We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality!”
Review of The Red Hut Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Hut Inn
Ranked #7 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My dad and I visited Belize to scuba dive and he was mainly used to resorts when I chose the red hut inn. We absolutley loved it! They are extremely hospitable and welcoming. I am still craving all the food especially the mango burgers. Can not wait to go back. I think we would have had to jump through a lot more hoops without Julia and Louis help.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

After spending two weeks traveling around Belize, we just wanted a nice, quiet place to relax and prepare to fly home. It turned out to be another wonderful tour day! Julia & Lewis are so helpful. They introduced us to Patricia, who took us on a wonderful tour of Altun Ha. We enjoyed breakfast prepared by Lewis each morning on the deck. We were able to walk to the store and to dinner without worry. I would suggest this guest house to anyone who is looking for comfort with access to knowledge of the city and the country. Oh and the food. I can't wait to go back for Lewis' Barbque Chicken!! Sybil H - Mississippi Gulf Coast

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mermaiddreams2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a great time staying here at the Red Hut Inn! Louis and Julia are great people who really help you out. We stayed there for 2 days at the beginning of our trip and one night at the end and I am really glad we did. Louis is a great chef and provides a quality experience. They provide rental cars and transport services for a lot less than a taxi. The last night we were there we stayed up out on the balcony with Louis talking about the area and Belize in general and had a blast! The place is within walking distance of a bank, grocery, and restaurant. The rooms are pretty nice with cable tv and air conditioning and I know they are planning on doing a lot of improvements soon. It was a great experience and I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Took a chance on booking a small boutique Hotel/B&B for my daughter and I to explore the Country of Belize. The name intrigued me so I thought what the heck. After emailing Julia & Lewis I decided to book. While the rooms are small and quaint, they are clean and nicely furnished. It is a little far from town but they are more than willing to take you anywhere as a taxi service cheaply. They also have cars to rent for the day excursions.

Lewis cooks all meals and his chef training in England is very apparent. Julia helped arrange a 4 day excursion to San Pedro late Sunday night by calling one of the supervisors for Maya Airlines at home to ensure we would be on the 730am flight. (scuba diving is important)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decaljim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

When we arrived it was late, so I couldn't see the neighborhood, but Julia met us at the door by name and welcomed us in. Louis is a great chef and made a delightful dinner for us. The place is so open and welcoming and more of a bed and breakfast kind of place. Louis made a great Belizian breakfast for us as well. The room was comfortable and clean; just a bit dated. When the sun shone the next day I could see it was a professional neighborhood with friendly neighbors. I would recommend this place. The only surprise was that there is a 5% surcharge if you want to charge the bill to a credit card.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our brief one night stay with Julia and Louis was awesome. They are a wealth of information and can basically arrange anything you need, airport pickup/drop-off, on-site Jeep rental, day-trips and transfers, etc. I'll be using them again when we come back to Belize next year. The accommodations are basic and clean. Nothing fancy, just what we needed as we were only in the city for one night and didn't want to pay for overpriced Raddison/Best Western type accommodation. It's in a nice private residential area that is safe and secure a bit outside of town. No need to venture out too far for meals anyway as Louis makes the best food around and hanging out on the deck and meeting some new and interesting people was really great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Julia and Lewis are very attentive and will go out of their way to make sure that you enjoy your stay in Belize City. It is very convenient that they offer breakfast and dinner at the inn and Lewis is an amazing cook. Julia gave us a ride to town and pointed us in the right direction when we wanted to explore Belize City. The room was clean and comfortable and good value for money, with cable TV, AC and free WiFi. It is located in a quiet residential neighborhood on the canals. Remember this is Belize City and not Miami, so if you want the Ritz, you should probably stay at the big name hotel for three times the price. You can also rent a car at the inn, which makes it a very convenient first stop when arriving in Belize. We will definitely be returning to the Red Hut Inn on our next visit to Belize.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HybreT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belize City hotels
0.3 km away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
4.9 km away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
3.7 km away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
69 reviews
0.6 km away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
264 reviews
4.9 km away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Hut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hut Inn

Address: 90 Bella Vista, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range: $45 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Red Hut Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We here at The Red Hut Inn provide the most ultimate quiet and comfortable room available for the reasonable price. We are situated only 6 miles away from the airport, and in an up scale and quiet residential area, where only few houses from the sea, and the environment is safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Red Hut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hut Hotel Belize City
The Red Hut Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing