect at the resort and on the water. Yes, we do 3 dives, 2 in the AM and 1 in the PM. We also have over 70 dive sites near the resort. The trade winds sometimes are very strong and it’s the call of the boat captain and dive masters, with safety as a priority, to decide where to dive.
Back at the resort our maintenance crew works hard at clearing the beaches of organic and non-organic items that roll in all day, and those tasks can take place at different times throughout the day. We hope on balance you enjoyed your time with us and we would look forward to your returning someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

This place is scuba paradise!!! The staff was amazing, the location was unbelievable! The diving from the island was wonderful. The scuba staff was super helpful and knowledgeable. I would have stayed forever if I could have.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2017

“Scuba Paradise” - now that is music to our ears! Certainly we wake up every day and can’t believe the amazing piece of paradise we get to work in. It’s that authentic sense of wonder, appreciation and enthusiasm we hope to share with each and every guest of Blackbird Caye. Your safety and security is our paramount concern, but we want you to have a great time shore as well. We hope we’ll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017

Our second time-two years in a row!!! Brandon and Bernie are excellent hosts as well as the entire staff. Everyone is outgoing and helpful. The diving is nice and the dive sites after the Blue Hole are well worth the excursion!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G3013SZmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackbirdCayeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Thank you so much for your repeat visit – it’s appreciated! Yes we have hospitable and professional hosts in Brandon and Bernie, and our entire team at Blackbird Caye, and they’ll be pleased that their hard work is appreciated. There’s so much to see in this area we look forward to your third visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017

If diversity of snorkeling experiences interest you, go to Blackbird Caye Resort. If good food, great guides and great service interest you, go to Blackbird Caye Resort. If being away from the hordes of tourists on other cayes, go to Blackbird Caye Resort!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank belizebirding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackbirdCayeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review – you really “got” us! Nature has provided an amazing place for us to share in a safe and rewarding way. Then when it’s time to gear down, we come back to our island, have some great food, socialize and enjoy a little rest. Then the next morning we’re ready to hit the water again. Please do come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2017

Excellent friendly staff. Reefs were gorgeous, healthy vibrant, healthiest I've seen in 20+ years. Dive masters were great, food was good, and they tried to vary it up daily. Not much to do other than dive and snorkel. but I guess that's the point. It's Spartan so if you are looking for the Atlantis, it ain't it. But if you are looking for comfortable and cozy, with an incredibly helpful friendly staff, from the administrators, to dive masters, to wait staff and bartenders. couldn't ask for better. For the more serious divers, you get 3 dives a day. so if you are looking for night dives or own beach dives, pushing beyond 3 / day, not really an option, unless you can get enough folks to pull for it. Saw a lot of turtle, great wall and drop off diving, and then of course blue hole. weather was good, only one day with any real rain.. My rating is a 4.5.. You don't have an interim rating, so I had to do a 4... but its a 'really good' 4.... Price was reasonable, and drinks were cheap.

Room Tip: don't bring sand into the room.. SAND fleas, will eat you up. Bring heavy duty bug repellent.
Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackbirdCayeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

We’ll take the 4.5 in spirit since it’s closer to a 5 than a 4! But in our hearts, we’re always giving a 100% effort to make sure that your time with Blackbird Caye is something worth writing home about – or at least writing TripAdvisor about! Our entire team runs like a well-oiled machine: professional, safe and diligent, yet warm, hospitable and friendly. Please do come back – there’s so much to see and experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews