We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$175
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bachelor Inn(Belize City)
US$56
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
465
94
26
18
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
94
26
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue holedive masterdive sitesturneffe atollbelize citygreat divingdive staffscreened in porchthe managersfishdivers and snorkelersother guestsbig birdthe reefsdeluxe cabanadive tripsnorkel guide
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 606 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2017

Not a 5-star luxury French Riviera resort, but a truly 5-star diver's resort! It is a remote tropical paradise away from crowds, tourists and congestion where amenities are not plentiful but more than sufficient and accommodations are picturesque with cottages with thatched roofs, screen porches, and hammocks right on the beach and steps from the water's edge. It does, however, come with the trials and tribulations of being a sustainable remote island 1½+ hours from the mainland.

Diving is incredible and I am told the snorkeling is as well. It's situated on the edge of the 2nd largest barrier reef system in the world, but #1 in terms of it being the largest living barrier reef with colorful, abundant and varied sea life and coral. We saw three types of turtles, manatees, stingrays, spotted eagle rays, and manta rays (with a viewing of five swimming in formation!), spotted moray eels, green Morays swimming in the open, dolphins, a variety of sharks, remora, scorpion fish, drumfish, trunkfish, trumpet fish, parrotfish, angelfish, butterflyfish, crab, lobster, octopus, squid, flounder, tarpin, grouper, barracuda, filefish, jawfish, garden eels and of course lionfish.

The food was incredible as well with special and extraordinary efforts devoted to meeting the varied dietary needs of group members by having provided a special additional chef just to attend to that issue.

it wasn't just incredible diving that make this place a go to destination, but managers Bernie and Brandon that are so incredibly dedicated and genuinely warm, friendly and expert in knowing what it takes and what to do to meet the demands and challenges of running a remote all-inclusive dive resort with attention to safety, satisfaction, satiation, and fun.

And let's not forget the exceptional staff from dive masters and boat captains Ed, Jody, Aldo, Cardinal, and Ralph; wait staff Curt, Oscar, José, Ian, and Samara; to bartenders and grounds crew (who'll be happy to show you where to find the crocodiles in the lake on the other side of the island/resort with the best viewing being at sunset or sunrise). They all have your back in terms of hospitality, education, information and safety. From the moment we landed at the airstrip on the island to send off at the boat dock for the ride back to the mainland we were taken care of and treated like extended family. My only regret was not going home with one of the gorgeous mahogany wood carvings which added further native ambience to the dining room and Palapa bar.

Main drawback … getting bitten alive by bugs … so bring powerful repellent. I was with a large group that booked the entire resort so it made for a bit of coziness on the dive boats, rinse basin (of which there was just 1), competition for hot showers and water pressure, and high demands on AC.

Being a remote island, be aware that the internet is very limited - OK for checking email, but not much else.

If I were to recommend anything, I would say to have 1- 2 more rinse basins at the dock, keep juice and water dispensers filled throughout the day, and have bug spray in each room as well as commercial sized bottles centrally relocated around the resort for guests' use.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackbirdCayeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Thank you for your very thorough review of Blackbird Caye on TripAdvisor – we appreciate it! You’ve done a great job of outlining the many attributes and amenities that guests enjoy and we’re glad you enjoyed them. We have an exceptional team at Blackbird and they are indeed able to ensure everything on shore runs smoothly, and things are safe and appropriate on the water. We will take note of your feedback and hope that we will have a chance to show you even more magnificent areas here on a return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017

We used a groupon, and for the money, it can't be beat. your own house on a fairly private island. It is a little different then an all inclusive resort, but that can be a good thing. definitely get in the water. even if its just off the beach snorkeling, so much to see in your own front yard.

Room Tip: cabana 7, you can get wifi and the closest to the beach!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackbirdCayeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

We’re happy to hear you enjoyed the extra value you received in booking in at Blackbird Caye. We are primarily a dive resort, but there’s a lot to be said for kicking back and enjoying the beach too. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2017

We have been to Turneffe Atoll before and chose Blackbird this time because of a special they were offering. It was a good deal since it included 3 dives a day and all meals. They provide transfers from the airport to the resort on Wednesday and Saturday. But we were given incorrect information about when the boat leaves and having scheduled our flights to arrive in time for the transfer, we found ourselves waiting all afternoon until the last flight finally arrived before the took us from the holding area at the Raddison to the boatyard from which the boat left.

We had an upgraded cabana which we absolutely needed because the beach in front of them was raked daily. The cabanas on the other side of the office were not raked and the decomposing seaweed smelled so bad we could not even walk around that part of the resort. Breakfast and Lunch were buffet and for dinner you would choose between a couple of entrees at breakfast.

I was somewhat disappointed in the diving. They generally do 3 one tank dives, 2 in the AM and 1 PM. And since they needed to be back to turn the boat around, the dive sites were all very close to the resort. In fact we did Coral Gardens for 4 of our 17 dives. Since there was a lot of wind, we went to the other side of the Atoll for 2 tank dives which we prefer. They do a trip to the Blue Hole once a week but charge $200 PP for this (plus marine park fees). Another resort we stayed at on Turneffe Atoll, the Blue Hole trip was included (except for the marine park fees). On Friday, the dive the Elbow on the South side of the Atoll but then the come back and do the second dive back at the resort. (The Elbow is a great dive with much more marine life)

Room Tip: Get an upgraded cabana away from the seaweed
Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackbirdCayeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We’re unsure how you would have been given any incorrect information about your boat departure. In booking we would have gone over all information with you including what to expect at the resort and on the water. Yes, we do 3 dives, 2 in the AM and 1 in the PM. We also have over 70 dive sites near the resort. The trade winds sometimes are very strong and it’s the call of the boat captain and dive masters, with safety as a priority, to decide where to dive.
Back at the resort our maintenance crew works hard at clearing the beaches of organic and non-organic items that roll in all day, and those tasks can take place at different times throughout the day. We hope on balance you enjoyed your time with us and we would look forward to your returning someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

This place is scuba paradise!!! The staff was amazing, the location was unbelievable! The diving from the island was wonderful. The scuba staff was super helpful and knowledgeable. I would have stayed forever if I could have.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2017

“Scuba Paradise” - now that is music to our ears! Certainly we wake up every day and can’t believe the amazing piece of paradise we get to work in. It’s that authentic sense of wonder, appreciation and enthusiasm we hope to share with each and every guest of Blackbird Caye. Your safety and security is our paramount concern, but we want you to have a great time shore as well. We hope we’ll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017

Our second time-two years in a row!!! Brandon and Bernie are excellent hosts as well as the entire staff. Everyone is outgoing and helpful. The diving is nice and the dive sites after the Blue Hole are well worth the excursion!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G3013SZmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackbirdCayeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Thank you so much for your repeat visit – it’s appreciated! Yes we have hospitable and professional hosts in Brandon and Bernie, and our entire team at Blackbird Caye, and they’ll be pleased that their hard work is appreciated. There’s so much to see in this area we look forward to your third visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews